Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, yes, she'll run. She's as good as she ever was. I'll stake my living on it!
It's almost impossible for me to write a review of substance for The Titfield Thunderbolt, such is the love and unadulterated joy I have had with it for nigh on 40 years now. It was one of those magical moments in childhood when me, an obvious train set owner, caught this colourful {it was Ealing Studios first colour film} picture and took it all in like it was magic in a...
Published on 26 May 2011 by Spike Owen

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Out of sync
Great fan of Ealing Comadies especally Titfield Thunderbolt. So was very much looking forward to this digitally remastered 60th edition of the film.

The extras like where and how it was made were interesting.

But, sync between video and audio has been lost somewhere in the digital remastering. This means in many scenes actors speech does not match...
Published 17 months ago by Joe Bloggs


‹ Previous | 110 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good comments, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes I really enjoyed this DVD, as I have all the Last of the summer wine that I have.
Do you know when series 25/26 of the Summer wine might be on the market, Thankyou
for your emails.

Regards,
J.M.Beattie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One of the more mediocre Ealing films, 16 Jan 2006
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
After enjoying watching "The Ladykillers" and "Passport to Pimlico" recently , I was a little disappointed with "The Titfield Thunderbolt". While it possesses some of the absurdity and humour of the above films, it lacks decent characterisation and dialogue and there are some problems with continuity also. The acting isn't the greatest either and none of the characters are particularly likeable; they are a motley collection of thieves, drunks and saboteurs in the main. It is worth watching mainly for historical purposes; set in the era of steam trains and branch line closures, "The Titfield Thunderbolt" is a colourful reminder of a Britain which no longer exists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Titfield thunder bolt, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you liked the Ealing series of film then you will like this. I saw stage playa few months ago it was ok the film was abit dated and I was glad when it finished
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The new Blu-ray, 11 Dec 2012
By 
I. E. THOMAS (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titfield Thunderbolt - 60th Anniversary Collector's Edition [1953] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Eagerly awaiting this, said to be fully restored, old Technicolor favourite. I have the existing DVD but it is of awful quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Titfield Thunderbolt, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this dvd because my daughter was recently performing in an amateur theatre production of The Titfield Thunderbolt, and I was curious to see the film.
I actually thought that her production was more entertaining,and much funnier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poor film from the Ealing stable, 7 Sep 2000
By A Customer
From the studio that brought us 'Kind Hearts and Coronets' and 'The Man In The White Suit' and the writer of 'Passport to Pimlico', come 'The Titfield Thunderbolt', an increadibly unfuuny film.
Whereas the other Ealing films centred on Anarchic fun or the pulling together of a community, this film displays only rich 'geentlemen' conspiring to run a private railway against a bus company. it portrays everything that was twee and effete about 1950s rural England, and even the presence of Sid James in an early minor role cannot raise a smile,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars silly, 15 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. David Bapty "Routemaster" (Leeds England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
too daft to laugh at,a steam engine going along a street,would have been better if it was serious,only bonus is that it is is in glorious colour,with a few shots of rail traction at the time,some good actors too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Titfield Thunderbolt - 60th Anniversary Collector's Edition  [1953] [Blu-ray]
17.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews