Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Wait for John Bookman 2!
A departure for Mark Gimenez, but all the ingredients are there in spades! Fascinating characters...each one carefully painted....a good dose of American Law .... another off the beaten track interesting town, which just begs you to visit it....a really topical background (Fracking).....so nothing that departs too far from his previous novels, sort of a mix between The...
Published 17 months ago by D. H. Blair

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Last Mark Gimenez Book I will read
I have read all of his books and found all of them except The Governors Wife and this one to be excellent, This one was so boring it took me over a month instead of a couple of days to finish, as it is the first of a series starring John Bookman I am afraid I have better things to do with my time so I am sorry to say this will Be the last Mark Gimenez book I will be...
Published 9 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Wait for John Bookman 2!, 9 July 2013
By 
D. H. Blair "roadcred" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A departure for Mark Gimenez, but all the ingredients are there in spades! Fascinating characters...each one carefully painted....a good dose of American Law .... another off the beaten track interesting town, which just begs you to visit it....a really topical background (Fracking).....so nothing that departs too far from his previous novels, sort of a mix between The Color of Law and The Governor's Wife in pace, and it's real Texas to the core (I love it!)......so what's new? John Bookman is what is new and a clever formula that will ensure in subsequent novels he will always have a new and different sidekick?
And what of John Bookman... well he is best described in my mind as a thinking man's Jack Reacher.
Great work Mark...hope you have Bookman 2 ready for print!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good Gimenez but not a great Gimenez, 15 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: Con Law (John Bookman Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Having read all of his previous great stories, this is another good one but seems to be filled out with padding.
Too many pages of classroom waffle that don't really add to the drama.
Having said that, the book moves along at a good pace and the hero is very likeable.
I can't wait to read the next instalment, dealing with gun control!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best introduction to the potential harm of Fracking written so far, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mark Gimenez has written a fascinating account of the temptation facing small Fracking operators that probably reflects reality much more than all the pious words of officialdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Last Mark Gimenez Book I will read, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all of his books and found all of them except The Governors Wife and this one to be excellent, This one was so boring it took me over a month instead of a couple of days to finish, as it is the first of a series starring John Bookman I am afraid I have better things to do with my time so I am sorry to say this will Be the last Mark Gimenez book I will be wasting my time on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy on the "facts", 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Con Law (John Bookman Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A well structured tale but too much padding with "detail". Could develop and slow but enjoyable. Glad I read it as like what he writes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book., 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was different and unusual. Be ready to find it "goes on a bit",in parts, but great story, plus you learn such a lot about Fracking,which is a current topic.
Give it a try, it is a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good Gimenez read, 26 Dec 2013
By 
J. Carley "Ironhorse" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting start to a new series and a lively new character. Explores the subject of fracking in some detail which was enlightening, although there were the usual extremes of viewpoint. Some of the diatribes on constitutional law go on a bit, but the classroom stuff (Bookman is a lecturer) provides a good subplot. Well worth a read - great description of the Texan countryside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting subjects and a good story, 18 Nov 2013
By 
Rk Turner "Bob Turner" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Con Law (John Bookman Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A good insight into Fracking and should be required reading for those UK citizens who are interested in that subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 10 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Kenneth W. Roper "Elvis and Alabama fan" (Kidlington England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have enjoyed all of Mark Gimenez' novels including this one. The cover claims, as it does on most of his novels that he's the new Grisham. He isn't by a long shot but still a good read. He even has a pop at Grisham in the this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Writing by numbers., 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading all the previous books by Mark Gimenez, and thoroughly enjoying them, I really looked forward to this new one, the first in a planned series featuring unconventional law professor John Bookman. Sadly this one didn't work for me at all. The premise is a good one - Bookman receives letter from a former intern needing his help, sets off on his Harley with possibly the most irritating assistant as pillion passenger, and gets involved in a convoluted plot involving 'fracking', modern art, and the death of his former colleague. It's very involved, a lot of technical detail about gas and oil but not a lot of mystery or tension. The concluding ' big finish' is entirely 'Boy's Own' stuff and totally unbelievable.
Loved the previous books greatly, but this is well below par. The rest of the series will need to be much better for me to bother getting the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Con Law (John Bookman Book 1)
£3.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews