Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written and Thoughtful, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thai Lottery... and Other Stories from Pattaya, Thailand (Kindle Edition)
There is a plethora of writing around on the Thai bar scene, and to my mind these books fall into one of two categories.

The first type of book revels in the salaciousness of the situation, frequently contains graphic sexual scenes, and reads like it was written to gratify some animal urges of the author rather than for the entertainment of the reader - although I accept there are people around who enjoy this sort of thing, even if it is badly written (which many of these books are). Degradation is a frequent theme.

The second type of book takes a more objective, journalistic approach and seeks to understand both the cultural forces at work and the economic and psychological factors involved. Moreover the narrative, rather than lewdness, takes centre stage.

The vignettes of 'Thai Lottery' fit firmly within the second category. Carrell paints pictures of damaged, often confused or desperate, people, and gives a taste of the 'real' Pattaya - the misery and delusion behind the mask of smiles.

This is a well-written and thoughtful collection of stories, which I am happy to recommend. The more purient reader may want to pass on this, but for those of you who are interested in Thailand, you should grab a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thai Education, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thai Lottery... and Other Stories from Pattaya, Thailand (Kindle Edition)
Sitting on a plane, I overheard a heated conversation between the couple sitting behind me. The woman was explaining that more money needed to be sent to her family as there was some kind of problem that needed to be fixed. He stated over and over again that he had sent money on many occasions and did not understand why there was a need for more. When the flight landed and we all got up to leave the plane, I was faced by a rather rotund, balding ,gold chain encrusted middle aged man with a rather beautiful Thai partner. Prior to reading Matt Carrell's excellent Thai Lottery I could not have understood what brought this couple together nor what they were arguing about, but having read this eloquent, informative and often amusing set of short stories, it all becomes very clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, 6 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Thai Lottery... and Other Stories from Pattaya, Thailand (Kindle Edition)
Great book, and a real eye opener. Shame the husband is never going to make that golf tour over there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thai Lottery... and Other Stories from Pattaya, Thailand (Kindle Edition)
Carrell brings Thailand to life - its people, its culture and of course its tourists. A very good story in an unusual setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thai Lottery... and Other Stories from Pattaya, Thailand, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thai Lottery... and Other Stories from Pattaya, Thailand (Kindle Edition)
A thoroughly absorbing & enjoyable insight into the lives of those connected with the go-go bars in Pattaya and beyond - dancers, bar owners, police & punters. Well researched, informed and witty. Not sure it will improve my chances of me ever being allowed to go to Thailand again, but its a risk worth taking! A highly recommended read ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am really enjoying this.., 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am really enjoying this.. I have been to the 'said place' a few times and I can relate to some of these stories, but thankfully, I have not ended up in some of the predicaments that some of the characters' have ended up in.. touch wood.. :) I will definitely be looking at the author's other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous insight, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thai Lottery... and Other Stories from Pattaya, Thailand (Kindle Edition)
I rarely review books as I read so many but this one deserved. As a middle aged female living in Thailand I found this book to be extremely insightful to the culture of the entertainment, religious and other aspects of Thai life. Yes, there are hundreds of books about bargirls in Thailand (I have read most) and this is of that genre but very well written, some real twists and turns and unusually the girls involved are treated with respect by the author in his story telling and descriptions. Super book and highly recommended for anyone visiting or living here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for aone who visits Thailande, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thai Lottery... and Other Stories from Pattaya, Thailand (Kindle Edition)
The author has given the reader an excellent insight into the joys and pitfalls of a visit to Pattaya. The description of the "ID walk of shame" bought back memories of my first visit . This book is first of all entertaining but also gives pointers as to how to act and respond in various situations. If you have never been to Thailand I encourage you to go for I know of nobody who has been and not been amazed and enthralled with this wonderful, contradictory country. Am going to read the authors next novel "Thai Kiss" soon and it has a lot to live up to if it is going to come close to the brilliance of Thai Lottery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too much of a good thing, 10 Sept. 2013
By 
Artefact "Artefact" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thai Lottery... and Other Stories from Pattaya, Thailand (Kindle Edition)
This is a collection of stories which covers well trodden ground - the pitfalls and dangers faced by sex tourists to Thailand.

The best of such books is still Leather's "Private Dancer", but this one runs it close. The first and longest story, the one from which the book gets its title, is the best and the twist at the end is well hidden.

Characterisation throughout is good. The writing is fluid and entertaining, and the author's occasional flashes of biting wit always causes a smile and occasionally even a chuckle.

If you liked "Private Dancer" you will love this. The stories are varied in style, content and length.

My only reservation is that perhaps there were two or three stories too many, Or maybe that was my fault - maybe I should have left it for a while after reading most of them and then returned to read the rest. Don't let this put you off - I recommend the book as a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thai Lottery and other stories from Pattaya Thailand, 12 July 2013
This review is from: Thai Lottery... and Other Stories from Pattaya, Thailand (Kindle Edition)
Thai Lottery was a very inciteful read and probably a book worth reading if you had ever thought of going to Thailand or have thought of having a relationship with a bar lady. the first story which is called Thai Lottery will give you a great incite into how life and many relationships can be with a Thai lady. I found it to be a great read, especially as I have a home in the isaan area where some of the people in the story came from or went to...A must read if only to remind you of how things can somtimes go if you let your heart be taken by a beautiful Thai women....The good thing is that there are many many good Thai ladies in Thailand. With a really great ending showing there are angels in Thailand and they are not always Thai ladies !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews