Customer Reviews


203 Reviews
5 star:
 (185)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drama at its best
Beautiful period piece set during the 1950's in Poplar in the East End of London. Extremely realistic plots and sets. Great characterisation. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Published 14 months ago by cinnamon10

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Puzzled.
I had the above sent to my daughter in Australia and although series 1 played with no problems. Series 2 would not play coming with message check area reception or something. As it was birthday present she was most disappointed.
Published 4 months ago by Valerie Hatfield


‹ Previous | 115 16 1721 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars ideal gift for gran, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife Collection - Series 1-2 + Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
Brought this as a gift for my mum ,who grew up in the 1950s and she really enjoyed it . If you like Sunday afternoon viewings of heartbeat etc this would go down a treat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars complements the TV series perfectly, 14 Sep 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Telford, Shropshire, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife Collection - Series 1-2 + Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
My wife is a big fan of this program and watches it regularly, the DVD's enable her to watch when she wants from the comfort of her bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle and amusing, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife Collection - Series 1-2 + Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
Fun, great to watch whilst doing the ironing ! I'm not sure it's very accurate but perhaps that is not the point of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Call the Midwife, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife Collection - Series 1-2 + Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
I bought it because I loved the TV series and could watch it over and over. I ordered 2 so that I could give one to a visiting friend who lives in Tenerife and doesn't get a lot of English programmes on her TV - she's loving it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd collection, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife Collection - Series 1-2 + Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
loved this series.Pleased to get these on dvd and watch them when i want to.good and entertaining .Excellent and good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 3 Sep 2013
By 
Gloria Venutie (Avignon les st claude,france) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife Collection - Series 1-2 + Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
I love this series, I'm French and this shows me how the widwives used to work during the 50's in England. I also loved the characters. A very nice series indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming Post-war drama, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife Collection - Series 1-2 + Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
Heartwarming series which remind older viewers of how we were taught to appreciate the simple values of life....friendship, good neighbours and sharing. A good cast and interesting scenes which include comical, dramatic and sad events seen through the eyes of a young inexperienced midwife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive watching, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. J. A. Bull "Jude" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife Collection - Series 1-2 + Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
My husband and I are really enjoying this series. A good insight at what it must have been like in 50's East End and the modern NHS as it was then. Great scripts and actors. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Midwife, 25 July 2013
This review is from: Call the Midwife Collection - Series 1-2 + Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
I love the tv- drama! It is very well adapted fr.o.m. the book "Call the midvife". Good acting. I really thought that the womens gave birth at real!

"Call the midvife" (the book and TV- drama) is for everyone WHO love history- theme, old classic music, and Real Girl Power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Call the Midwife TV series, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife Collection - Series 1-2 + Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
'Call the Midwife' is my favourite TV series because it is set in the 1950s and it has fantastic characters and plots. This box set contains all of series 1, 2 and the Christmas special. It also has extras which feature members of the cast talking about the production. This box set is presented beautifully in stunning packaging and is everything you could want in a DVD. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 1721 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call the Midwife Collection - Series 1-2 + Christmas Special [DVD]
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews