Shop now Shop Now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars97
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 22 June 2013
Starts well but loses its way towards the end.

Having always had a soft spot for Mr Warnock I decided to buy this book.

It provides a fascinating insight in to the world of football however there are too many instances where the author 'blows sunshine out of his backside'.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 28 October 2013
Neil Warnock is one of the game's real characters - a cliche, but in this case it's true. So it stands to reason that any autobiography based on his experiences will be a good read. And he doesn't let us down - it's funny, shocking and even emotional in places. The majority of the book is about his eventful time at QPR, with tangents back in time to stories from his playing days and his times managing other clubs. But it's when talking about Rangers that the book particularly comes alive - his experiences with the owners and with certain players are truly fascinating.

And you do get a good idea of what it's been like for him to be a manager and how things work. He's refreshingly straightforward in his approach: not all referees are terrible; not all agents are evil; not all players are money-grabbers. All good fun.

What a shame, then, that this book has been so poorly written by ghost writer Glenn Moore and, to compound it, that the book has been lazily edited and proofread. Just to pick a couple of examples, Heidar Helguson's first name is spelt wrong for the entire book, apart from on one page, where it was spelt right once, but then wrong again in the next paragraph. Poor Shaun Derry suffers the same fate. Then there's the time Warnock thinks that the QPR Chairman has been trying to sign Stefan Moore. Seeing as QPR had finally got shot of Moore (who had been a very poor signing) two years before Warnock arrived, and by the time this alleged story was taking place he was playing for St Neots somewhere below the football league, the reader is left to assume that the player being referred to was his brother, Luke. Now, this may well have been an understandable mistake made by Warnock when telling the story to Glenn Moore, but it would be nice to think that Headline, the nation's foremost publisher of sports books, has enough respect for its readers (and for Neil) to have the book fact checked. You'd also hope that Glenn Moore might have a enough football knowledge to correct it himself.

In addition, too often anecdotes go nowhere. For example, Neil recalls a time he cooked a barbecue for the QPR players, and then says something like, 'Mind you, I remember another manager doing this...' - you expect to be told that the other manager undercooked the sausages or set the burgers on fire, but no, the story ends there. Apparently Neil just remembered another manager cooking, once. Brilliant.

What a shame that the book is spoilt by these errors and lazy writing/editing, because Warnock is an interesting man with huge experience and strong opinions. A bit more care wouldn't have gone amiss. Poor work from Headline.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 15 June 2013
Warnock doesn't seem to have an axe to grind, his communication style is clear and simple, making the book accessible to all.
He communicates a lot on player personalities, with a reputation as a man-motivator you can tell he's got an eye for people and is able to quickly form an opinion of what makes people tick. His commentary on the Terry affair is helpful in clearing up what happened.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 6 October 2014
Neil Warnock has managed many football clubs over a long career, and this book – part autobiography, part expose of football management – is an interesting view of life in the dugout and changing room. Although Warnock considers his whole career, it particularly focuses on his time at Crystal Palace, QPR and Leeds. It’s a personal history and Warnock is keen to put his side of the story forward – he rarely admits that he was wrong, and often piles up the reasons or excuses for his lack of success. Even so, it’s difficult to argue with the suggestion that Warnock was a manager of three clubs that were undergoing behind-the-scenes turmoil – although with modern football, takeovers and boardroom wranglings are common, and Warnock was certainly not alone in having to deal with them. You might not always like the manager, but this gives an insight as to what he might be going through.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 16 June 2013
Quite a good insight into Neil Warnocks career & what some of the 'pampered' footballers of today are like!

And yes, while Neil is a 'marmite' character his honesty shows in this book.
I was pleased to meet him at a recent book signing, where he was happy and relaxed & had time for the fans.
The book has kept me entertained for the last few days, and love him or loath him at least read the book THEN comment!
While I didn't like the initial idea of him managing my local team, he did, and gave us some success.
For that I'm grateful.

I hope the book does well for him & he enjoys his retirement, he's worked long & hard for it!

Good luck Neil.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
Having read this, I'm convinced that Neil Warnock doesn't go out to upset people, he just does. He got my back up almost instantly. In the first few pages he implies that the average football fan doesn't have a clue how a football club is run. Although it is true that I have never managed a team, it doesn't mean that I have not had experiences of having to deal with awkward bosses or troublesome employees. At least as a football manager you can just ship a bothersome player out of sight until his contract runs out or he is sold, a luxury someone like me working in an office cannot do. Also, like many working class men and women who watch the game, we do know about budgets. Okay, we don't have thousands of people screaming for our heads, but we can't all just go to our homes in Cornwall or Scotland to clear our heads after a bad day like he can. According to Warnock, apart from one Millwall fan chucking an egg at his head, he enjoyed talking to the fans and never shied away from them.

I found the book started off quite interesting and ended in disappointment - as you'd expect - at Leeds. I found the QPR bit in the middle a bit long and laborious. I'll readily admit that I nearly abandoned the book halfway through, as the constant whining drove me mad. I think we all know that Taarabt is a bit of a `colourful' character, but the point is drilled home time and time again. It is as if he wants a medal for getting the best out of him.

But you cannot knock the guy's record. He's won seven promotions. I hope he stays in the game, because my team always beat his teams (1-3 at Gigg Lane, 1-4 Bramhall Lane, 1-3 Loftus Road and 1-6 Leeds). Thanks for the points Neil!

The book is a must for a QPR fan, as it does go into detail about how the club is run. As for Palace fans, if you want your ego massaging, then you'll enjoy this. Leeds fans, like the other clubs will only find this is a passing interest. £8.49 is a fare old sum for a Kindle book. My advice would be that it is worth the read, but maybe wait until you see it for a quid in Oxfam.

Sorry Neil.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
on 4 June 2013
Where to start on this scriptual masterpiece?

I think the most revealing chapter is the Leeds United chapter - read about what really happened with Luciano Becchio (long and short of it, he wasn't Browneh or Tongeh) and how many ridiculous cliches he used in interviews (I think they're rounded down to the nearest ten thousand).

I particularly enjoyed the chapter "Amy's anecdotes" too - a couple of pearls of wisdom from Neil's daughter. Her thoughts on Wembley, deadline day, using a false 9 and the best marker pens to use on tactics boards are incredible.

If you've ever wondered about what the life of a manager who had success in the 80s and tried to replicate that 25 years later is like (and a few tips on how to drive a tractor as well), this is the book for you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 19 June 2013
Very good book and look into neil Warnock and what he is like in management and his handling of the last 3 clubs.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 May 2014
Let me start by saying that I do not, and have never, supported any of the clubs managed by Mr Warnock. I don't really like him but, and here's the twist, I would love him at my club !
There's some very insightful stuff here on what it takes to run a football club these days and I have to agree with him that "new" managers these days, and he specifically mentions AVB here, are at a huge disadvantage as they have not had the grounding that Mr Warnock has had in the lower leagues and whilst he can reach back into the recesses of his mind and remember what he did to counteract a particular problem they cannot do that. No amount of theory can teach you what to do in a certain situation. The book is packed full of little anecdotes about various players and personalities and I found it a thoroughly entertaining read.
Highly recommended especially if you support one of the clubs he has managed
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
A great book from Neil Warnock into the tribulations of a football manager, many anecdotes and amusing stories coupled with a first hand account of the difficulties of management through testing times at 3 clubs of his tenure. This book is slightly difficult to read as the chronology flits between the past, present and future consistently throughout a chapter- as the majority of the book focuses on a limited time frame this is occasionally unsuccessful and confusing at times as to who (which club) Warnock is commenting on. A good read nonetheless and you can't help ultimately feeling sorry that was largely unable to fully realise and achieve the ambitions he set for Crystal Palace, QPR and Leeds.
A great read for anyone interested in the state of football, clubs, management and behind the scenes stuff, and a rarity in the focus on fairly recent highlights of football.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.