Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars101
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 July 2013
The end to any tale is always bitter sweet, you look for conclusion to a tale to know what will happen, but then thats it no more. The great thing about this ending is that it is also the beginning, In the e-book is chapter one of book one Under the Eagle.
Champion is just what you would expect it to be, the training of Pavo to face Hermes, its going to have an element of the incredulous with again a beginner in the arena facing up to champion of the arena, a man unbeaten in 50 fights. But Simon also manages to bring some sanity and drama to the training and also how that training will help in the fight. There are some lovely moments between Macro and Pavo, a pair as unlikely As Macro and Cato but who have come to respect each other, Nacrissus finally makes more of an appearance, showing that he is actually less slimy than murena.
All in all a very good solid story and a great way to end this series of tales.
Really enjoyed this series and i hope Simon does more

(Parm)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
disappointed with the content. I read the book in a couple of hours. In fact it is the size of a chapter. If you put all the Arena series together it would make a book!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
This mini series is pretty good and a nice insight into our hero Macro from the Eagle series of books. This series is also available now as a single volume.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
A new hero is born! Pavo could have series of adventures of his own. The episodes kept me wanting the next instalment and although it was frustrating waiting for the the next one, it was well worth the wait. I will buy the book when it comes out and add it to my Simon Scarrow collection. I won't say any thing about the story as I don't want to spoil that for anyone. Just read it and get lost in the world of Pavo...you won't regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
I so loved this book, this series! I couldn't wait to read each part as it came out. Having read all of the Eagle series I was thoroughly entertained. It was such a page turner that i found it hard to put down. Including Macro into the series is a nice nod and wink to the Eagle series, and it leaves you wanting more Roman brilliance from Mr Scarrow! Also, it's an interesting way of delivering a book, in short parts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
This series of books by Simon Scarrow I found to have a good story line and very well researched by the author.
however each book was a very short read, if found it very annoying at the start of each part of the series to have to be reminded of what had happened in the previous parts. I feel that if this series had been written as one book it would have been a very good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
I can't get enough of these novels about an era in history of huge swings of fortune and danger. It is hard to imagine a world like Rome particularly based in an arena setting but the book just comes alive with the sights, sounds and smells that make it so readable and believable. A great read and as they always say a page-turner. Thank you Simon and more please.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
Had me gripped from start to finish and i could not put the book down.
A great end to a fascinating series and another great book by simon scarrow. I stronly reccomend this series to any Roman loving reader.
This is a great series on the roman arena and simon scarrow has written it beautifully. Can't wait for the next of his amazing books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
Another fantastic read from Simon Scarrow. I've read all the eagle series and still can't believe how good they are. Simon Scarrow just can't write books fast enough. The best Roman novels out there by far. Macro and Cato are brilliant characters. Keep up the great work Simon and for heaven's sake write faster please..........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Fun short stories, full of action, intrigue and back stabbing - I assume Pavo will make an appearance in a later full novel, now we have seen him ?

Does Macro ever let on in the novels of his previous involvement with Pallas, Narcissus etc. I don't think so - maybe he will now !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse