Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant
i loved this book from the first, the characters are memorable , the plot is unique, i couldnt put it down once i started reading it.. a brilliant read once more from my favorite author ..
Published 18 months ago by cherrywaff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
Okay sums this book up- gives an alternative perspective to the times and I enjoyed most of it but it did get a little ploddy at times.
Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 29 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Winchester Goose (Paperback)
i loved this book from the first, the characters are memorable , the plot is unique, i couldnt put it down once i started reading it.. a brilliant read once more from my favorite author ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating., 1 Jan 2013
By 
V. Bond "Viki" (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winchester Goose: at the Court of Henry VIII (Kindle Edition)
This author wrote about a time in history we've only read about in history books. She brings the characters of the time up to date and I felt as though I'd seen them in a new light. She must have spent hours researching the subjects and the information she reveals is amazing. A really good read with an exciting plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 13 Feb 2013
By 
Miss M of the UK! (Wellington, FL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winchester Goose: at the Court of Henry VIII (Kindle Edition)
For the price an amazing book. Creatively weaves story into happenings in history, did not want it to end and was sad when it did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb gutsy read from Judith Arnopp, 30 Dec 2012
By 
L. H. Smith (Wirral, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Winchester Goose (Paperback)
For all who love to read about Tudor London, Arnopp's new novel is a must. Although it is set at the time of Henry VIII's court,it is not the usual tale of courtiers, but is set in the mean streets of Southwark, where the girls of easy virtue known as the Winchester Geese ply their wares. The main character Joanie Toogood is a woman easy to like, and seems set for a life as a prostitute, until she meets the happy go lucky Francis Wareham...who is involved in work for the King's secretary Thomas Cromwell.
Arnopp weaves a credible and intriguing tale which moves from the Queen's household to the back streets, and the story holds the interest until the very end.
Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drama and intrigue in Tudor London, 29 Nov 2012
By 
L. H. Smith (Wirral, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Winchester Goose: at the Court of Henry VIII (Kindle Edition)
We are used to books set in the times of HenryIII, it is a fascinating period and his court is full of interest and intrigue, not least because of the activities of Thomas Cromwell. However, we are not so accustomed to becoming involved in the goings -on across the river from Henry's court, where the local prostitutes known as 'The Winchester Geese' ply their trade on Bankside. In this fascinating book the wonderful character Joanie Toogood has worked the streets since childhood, but her life is changed forever when she encounters Francis Wareham, Cromwell's spy. Back at court, Wareham has also set his cap at Evelyn and Isabella Bourne, members of the Queen's household, and the girls, along with Joanie, are drawn into the intrigue and shadow of the executioners blade.
As with all of Arnopp's novels, this is beautifully written drama with the 'unputdownable' quality we have come to expect.
Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich with lust, danger and drama., 28 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Winchester Goose: at the Court of Henry VIII (Kindle Edition)
Set within the sumptuous perils of King Henry Vlll's court and the downtrodden dangers of the bawdy houses of Old London Town, The Winchester Goose is a fascinating tale of love, betrayal, and the expectations and machinations of court life, coupled with the hand-to-mouth existence of the poor.

Two gently-born young ladies, Isabella and Evelyn Bourne, become ladies-in-waiting to King Henry's new queen, Anna of Cleves. Yet courtly life is not as easy and comfortable as it might appear. Their lives and their fate become inextricably linked with one Joanie Toogood, a Winchester Goose (or prostitute) who plies her trade in the stews on the other side of London Bridge.

This novel gives a fascinating insight into what life was like in Tudor times, both for the rich and the poor. Judith Arnopp's prose invokes the smell of the Thames, the cries of costermongers, and the stately strains of court music. You will also hear the thud of the headman's axe, and low whispers in dark corridors as secrets pass between court spies.

If you like your historical novels rich with lust, danger and drama then I can thoroughly recommend The Winchester Goose, the latest book by historical novelist Judith Arnopp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than many!, 22 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Winchester Goose: at the Court of Henry VIII (Kindle Edition)
Moves through life in the uncertain world of Henrician London with pace and gusto. A range of carefully crafted characters reflect all levels of society, showing the effects of the Reformation on a number of vulnerable women including Henry's fifth queen Katherine Howard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great atmosphere, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winchester Goose: at the Court of Henry VIII (Kindle Edition)
After being a bit `bogged` down with historical detail this book was refreshing funny and sad a good read thank you .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another point of view, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winchester Goose: at the Court of Henry VIII (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book I have read by this author but it certainly won't be the last. Her characters are believable and well-drawn in a sympathetic style. I liked the different approach to life at the Tudor court and also what some of the characters got up to out of it where two completely different worlds met and mingled. The plot is good and carries the reader along at a fine pace and I was sorry to finish it. So why only 4 stars? I felt that the ending was rather rushed and somewhat implausible depending as it did upon an uncertain (to my mind) identification. But do not let that put you off - it is very well worth the read, and I look forward to the follow-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winchester Goose: at the Court of Henry VIII (Kindle Edition)
I love historical novels and loved this. Written in an easy to read style about a period of history of which I knew only the basics. A blend of fact and fiction I found this a book that I read quickly as I kept wanting to get back to it. I've bought another one of Judith Arnopp's books as a result, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews