Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspense and mystery!
I really enjoyed this book, as did my other half.

The book has a good mix of romance, mystery, suspense. It kept me guessing right to the end - I thought I nad it all worked out at one point and...well... How wrong could I be?!

I liked the characters in the book. I see other reviewers found Diana to be too weak as a person, but I didn't find this. I...
Published 3 months ago by NRCM

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Err, more like green countryside and grey London
This is my second TP book and was looking forward to a bit of escapism.

Rachel and Diana are sisters. The book begins with them comforting each other as their dad leaves the family and then fast forwards to present day where Rachel is a diving instructor in Thailand and Diana is a trophy wife back in the UK. The sisters are estranged but come together when...
Published 6 months ago by Joey


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspense and mystery!, 12 May 2014
By 
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really enjoyed this book, as did my other half.

The book has a good mix of romance, mystery, suspense. It kept me guessing right to the end - I thought I nad it all worked out at one point and...well... How wrong could I be?!

I liked the characters in the book. I see other reviewers found Diana to be too weak as a person, but I didn't find this. I found her not to be as strong willed as Rachel, and she had also had alongside her privileges in life suffered from great setbacks. I found her to be believable - everyone in life is different, and I rather liked her character.

I read this book in a couple of days, and it would make great holiday reading. I've now read two books by this author and hope to read more!

Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of suspense and surprises xxx, 24 July 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Paperback)
Tasmina Perry for me, is always a must read. When I think of her books I think of glamour, mystery, passion and an addictive story line, and this latest release is exactly what her readers are wanting!

To everyone outside looking in, it seems as though Julian and Diana have the most perfect lives and the word at their feet, they seem to have everything they could ever want. But in reality life isn't as rosy at it seems. After Julian dies very suddenly and unexpectedly, Diana suspects that there is more to it than meets the eye. Desperate for answers and to discover the truth, she makes the phonecall that she never wanted to - to her sister Rachel. Rachel used to be a tabloid reporter, and although she pretends to be living the dream, the truth is that she was driven from her career after the phone hacking scandal, and has become estranged from her family. But Rachel is determined to make up for the past and uncover the truth...

I absolutely loved Deep Blue Sea! Having been a huge fan of Tasmina Perry for many years I always look forward to her new releases with so much excitement, and let me tell you it is SUCH a joy to have been able to once again delve into the wonderful world of Tasmina's stories. I was hooked as soon as I read the description on the back of the book, I was really intrigued as to what could have happened to Julian and I was keen to start reading! I started Deep Blue Sea one morning and I finished it in two sittings - I was so involved in the novel and gripped by what was happening, I couldn't put it down and found I was carrying the book around with me everywhere, reading at every moment I could!

The plot line is fantastic, there was a great air of mystery around Julian and the truth about what had really happened, and I so intrigued! Throughout the story, I kept trying to guess what had happened only for Tasmina Perry to throw another curve ball and twist my way, leaving me both surprised and suspecting something else entirely! Tasmina kept me guessing and guessing again and I genuinely didn't know which turn the novel would take next, so I desperately wanted to read on as I just had to know the ending!

Deep Blue Sea is a riveting book full of suspense, intrigue, and twists and turns that you won't see coming. Deep Blue Sea surprised me, made my heart race and I'm certain that fans of Tasmina Perry will enjoy this! A fantastic read for the summer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do come on holiday with me, Tasmina!, 8 July 2014
By 
Mrs. Katharine Kirby "Kate" (HELSTON, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Nice to meet you, and I look forward to a long friendship.

Yes, although my first of Tasmina's this certainly won't be my last. She writes with a similar esprit and style as Penny Vincenzi. The Deep Blue Sea has its contrasts frm the word go, the high life of the rich, powerful and successful, against the satisfyingly simple days of a scuba/freediver currently based on a Thai island. All deliciously wish fulfilment territory.

Two sisters, Diana and Rachel, have been estranged for several years, since one seemingly sat back and allowed a scandal to break loose in her press about the other. Their spikey mother Sylvia has taken wounded Diana's side, feathering her nest as a sideline. Julian, Diana's husband is a CEO of the Denver Group, his huge family firm. He has adopted Charlie, Diana's son from another relationship, as his own. Tasmina is brill at bringing to life her characters, especially the young with whom she has a deep affinity.

The beginning sees all fine and set fair, a fairy tale party, a so called 'small event' for sixty guests taking place. You can hear the chink of the delicate champagne glasses and watch the hired caterers passing amongst the diners with delicious treats. Repartee, the flashes of jewels, the gentle goading of friends to plan more and more daring holidays...

What happens next takes the whole book to sort out. Rachel's journalism skills and contacts have to be dusted off and reapplied. Settle down on your sun bed, snuggle into your hammock, relax under an umbrella, prepare to be drawn into a mystery that will have you gasping with surprise. Armchair travel of the most exciting variety, you are off to New York, Thailand, Venice, Jamaica, Rome, Naples and London. Allow yourself to be driven down to 'Somerfold' in Oxfordshire, a mini Downton. This is where Ex Cinderella Diana holds sway, but be warned her ugly sister in law Elizabeth is out to cause her heartbreak on top of terrible grief.

I took this beach to El Campello and we had a jolly good time. Straight after I'd put it down reluctantly with a sigh, my sister and our friend read it to. We all agreed it is a very good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Err, more like green countryside and grey London, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Joey (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is my second TP book and was looking forward to a bit of escapism.

Rachel and Diana are sisters. The book begins with them comforting each other as their dad leaves the family and then fast forwards to present day where Rachel is a diving instructor in Thailand and Diana is a trophy wife back in the UK. The sisters are estranged but come together when Diana's husband dies and she asks Rachel to investigate.

The book is readable enough but it made me very impatient in places, and not in a good way. I was perplexed by Sylvia, the mother, who had lived a seemingly "normal" life up until Diana's marriage to a billionaire. Within the space of a few years she is a constantly groomed woman who thinks that a tranquilizer or sedative will solve every ill...it just seemed that the TP wanted the family to have a working class background to give them "depth" but the modern day versions of themselves just did not sit well with their past in my opinion.

I found the story quite slow in a lot of places and repetitive and as with the first TP book I read, ended up skimming it. Diana was a very pathetic character, lots of over the top emotions and when it got to her slumping in the street after visiting her evil sister in law I just wanted to shake some sense into her.

Very little of the story was set anywhere tropical and I can't understand why it was given this title. For what I thought was going to be an easy read, I found myself ploughing through it and only finished it as I knew I had to review it. This book just wasn't for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Kindle Edition)
From the beginning of the story till the end I was hooked. Brilliant story line and good twists and turns def a 5 star plus!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not her best but still a great story, 18 July 2013
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Tasmina Perry has been on my must read list for some time now. With her latest release Deep Blue Sea (being her 8th release) out; I was looking forward to delving into another rich and glamorous story. The premise sounds great, with a wealthy couple Diana and Julian Denver seemingly having it all. However, when Julian commits suicide Diana realises she needs to reach out to her estranged sister for help.

Rachel is Diana's sister and is currently living in Thailand following the death of her career surrounding a phone hacking scandal. When Diana reaches out for help, Rachel decides it's high time to try and make amends with her family. And so begins a journey across many countries to find the answers behind Julian's death. As usual Tasmina Perry certainly weaves a great tale; however I had real issues with Diana. Rachel I really liked, especially as she was the underdog, but Diana was just too frail and pathetic for my liking.

With that one small flaw out the way, I can honestly say the story itself certainly didn't disappoint. There is a lot of mystery and intrigue and the more questions Rachel asks, the more questions it raises too. There were a few additional characters I really liked such as Rachel's business partner Liam and her old colleague Ross. There were lost of dark and murky elements to the storyline including affairs, drugs and contested will. Overall it was again what I would rate a success from Perry, however it lacked that certain something to make it a 5 star read from me. Still a solid 4/5 book and one that I think her fans will love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring and Predictable, 29 Aug 2014
By 
Sandford "Sandy" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This novel lit no fires for me. Less than exciting, with certainly no surprises, I found it corny, weak, and mawkishly sentimental in places. Frankly, this was a boring read and very predictable.

The interactions between the characters feel uncomfortably stilted and embarrassingly cloying at times. The personalities are two-dimensional, wooden and superficial. These adults often behave as petulant adolescents, with occasional histrionics and a spattering of high expressed emotion thrown in for good measure.

I feel the main problem here is that the novel doesn’t know whether it wants to appeal to a “Mills and Boon” audience, or people who enjoy reading thrillers and crime novels. The result is a fall between two stalls, so not really succeeding in either camp. I was going to give it a 3 star, as I did manage to reach the end, expecting it to gain apace. However the ending was disappointing, where it just seemed to fizzle out, hence the final 2 star rating.

This is a negative review, but I have to add that if this book was grabbed at short notice from the airport bookshop, then for a poolside read, it would be quite acceptable as light weight escapism for a few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captured my imagination, 1 Oct 2013
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Paperback)
Firstly I'd like to thank the publishers for sending me this book to read and give an honest review.

The opening of the storyline was a quick but informative scene from Diana and Rachel's childhood, I felt like I knew their personalities rather well even from just a few pages. Fast-forward to the present day and the sisters lives couldn't have been more different, they also appeared to have fallen out with each other and this was something I was keen to find out the reason for. A hugely traumatic event in Diana's life brought the two of them back together and this is when the adventure began.

The author covered some hard-hitting subjects but it had been written in an easy, comfortable style which made it a pleasure to read. I was reeled in to the characters lives until I felt as desperate as Diana to find out the reason for the unexpected event. As Rachel began to investigate I was captivated by the many twists and turns - I could never predict what was around the corner.

Trips to Chesil Beach and Beaulieu reminded me of my own visits to those places and brought a familiar touch to the storyline. I also liked the way the author created fantastic chemistry between the characters, there were times when I was holding my breath in anticipation.

Towards the end I thought I had figured out the big mystery but I was completely thinking in the wrong direction and the heart-pounding conclusion shocked me, this book will keep you guessing until the very end!

This was a fantastic read that really captured my imagination - a mystery with heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Beanie Luck Spud (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What can i possible say that hasn't already been echoed by other reviewers?

Absolutely nothing.

The book is entertaining to read, engaging, draws you in and keeps you hooked until the final turning of the last page.

Is it a 5 star book ?? Not in my opinion, that's reserved for truly outstanding life changing books, but this is definitely a 4 star 8/10.

Loved it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Humdrum, 7 Sep 2013
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Paperback)
This latest book by Tasmina Perry is a real let-down. It started off very interesting and as I read I decided Perry had got her writing skill back (after the dreadful Perfect Strangers). However, a couple of chapters in, and it was not to be. The plot is one that has been done over and over by authors in the past, and although nothing wrong with that in that apparently "there are no new plots", Perry never made it intriguing. Perry's earlier books are meaty and good chick lit entertainment. Perhaps it's time to put aside the "mystery'/crime" angle she is going for and back to the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deep Blue Sea
Deep Blue Sea by Tasmina Perry
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews