Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 February 2013
This set is currently £10, whereas if you buy a single toot-toot race car it's £6.50. So essentially for £3.50 you are getting a piece of track, a piece of smaller dead-end track and a launcher.

The first thing to note is that the launcher is pretty rubbish, and doesn't shoot the car any distance. My son tossed it within two minutes.

Second, the race car won't be recognised by the garage, fire station or car-carrier (unless newer versions of those sets have their software updated) as it's a newer product. This might annoy the child if they enjoy the vehicle recognition aspect of the sets.

Third, the race car doesn't roll well on the slope of the garage (then again a lot of the vehicles don't as the slope isn't steep) but the design of the car seems to have affected the free-rolling capability a little. Again this might annoy the child if the car keeps getting stuck.

However there are grooves on the longer piece of track that make the car respond with different phrases as it runs over them, which is fun for the child. This is called smart point and it might be a long term change vtech have made - instead of the track recognising the car (like in the sets) the car recognises the track. Also the straight piece of track will connect into existing track and the dead end piece is handy for finishing off any set of track you have that runs to nowhere - all good if you want to incorporate the track pieces into existing sets.

I'm a huge fan of the range - the cars are incredibly sturdy and the best toy I have seen for the 1+ age bracket in terms of construction and interaction. The race car looks speedy and has a nice variety of sounds to entertain the child.

The reason I'm knocking two stars off is one for the poor free-rolling and another for the rubbish launcher. Still, it's a nice enough set that compliments the range reasonably well. However I'd buy a different vehicle and the traffic light track set, which is on sale at the time of this review, if I was looking to make a small addition to the bigger sets.
11 comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
Have found most of the toot toot range to be brilliant but this one is a flop. The launcher is useless so all you are left with is another car!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
This was bought as a present for my almost 2 year old nephew. Age-wise it was fairly spot on but the product itself is really pretty rubbish. The parts do not fit together very well, but the worst aspect is the 'push' bit - the car gets pushed only about 15 cms. Not exactly zooming across the floor as I had anticipated! I really wish I had taken notice of the other reviews for this product. I would not recommend it.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
The car is ok but the launcher is rubbish. We have other stuff in the toot toot range (garage, fire station and several vehicles) which are all good fun but this was frankly an embarrassment on Christmas Day.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2014
This is a nice game for a toddler who loves little cars. It is just a shame that the launcher is not stronger, or maybe the fact that the series of Toot-toot cars are a little heavy makes the 'launching' a little disappointing...it stills keeps a little one busy, and the car does the real race cars sounds
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
the launcher separates from the track - there's no click in or anything, it just slides off and my 16 month old doesn't have the coordination just yet to put it back on and use it. A little disappointing but maybe he will grow into it. nice quality though.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
My daughter suggested buying this as a Christmas present for my great nephew. It is brilliant and will keep him amused for hours. There is so much that can be added to it to build up a great story set.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
grandson got this when he was 1 and is still playing with it now he is nearly 2. he loves the sounds. also can play with the car on its own. its a good introduction to the toot-toot range
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
I have other toot toot products so bought this and it adds on to the rest really well. Is easy to use and i played with by my 1 year old and 3 year old
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
If your child love the toot toot cars, he/she will love this press and go launcher. We got this for my 1 year old son's christmas and he just loved it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.