Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SUPERNATURAL STORY
I am a big horror fan and found this very enjoyable. Supposedly based on true events,but make of that what you will.
It starts off with a woman about to smash a box with a hammer,she's atacked be an unseen force and is thrown around.
Then the main story kicks in,as two girls spend time with their father (recently seperated from his wife),Emily finds an antique...
Published 19 months ago by BAZ316

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHAT'S WRONG DADDY?
The film opens with the "based on a true story" claim. It follows this claim with a man coming home to find his mom possessed by a demon. Yes, I remember mom being possessed by demons. I warned her about burning those black candles, drinking goat's blood, and opening strange ancient boxes with Hebrew letters.

After the credits, the story then moves on to Clyde...
Published 18 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SUPERNATURAL STORY, 1 May 2013
I am a big horror fan and found this very enjoyable. Supposedly based on true events,but make of that what you will.
It starts off with a woman about to smash a box with a hammer,she's atacked be an unseen force and is thrown around.
Then the main story kicks in,as two girls spend time with their father (recently seperated from his wife),Emily finds an antique box at a yard sale and soon becomes obsessed with it.
Her behaviour becomes increasingly odd after she has trouble getting into the box,but finally opens it. In it she finds a dead moth and a ring which she slips on her finger,a ring that is clearly not wise to wear.
Soon moths becomes very much a part of the story,making their presence known.
As things get more and more sinister,it soon becmes clear...the box shouldn't have been opened! Too late!

This didn't disappoint,it may not be fantastic or highly original,but it works fine as a supernatural horror,one i think most horror fans will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Surprisingly good film, most enjoyable. My kind of film, plenty cushion gripping moments, if you like horror without too much gore watch this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last ... a decent possession movie based on a true story, 21 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Possession (DVD)
A decent possession movie that is based on a true story. OK ... so the makers of the film must have taken a few liberties to make the film into a thriller ... but even so, scary stuff.

I enjoy a thriller that is half believable and "The Possession" was. What I admired about this film was that there were no named actors and yet those involved in making this movie, acting and directional staff alike, did a fine job in keeping the viewers attention until the very last scenes.

I would recommend "The Possession" to all thriller seekers but to make sure the kids are in bed first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill !, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Donna Mead (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw this at the cinema and me and my partner both loved it - it is a brilliant film to watch and had us hooked, we loved the part at the end but do not want to spoil the film for others so I won't go into detail ! very good film indeed, would recommend to anyone who likes scary movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHAT'S WRONG DADDY?, 20 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The film opens with the "based on a true story" claim. It follows this claim with a man coming home to find his mom possessed by a demon. Yes, I remember mom being possessed by demons. I warned her about burning those black candles, drinking goat's blood, and opening strange ancient boxes with Hebrew letters.

After the credits, the story then moves on to Clyde (Jeffrey Dean Morgan), the almost big time basketball coach, his divorced wife Stephanie (Kyra Sedgwick), and two adorable daughters he has for the weekend in his new home on Always Dreary Lane. Em (Natasha Calis) the younger, more adorable, and better actor of his two daughters buys a box at a yard sale and the next thing you know the movie transforms itself into a mediocre Jewish exorcism film.

The highlight for me was the MRI scene. I would like to see Natasha Calis get smacked around er ah star in more horror films. You can keep the rest of that lot. I found myself getting bored during some of the better scenes. At 92 minutes, it seemed like 2 hours. Dialogue lacked decent hooks. Oh wait. That's because this was "based on a true story."

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. No moths were harmed in the filming of this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable supernatural horror film, 17 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
I am extremely surprised The Possession received negative reviews. It is hard to understand why the critics did not like the film at all. I thoroughly enjoyed the Possession, as it kept me on the edge of the seat for long periods. There is hardly a moment of calmness in the film. One quite moment gradually becomes a moment to scare the lights out of you when least expected. The vital ingredients of pace, gripping moments and settings have been well assembled to deliver a supernatural horror film, to keep viewers entertained and thrilled.

Believe it or not, the Possession has been inspired by true events. I am doubtful whether every single fact is correct. It is difficult to comment on this. Having watched the film, it creates a spooky and creepy atmosphere. The surprise element is strongly felt. An average American suburban area has been affected by the haunting events. It starts with a mysterious box attempted to be opened and containing valuables treasures. There is a curse behind the box. If you are in pocession of the box, then the demon curses you. The opening sequences set the tone of the film. A middle aged woman has been cursed and her life changes forever. The focus is on one family. The couple are divorced and share custody of two young girls. The younger girl experiences the horrifying moments, as she herself has been controlled and her behaviour arouses concerns from the family. This happens as she becomes obsessed with the mysterious box purchased in a stall. It becomes clear of what is happening. In order to combat the spirits, there is a special ritual to perform. The significance of the box becomes clear. There is a history behind the box. It is interesting and fascinating to learn about.

Possession falls into the category of a supernatural horror film.From watching the film, you can tell it has been inspired by well known supernatural horror films. One notable example is Excorcism. Many of the scenes feature demons and spirits. These scenes are scary. It does not have the traditional settings of a classic supernatural horror film, but still equally effective as the right location has been carefully selected. Much of the film takes place in a quite suburban area. There are unused houses in the area. I enjoyed the film. It kept me enthralled. It does the job well of what a horror film should achieve with audience. I saw many frigthened faces in the cinema hall. This shows the level of impact on the audience. Despite the negative reviews, I did not see much flaws exposed in the film. I disagree with the critics reviews on this ocasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary movie don't watch alone!!!, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watch the movie on my own and it was really scary. It shows about a girl buying a strange accient box with strange things inside. The box opens and talks to the girl and she gets possessed by that thing inside that box. Its really disturbing! But it's creepy and excellent movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good possession film, 13 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Possession (DVD)
This is the best Possession film I have seen since the Exorcist. All other films have based themselves on the exorcist but this one is totally different. I enjoyed it that much I have watched it 4 times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very scary!, 10 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Possession (Blu-ray)
Really scary film! Based on true events makes it all the more! Edge of your seat viewing!! One to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scared, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film scared us that much had to watch it twice (hid behind cushions first time) what makes it worse is the fact its based on a true story. Fantastic acting by all the cast. Love Jeffrey Dean Morgan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Possession: Uncut Edition [Blu-ray] [2012]
Possession: Uncut Edition [Blu-ray] [2012] by Ole Bornedal (Blu-ray - 2013)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews