Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value For Money 100%
After looking around for a camera that would both give me piece of mind security wise and safety aspect,I read the reviews on here and thought,they sound more positive than negative,so I purchased it,and what a surprise,the camera arrived within three days of ordering and well packed,the instruction booklet is the only downfall with this product,the writing is so small...
Published 4 months ago by COYB

versus
59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Inch Display HD 720p Dual Camera
Some problems when adjusting to the light, it works better when its getting dark unless in bright sunshine, wide angle lens so even if the car is right in front of you, it appears far away on the camera.There is a wire to connect toyour reversing light so it automatically switches to a reversing camera. There are no options to adjust brightness or sensitivity to light...
Published 15 months ago by john parsons


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value For Money 100%, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 3.5 Inch Display HD 720p Dual Camera (forward and rear view) Car DVR video recorder S3000L (Electronics)
After looking around for a camera that would both give me piece of mind security wise and safety aspect,I read the reviews on here and thought,they sound more positive than negative,so I purchased it,and what a surprise,the camera arrived within three days of ordering and well packed,the instruction booklet is the only downfall with this product,the writing is so small you virtually have to have your eyes attached to the page ( print bigger please ) the front camera is very compact and has a substantial mounting ( much like your average sat nav holder ) there is plenty of cable from the camera to the charger ( Cig Lighter ) and there is also plenty of cable from the front camera to the rear camera,you also get a USB connector and leads to allow you to watch through your TV, the quality is not as good on the TV ( but that could be me! ) you need to go into the menu to set the in car recording to on,as it is in the off position when it arrives,the Menu, Mode & Up & Down buttons are situated under the face of the camera ( took me quiet a while to find them ) the click button is situated directly below each heading ( i.e. UP just below ) you will find the in car record in the Basic menu,along with the date and time,once you have completed the time and date settings,you begin to feel very confident at moving through the menu's. Once up and running you will be amazed at this little camera's quality,also there is a cable that you can attach to the rear reverse light and then you have a built in reverse camera.Worth mentioning something that I picked up from one of the other reviews,get a 32G SD Micro card,better for quality and memory.All in all,I am not tech minded at all,but, this was so easy to put together and so easy to install.The reason I originally bought this was that, a driver in front of me kept braking suddenly and it was then that I noticed a car behind me very close and ended up indicating and turning left to get from in-between these mad drivers, it was obvious what there intentions were,but,in the heat of the moment I had not noticed enough information to pass it on to the police, i. e. registration numbers etc. But now,with the dash camera and rear camera,I now drive with allot more piece of mind that if there was another chance of crash for cash situations,well at least I would have registration numbers and a film of the front and rear in real time.Do yourself a favour and get one of these asap and I also bought the CCTV warning sticker for the rear,and you would be amazed how many people pull back from your rear once they are aware they are on camera. Great value for money and good quality pictures.Can not understand why insurance companies do not make these compulsory and we would soon see an end to all this crash for cash and false claims against decent drivers,thus bringing our insurance down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


125 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for Price, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Bryan Gibbons (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 3.5 Inch Display HD 720p Dual Camera (forward and rear view) Car DVR video recorder S3000L (Electronics)
Length:: 2:02 Mins

I've given this 5 stars as it does exactly what it is supposed to do, have not fitted reversing cable yet, as not had time, but as everything else works, I cannot see that there will be a problem, plus the fact the reversing part of it is just a bonus, this was bought for the front and rear incident recorder capabilities.

Playback on the camera is good and clear, battery life may be limited but retains enough juice to do quick looks and adjust settings.

Was disappointed that the playback of the rear video kept breakingup/pixelating, when connected to PC, as the playback on camera was clear and even when I put the microcard into a Tablet, it again played clear, so I thought it must be a cable issue, anyway had a flash of inspiration and tried a different media player, and the playback was clear, I was using Windows Media Player, but got the good result using the VLC Media Player, so was no problem with the cable from camera to PC.

All in all this camera looks promising as I had to send another one back (different camera, different seller) so it just remains to be seen how long it will last, if I get the chance I will try and upload a couple of videos later.

Update...Seems you can only upload one video at a time, I had uploaded the forward facing camera view, then uploaded the rear, and only the rear has loaded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing value for the money and does what it says on the tin. Critique follows..., 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 3.5 Inch Display HD 720p Dual Camera (forward and rear view) Car DVR video recorder S3000L (Electronics)
I've given this 5 stars even though some aspects of it are not perfect. However I have been using it for over a week now so feel able to comment properly on it.

Set-up. The SD card slot is awkward and care is needed getting cards in and out, especially as this is my preferred method of getting the data off it. It uses a Mini B USB for power, the supply is rated 6 volts interestingly, and plugging in 'booting' makes the unit record straight away. In High resolution with both cameras recording you can expect around 6 hours (total) video on a 32 GB card. Each 5 minute front file is 150 MB, each 5 minute rear camera file is 75 MB. You can select it to make a continuous recording but then it can't cycle (delete oldest) files. The files are seamless there are no frames lost. They are MOV (quicktime) files. I prefer this to the H264 as H264 pixelate very badly with high movement. (experience from other CCTV systems). Pixelation with this is quite minimal considering.

I also fitted the reversing camera cable, and when in reverse it them mirrors the image (to match a rear view mirror) and with the camera high and fairly central in the rear window does give a better perspective. It would have been nice if when choosing the rear view as main display it was also reversed as it covers blind spots nicely.

Day performance for the front seems lightly dark, but there is an EV adjust, but it affects both cameras. Day resolution is excellent, road signs can be clearly read. Night performance also is pretty good. Driving on unlit country lanes, lit and unlit motorways, and urban lit and unlit roads it fares pretty well and its not 'blinded' by oncoming dipped headlights either.

The wide angle display does mean that the perspective is a little false, distant objects looking very small, but those close, in particular those you may collide with are clearly shown. The front wide angle when mounted just under the mirror gives a perspective similar to looking through the front windscreen, the rear view does give a wider angle that you'd see with a single mirror. When someone tailgates and you can't see their numberplate, with this you can!

Perhaps it is my imagination, however with the addition of an 'in car camera recording' sticker, some motorists do tend to keep their distance.

The unit itself is surprisingly well built, metal fascia, buttons very good and positive, cabling good although the reversing cable is very thin contact. Controls allow you to mute the mic (private conversations!) select rear or front view, select a screen idle timeout, or on all the time. When power is disconnected it automatically shuts down, however you can switch the unit on and it continues to record. How long for I'm not sure. The clock does gain a few seconds a day so probably needs resetting every couple of weeks or so for accuracy. You can take snap shots (photos) when not recording.

Overall I am very impressed with the unit. I have had difficulty playing back sound on my laptop but I don't want any Apple bloatware on my system and maybe I've yet to find a better media player. Sound is played back on the unit itself. For peace of mind this is a very small price to pay with typical insurance excess figures. Don't forget to add the cost of a micro SDHC card - Try to get a class 6 speed or above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Inch Display HD 720p Dual Camera, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 3.5 Inch Display HD 720p Dual Camera (forward and rear view) Car DVR video recorder S3000L (Electronics)
Some problems when adjusting to the light, it works better when its getting dark unless in bright sunshine, wide angle lens so even if the car is right in front of you, it appears far away on the camera.There is a wire to connect toyour reversing light so it automatically switches to a reversing camera. There are no options to adjust brightness or sensitivity to light. The lcd screen can be set to on for 10 seconds, 30, or on all the time. When you plug it into the cigarette lighter socket, it automatically comes on, when you unpug, it turns off. The battery life is non existant, zero, it must be plugged in at all times or it will turn off A flashing indication that its recording with the screen off would be nice,but there is nothing, no led is visible to re assure you. Its better than my last cam,but certainly not as good as some of the ones the Russians use that you see on you tube..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dual camera Car DVR, 28 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 3.5 Inch Display HD 720p Dual Camera (forward and rear view) Car DVR video recorder S3000L (Electronics)
I love this. It's easy to install, with clear sound and video front and rear, and it's also very simple to use. I use just the default settings but the system is surprisingly tuneable. Great value for money, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unfair reviews, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 3.5 Inch Display HD 720p Dual Camera (forward and rear view) Car DVR video recorder S3000L (Electronics)
Having read all the reviews, I was almost tempted to buy something else. The reason I didn't was because no other product came close to this in terms of features and value. In short it was worth the risk. The cameras give great pictures. The instructions although not the best do describe the products features adequately (you may well need a magnifying glass to read them though). My only criticisms are the Micro SD slot could be better designed, and the recording intervals could be longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor image, and started to fail after 2-3 weeks, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 3.5 Inch Display HD 720p Dual Camera (forward and rear view) Car DVR video recorder S3000L (Electronics)
Image quality poor, certainly does not feel like HD, and does not match the image quality of my previous dash cam by a long way.
Also after about 3 weeks, the image started to flash intermittently. have to send it back to the supplier in the original packaging and in the original condition ... quote from the suppliers, CBGelectrics, email ....
'All returns must be in their original condition,boxed and packaged correctly. All returns are inspected upon receipt and any items that are not suitably packed will not be accepted.'
So, if you do purchase it, do not throw away the original box and packaging !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BAD EXPERIENCE FOR ME., 19 Aug 2014
This review is from: BW® 3.5 Inch Display HD 720p Dual Camera (forward and rear view) Car DVR video recorder S3000L (Electronics)
Please please don't buy this product,its not good at all[ according to my experience] . always avoid the sellers from china because when i asked for the refund, for this faulty product,the seller asked me to send it to china even though this was dispatched from Portsmouth! very disappointed with the service from seller and the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From a mere motorist!, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 3.5 Inch Display HD 720p Dual Camera (forward and rear view) Car DVR video recorder S3000L (Electronics)
So I was a bit dubious about this when I read the reviews, but gave it a chance! (How glad I was) It arrived 2 days after ordering, it is exactly as described in the pictures, and the screen quality is brilliant! I have a Vectra estate and the rear camera had more that enough cable (I had to wind about a 5 feet up and tie it away) I have also wired up the reversing camera which is great! it switches the screen to full rear camera but keeps recording both! only issue is The rear camera fell off the tail gate after about an hour! however that is because of the heated rear screen wires! if you suck it to a screen over heated wires then look at it from the outside, you can see where it hasn't sealed properly! I have solved this with a little bit of double sided tape! I would recommend any time to any one! love it! video to follow (Oh and for those wondering, No I don't work for the company or have any sort of affiliation with this product at all)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great bit of kit, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BW® 3.5 Inch Display HD 720p Dual Camera (forward and rear view) Car DVR video recorder S3000L (Electronics)
as a professional driver this this will come in very handy. Its great as the camera's are separate from the recording unit and can be placed exactly where you want them. there is more than enough cable for the rear camera (some is wedged in the glove box) so it should fit estate cars with no probs. not yet "used in anger" but gives so much peace of mind. the instruction book is iffy to say the least but it's 95% self explanatory and dead easy to set up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews