Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of a Steve Austin movie then a Steven Seagal movie.
If your a big fan of Steven Seagal then you might be a bit let down by this movie as for these reasons, apart from the fight he has at the start of the film and the end there is not much he does then shoot guns and run his overweight body around but it is nice to see there is chemistry between Austin and Seagal, Now the positive of the film as I stated in the review...
Published 19 months ago by John Stokes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Seagal/Austin Kick Ass Movie
Positive.
1)Steven Seagal & Steve Austin team up together to kick some ass.
2)Good action sequences directed by Keoni Waxman.
3)One of Seagals recent better made movie's.
4)The catchphrase "It's the skills that's what it is" line delivered very cool by Seagal.

Negative.
This movie adds nothing new to the action genre & Steven Seagal...
Published 9 months ago by Timelord007


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of a Steve Austin movie then a Steven Seagal movie., 18 Mar 2013
If your a big fan of Steven Seagal then you might be a bit let down by this movie as for these reasons, apart from the fight he has at the start of the film and the end there is not much he does then shoot guns and run his overweight body around but it is nice to see there is chemistry between Austin and Seagal, Now the positive of the film as I stated in the review title, this movie is more of an Steve Austin movie because he has more on screen time and uses the time he has on camera to entertain by kickin lots of ass, using laugh out loud catch phrases and to show his improvement as a action star. But if there is a secound movie I hope Mr.Seagal steps up his game to Austin's level and he should, as he has starred in more classic action movies then Steve Austin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Movie, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Want action and plenty of suspense than this is it. Well the story is fantastic that keeps you involved with the show, never a dull moment with two great actors, how can you go wrong, Full on with loads of suspense that it wont let you leave your chair. Two female prisoners arrive to be taken into custody, they are not really inmates but a witness and a cop to protect her, but things go wrong as usual and they are held in a prison that needs repairs. There going to have to do a lot more repairs after this show is finished. Now we have the baddies laying booby traps and with the goodies running around all over the place and getting shot at from every angle still trying to protect themselves. Sounds crazy well it is, marvellous storyline with a bundle of fabulous actors playing the roles to a tee. Special forces operative against evil mercenaries hint who will win or lose I'm not telling to spoil a great movie with plenty of twist and turns that will have you guessing all the way through. I rated this an A grade plus for the ideas that were created and well thought out plans on how to survive, Oh by the way I forgot to mention they let the other convicts out of the cells so now they have them to deal with so there are more problems. Now it's time for the entertainment to begin, plus popcorn invited along and relaxation with feet propped up to watch a brilliant movie, I strongly recommend this one. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Seagal/Austin Kick Ass Movie, 14 Jan 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Maximum Conviction [DVD] (DVD)
Positive.
1)Steven Seagal & Steve Austin team up together to kick some ass.
2)Good action sequences directed by Keoni Waxman.
3)One of Seagals recent better made movie's.
4)The catchphrase "It's the skills that's what it is" line delivered very cool by Seagal.

Negative.
This movie adds nothing new to the action genre & Steven Seagal only play's Steven Seagal in all his movie's.

Dvd Info.
Running time 96 minutes approx, Region 2 dvd.

Trivia.
1)Bren Foster co-star's with Steven Seagal in his next movie Force Of Execution.
2)Michael Pare starred in 1984's The Philadelphia Experiment & Walter Hills Streets of Fire.
3)Steve Austin has worked alongside Sylvester Stallone, Steven Seagal & Dolph Lungdren meaning the only other action star's of the 80's & 90's are Jean Claude Van Damme & Jackie Chan that Austin hasn't worked with yet.

Review.
When former Black Ops operative Cross(Seagal) & his friend & partner Manning(Austin) are sent to decommission an old prison they must see the arrival of two mysterious female prisoners.

Before long the prison is attacked by a team of an elite force of Mercenarys who assault the prison to kidnap the female arrivals led by rogue agent Chris Blake.

It soon becomes apparent to Cross there is something bigger going on here as Cross & Channing with there small band army take a stand against the Mercenaries in a attempt to stop them kidnapping the female prisoner's & fight back.

Timelord Thoughts.

I personally enjoyed this movie as it's a more polished Steven Seagal movie of late with good direction from Keoni Waxman whom has directed many Steven Seagal movie's.

Seagal isn't dubbed here & uses little in the way of stand ins on this film as it feels like his old type style of action movies.

Steve Austin also shows he has charisma in carrying off a action movie delivering great punch ups & he & Seagal share a good chemistry togther.

The plot ain't rocket science & the action certainly delivers in spades, Just don't expect to much & you maybe surprised how good this "B" movie is.

Recommended to Seagal & Austin fan's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done "Big" Steve!, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maximum Conviction [DVD] (DVD)
Well I have been a a fan for as long as Steven Segal has been making films !
That includes some of the pretty bad ones! Don't know why we as TRUE fans buy them but we do! This film is one of the much better ones. The action is non stop the acting is very good with strong action roles by proper American actors! Steve Austin is just right a tough guy and Steven Segal although he is not in the film as much as we would like still shows he can do the business. Unfortunately he still is very over weight and just looks slow! It is such a shame that our hero can't get his shape back!
Anyway a good film so worth a look if you are a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THIS GUY MEANS BUSINESS, 26 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Maximum Conviction [DVD] (DVD)
Cross (Steven Seagal) is an operational genius. His partner Manning (Steve Austin) is a weapons expert. They are ex-special forces who work as black ops contractors. Their current job is to decommission a black ops prison, one that doesn't officially exist and is located in Oregon (seriously?). For some reason our "operational genius" decides to shut down the prison while it still has prisoners in it.

During this period there are men dressed as Federal Marshals attempting a "high risk extraction" of two female prisoners to prevent them from going to a civilian prison. The film consists of Seagal/Austin and crew fighting in a prison maze against the bad guys. Seagal doesn't know if the women are in league with the bad guys or if the bad guys want them dead. It isn't hard for us to figure it out from their faces which show expressions. (Take note Steven, it's called acting!)

Early in the film Steven Seagal laughs, something I don't recall him doing in another movie. It made me laugh to watch it.

The plot is simple as most Seagal productions. There is plenty of killing, fighting, and blood. The picture appears to have been written more with Seagal in mind than Austin. I had expected more. Austin has done better films, and with Seagal it is hard to tell. This could have been one of his better productions. They need to write a part for Danny Trejo and make him the perennial bad guy. I smell sequel.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, no sex, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maximum Conviction, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maximum Conviction [DVD] (DVD)
this is fairly enjoyable not one of his best, he needs to slim down a little bit then the action will or may become better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stevie 'Fat Boy' Seagal KO'd by Steve Austin, 22 Aug 2014
I was a little hesitant in the beginning with the usual 'TV Movie' feel ... slightly tainted lens and the standard extras walking around a set that just doesn't quite feel right, however, as soon as Stevie Seagal began to talk, in what can only be called a mumbling Texan accent that sent me to the volume button, the movie weirdly improved. It lowered my expectation and actually began to improve. Don't expect the Hollywood CGI-filled explosion fest that litters the world ... this is an honest good vs. bad shoot-em up. The Star, by a mile, is Steve Austin! Classic one liners and a slow Terminator walk that always seems to get him where he needs to be. I couldn't help but laugh at 'Which one of you m***** f****** shot my future ex-wife?' ... delivered by the wooden but lovable rogue.

Good ... worth a watch and chuckle to pass a lazy day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A slight improvement, but still a disappointment......, 13 Nov 2012
By 
IOWBOY - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I used to really love Steven Seagal; I purchased every new film (often on the day of release) and would watch them countless times.

However as the years have passed the output has increased and the quality has dropped.

I suppose I do still love Steven Seagal, but only the 'old' Steven Seagal, the Seagal from 'Under Siege' Under Siege [Blu-ray] [1992] [US Import], 'Out for Justice' Out for Justice [Blu-ray] [1991] [US Import], 'Marked for Death' Marked for Death [Blu-ray] [1990] [US Import] and even 'Exit Wounds' Exit Wounds [DVD] [2001] (I'd even be happy for the one from 'Into the Sun' Into the Sun [DVD] [2005] or 'The Foreigner' The Foreigner [DVD] at this point in time).

Gone now are the days that I would pay full price on a films initial release, instead I wait for the price to come down and for it to be in the 'bargains' section (even then I still feel short changed).

So why do I keep buying them I hear you cry!

I suppose its because I keep hoping for a return to form, a glimpse of what his films used to be, just maybe he has one great action film left in him?!

And so it comes to 'Maximum Conviction'.

I was quite excited when I heard of its forthcoming release, it was Seagal's first 'proper' film in quite some time (not the edited episodes of his TV show 'True Justice') and it featured Steve Austin.

I'm quite a fan of Steve Austin, a couple of his films have been poor but overall he delivers a pretty good action film Steve Austin Collection [DVD] and unlike Mr Seagal he films most of his own scenes and takes part in most of his own fights (are you listening Mr Seagal?!).

The concept is pretty decent; Seagal and Austin have been hired to decommission a maximum security prison.

Along with their highly trained team they have been removed most of the prisoners from the establishment and gradually shut down the unused security systems.

So far so good.

As the film begins they have removed all but half a dozen or so `convicts', but they have also moved in two female prisoners to be held whilst they await collection by the authorities.

Despite this promising premise the film almost immediately disappoints.

Within five minutes we have our first scene with Seagal and Austin and it immediately becomes quite clear that this is going to be yet another lazy, `phoned in' performance from Seagal.

To start with he is grossly overweight, bigger than he has been in any film to date; now don't get me wrong I'm not against a bit of extra `timber' (I myself do well through the winter months) but all creditability is lost when the `action star' looks like he would break a sweat just eating his foot long meatball sub.

In my opinion Seagal has now reached the stage where he looks simply ridiculous running (or is that waddling?) around dressed as a soldier of fortune, and I also can't decide which looks worse between his permanent wraparound shades Indian Motorcycle Sunglasses - Wraparound Sunglasses - Sport - Style 2003 - New, his bandana BLACK Bandana with WHITE square Paisley pattern ON BOTH SIDES, or his spray on black widows peak Toppik Hair Building Fiber Black 10.3 g.

There are very few scenes in this film with Seagal and Austin together, in most of them it is clear that they are filmed using Seagals body double, in fact this double is used far more than Seagal himself and despite the filmmakers best efforts to hide this it is difficult when this double is about half the weight of the star.

Some of the action scenes are pretty good and there is certainly more violence and action than in many of Seagal's more recent efforts, but it is still a major disappointment and I once more feel short-changed by Steven Seagal.

Overall I would say that for a Seagal fan this film is a slight, very slight, improvement over recent outings, however it is still light-years away from his best efforts and will almost certainly disappoint those with any high expectations.

To the casual viewer it offers a standard action flick that may pass the time, however I would say that there are far better films to pass your time with and this film should be considered as a rental only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
By 
Mr. P. A. Garwood "henrys" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maximum Conviction [DVD] (DVD)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Maximum Conviction, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was a little worried when I picked this up on the cheap for a fiver (on blu-ray!) but actually I was pleasantly surprised. Action scenes are great really well shot and the fight scenes as you would expect from a seagal film never disappoint. Both actors on top form with Austin proving his worth behind the camera. If your into some solid action and fighting then this film is definitely you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maximum Conviction [DVD]
Maximum Conviction [DVD] by Keoni Waxman (DVD - 2013)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews