Customer Reviews


385 Reviews
5 star:
 (239)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious yet utterly believable
This is a really funny book about a man writing a guidebook about France. Despite the humour, every single event in this book remains completely believable, and the main 'characters' are easy to identify with. All in all, a great read.
Published 21 days ago by gdj

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Glad I only paid 99p!
With the long ist of positive re iew Iwas looking forwardto reading this, but unfortunately I ended up sorely disappointed. I found the writing rather poor and somewhat meandering without any real sense of purpose. The humor was lacking and at times the inner view of his family' travails quite embarrassing.

A dissatisfying read of a book which seemed to be...
Published 8 months ago by Nino


‹ Previous | 136 37 38 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road to Rouen (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book on a recommendation from an English language magazine devoted to all things French and can only assume the reviewer didn't get past reading the blurb. However, the biggest surprise for me was to read in the acknowledgements that there was an editor involved in this book. Why then, in the name of all that is wonderful about the English language, were there so many errors? It's bad enough that typos get through but apostrophes in the wrong place and clunky passages that you have to read several times to get the sense are really unacceptable.

I've given this book two stars because there were a couple of laugh out loud moments but so many more were expected. If a book is being touted as being about a journey through France then that's what is expected, not to have to endure long and boring passages about a couple in whose lives I have little interest.

For properly funny, and beautifully written, travel writing books I shall go and re-read Bill Bryson!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BAD BOOK, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road to Rouen (Paperback)
just a boring badly written book by a mean selfish person,Icould not read much more than a chapter or two before losing interest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars non, merci, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road to Rouen (Kindle Edition)
I thought that I was buying an account of the authors travels through France, but this book is not about France. It is a detailed account of every 'cute' conversation that Ben Hatch and his wife have had with their children. The book is essentially about Ben Hatch, his wife and hilarious things their children say. The author falls into the all-too-common trap of believing that every word uttered by his offspring is worth noting down and sharing; a little is fine, an entire book is downright irritating. Alot of time is also spent on detailed 'flashback' accounts of their lives before the trip - France barely gets a look in. And another thing - what is it with the use of the word 'love' on every page? Do these people not have names?

An intensely irritating book. Nil points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road to Rouen (Kindle Edition)
Boring, unexciting and tedious. Far too much use of the word "Love", urgh. Ben Hatch should have trained as a plumber, as suggested in the book. I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Road to Rouen, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road to Rouen (Kindle Edition)
. Not the best book I've read some bits funny but on the whole I did not enjoy, would not recommend to my book club
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not often that I don't bother to finish a book., 5 Aug 2013
This review is from: Road to Rouen (Kindle Edition)
But this was one that I didn't enjoy. Poorly written, cliched storytelling, and I concluded that there were better books I could spend my time reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Found it incredibly tedious ...., 3 Oct 2013
By 
Paul Willitt (Taunton, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road to Rouen (Kindle Edition)
I guess I must just be unlucky and don't find the style easy to read and the attempt at humour rather tedious.

I suggest that you read a sample thoroughly first to make sure, before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably not what you might expect, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road to Rouen (Kindle Edition)
This is NOT a book about France, so if you are looking to find travel suggestions or explanations of French culture, do not stop here! It is rather a portrait of the author's family and their interactions during a trip through France. In fact Ben Hatch does not seem to understand a lot about the French, and as he himseld admits, he does not speak French, which would seem to constitute a huge barrier to real interactions. His children are portrayed as almost too good to be true, which is natural enough as they are seen through the eyes of a doting father, but doesn't make for a very gripping tale. As for the ups and downs of his marital relationship, I felt almost voyeuristic reading some parts of this: if it is all true, then I feel sorry for his wife having her intimate life exposed to the public; if it is not true, then the book should not masquerade as autobiographical.
In the end it's a pleasant enough read, mildly amusing in parts, nothing more. I have the feeling that Hatch might be able to write something better than this, but he has not chosen his topic well here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Holiday read, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road to Rouen (Kindle Edition)
Title caught my eye as, yes we were travelling through Rouen to the Loire to visit relatives. Bit cheesy really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depressingly tight., 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road to Rouen (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend this book to anyone considering getting a divorce who is totally mean about things. I read it before going abroad and thanks for the info on Disney Paris. Shan't be going there in a hurry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 136 37 38 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Road to Rouen
Road to Rouen by Ben Hatch
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews