Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars97
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2013
A departure for Mark Gimenez, but all the ingredients are there in spades! Fascinating characters...each one carefully painted....a good dose of American Law .... another off the beaten track interesting town, which just begs you to visit it....a really topical background (Fracking).....so nothing that departs too far from his previous novels, sort of a mix between The Color of Law and The Governor's Wife in pace, and it's real Texas to the core (I love it!)......so what's new? John Bookman is what is new and a clever formula that will ensure in subsequent novels he will always have a new and different sidekick?
And what of John Bookman... well he is best described in my mind as a thinking man's Jack Reacher.
Great work Mark...hope you have Bookman 2 ready for print!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
Having read all of his previous great stories, this is another good one but seems to be filled out with padding.
Too many pages of classroom waffle that don't really add to the drama.
Having said that, the book moves along at a good pace and the hero is very likeable.
I can't wait to read the next instalment, dealing with gun control!!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
After reading all the previous books by Mark Gimenez, and thoroughly enjoying them, I really looked forward to this new one, the first in a planned series featuring unconventional law professor John Bookman. Sadly this one didn't work for me at all. The premise is a good one - Bookman receives letter from a former intern needing his help, sets off on his Harley with possibly the most irritating assistant as pillion passenger, and gets involved in a convoluted plot involving 'fracking', modern art, and the death of his former colleague. It's very involved, a lot of technical detail about gas and oil but not a lot of mystery or tension. The concluding ' big finish' is entirely 'Boy's Own' stuff and totally unbelievable.
Loved the previous books greatly, but this is well below par. The rest of the series will need to be much better for me to bother getting the next one.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Mark Gimenez has written a fascinating account of the temptation facing small Fracking operators that probably reflects reality much more than all the pious words of officialdom
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
Have read all of the Gimenez books and all have been most enjoyable, though certainly some are very memorable and others less so. This particular offering, whilst still fairly good, is in my opinion one of the Less so's! Although the subject (Fracking) is quite topical at the moment, at the end of the book l feel l also know far more about America's internal politics than l need to, more particularly as am not American and didn't really feel all that was necessary for the story. though it did apply to the title as Con Law refers to the USA's Constitutionall Law.

The undrelying story however. was good and overall l liked the book. though for me, Mr Gimenez's first two books were his best.I'm
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have read all of his books and found all of them except The Governors Wife and this one to be excellent, This one was so boring it took me over a month instead of a couple of days to finish, as it is the first of a series starring John Bookman I am afraid I have better things to do with my time so I am sorry to say this will Be the last Mark Gimenez book I will be wasting my time on.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 March 2014
Mark Gimenez is an author with several missions. Ostensibly he is writing a thriller and there are no complaints on that count. But he deals with topical causes, too: notably fracking, but also women's rights, Obamacare and the relationship between law and justice. It makes for a long book and at times it hinders pace, but the delays are worth while because they are so fairly argued.

Noe of this would sell many copies if the characters didn't grip. These do. John Bookman is a maverick law professor with a useful sideline in martial arts. His intern, Nadine, is a genuine original, timing her one-liners with deadly precision. An assorted cast of Texan goodies and baddies is nicely differentiated, thanks to the author's ability to write believable dialogue. The small town newspaper editor and the local sheriff are both rooted in the same soil but there are subtle shades of difference.

For a thriller to start with a long chapter of cut and thrust about the US Constitution between professor and students, followed by another debating the ethics of faculty salaries is brave indeed, yet the pages turn themselves with ease.

This is an impressive performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
I am a fan of Mark Gimenez and have really enjoyed his previous books but this one was a great disappointment. I actually liked the new characters but the story was such a slog to get through. Minute detail about fracking meant skipping several pages. There is also no courtroom action which was a shame. I will try the next one but if there is so much unnecessary detail, I will not get through it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
A well structured tale but too much padding with "detail". Could develop and slow but enjoyable. Glad I read it as like what he writes
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
An interesting start to a new series and a lively new character. Explores the subject of fracking in some detail which was enlightening, although there were the usual extremes of viewpoint. Some of the diatribes on constitutional law go on a bit, but the classroom stuff (Bookman is a lecturer) provides a good subplot. Well worth a read - great description of the Texan countryside.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.