Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only buy one business book this year...
Buy this one - it is not only clear and robust but, more importantly, it's useful. This seminal text on pricing deserves not only to be required reading for MBAs up and down the country, but also for all smart marketing and sales executives and consultants everywhere. Cram's advice about pricing and value challenges the current 'cheap is best' mantra,...
Published on 9 Jan. 2006 by Ms. C. Poole

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but there are better pricing books
Smarter pricing by Tony Cram is fine (and well-written) as far as it goes but is very thin - fine if you want to get an introduction to pricing but not adequate if you're looking to implement a pricing project for your company. Power Pricing by Dolan and Simon is good for the later objective - really goes into detail about the merits of different research technigues,...
Published on 19 Oct. 2006 by Alex


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only buy one business book this year..., 9 Jan. 2006
By 
Buy this one - it is not only clear and robust but, more importantly, it's useful. This seminal text on pricing deserves not only to be required reading for MBAs up and down the country, but also for all smart marketing and sales executives and consultants everywhere. Cram's advice about pricing and value challenges the current 'cheap is best' mantra, offering salvation to weary companies everywhere, exhausted by endless fighting on price. The question you will have for yourself once you have read this book is, when we've put our prices up, what shall we do with all that extra revenue?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for anybody interested in pricing so everybody.., 18 Jan. 2006
This book of Tony Cram gives an excellent overview of the challenges in pricing for any company. The lively style and the amount of examples in b to c and b to b comapnies make it very accessible.
It is practical but based on a sound research base.
This books gives everybody who works in and /or for companies an excellent insight into this topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for anyone who is serious about their business, 18 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This book is not only a fantastic aide-memoire for marketers and business executives; it is also a thoroughly interesting read.
Cram transforms what can be a dry and inaccessible area of the marketing mix into a sparkling insight into the techniques of creative pricing. This book contains tools to help executives employ clever pricing strategies to strengthen the position of their products and services.
The book contains many case examples, which I found particularly helpful. I also found his chapter summaries (2 - 3 key 'takeaways' at the end of each section) to be useful, as well as his 'Questions for Management', which helped me to use to book to reflect back on my own organisation.
I would recommend this book to anyone who is serious about executing a winning strategy for their business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As a Pricing Analyst, 18 Mar. 2011
... a few years ago now I got asked to do Pricing for a bank ...as there was no one else to ask ...I bought this book !!!

It inspired me and helped me scratch the surface to see the depth in pricing and get the best out of me.

Five years later I've got 4 top lads working for me and a very supportive "Head of Savings" ... and I've managed to get this book for them on expenses.

I'd urge anyone involved to read this to see what's possible elsewhere in other industries and start to think outside of their comfort zone, draw parallels and not be afraid to speak up when all those around them are talking from a different position driven by self interest and a lack of analytical mindset.

Keep the faith !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a first class book!, 19 Jan. 2006
It is so refreshing have someone stand up against the tide of ever cheaper and cheaper. I have read previous books by Tony and again, really easy to read and packed with nuggest of gold.
The further reading secions are an exellent resource to delve deeper into the topic. I particularly like chapter 9 on setting the pricing structures and segmenting the market.
Buy It!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but there are better pricing books, 19 Oct. 2006
Smarter pricing by Tony Cram is fine (and well-written) as far as it goes but is very thin - fine if you want to get an introduction to pricing but not adequate if you're looking to implement a pricing project for your company. Power Pricing by Dolan and Simon is good for the later objective - really goes into detail about the merits of different research technigues, estimating user price response, identifying differentiated pricing offers etc. Written very clearly in laymans terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smarter Pricing - a major contribution from a recognised authority, 15 May 2007
By 
Tony Cram has done it again.This is his third book and is undoubtedly the one to buy on pricing. He has used his extensive knowledge of the subject and his characteristic depth of insight to argue persuasively for a new approach to the whole area.As always his research has been meticulous and he has selected up-to-date material to illustrate his points. The book is full of ideas and packed with clear analysis. It is written in Tony Cram's hallmark style - superbly accessible and delicious to read. This is a major contribution from a recognised authority in the field. It should be read and savoured, but above all, it should be acted upon.

Smarter Pricing is aimed at practising managers but will also be very useful to MBA students. For a second book look at McKinsey's "Price Advantage"(2004) - some of the older texts could do with updating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real world pricing guide, 15 Mar. 2006
Excellent book, easily readable with a comprehensive scope and loads of great examples from every industry and part of the world. I like the Customer - Competitor - Company structure. The five minute guide in Chapter 13 is the most thumbed section of my copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and helpful, 9 Jan. 2006
This well written book is a 'must read' for anyone involved in the tricky business of setting prices for products or services. Using many examples from international businesses it offers both insights and practical suggestions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book for marketeers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews