Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now it is Callie's turn for a story...
The story begins the day after a lavish gala hosted by the Hall Foundation. Callie Burke is an art conservator who had just been handed a job offer that could easily make her career! Grace Woodward Hall introduced Callie to Jackson "Jack" Walker during the gala. Jack had just purchased back a famous painting that had been sold off by his own father years ago. Knowing...
Published on 12 Feb. 2004 by Detra Fitch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars boring
This book was a felt a bit boring to me, the romance fell flat and I kept waiting for some plot to form which never did. The main characters, callie was great and fully formed but jacks character to me felt one sided. There seemed as if bits of the story had been cut out in places and they probably would have made the story more interesting.
JR Ward is a favourite...
Published 12 months ago by mari


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now it is Callie's turn for a story..., 12 Feb. 2004
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The story begins the day after a lavish gala hosted by the Hall Foundation. Callie Burke is an art conservator who had just been handed a job offer that could easily make her career! Grace Woodward Hall introduced Callie to Jackson "Jack" Walker during the gala. Jack had just purchased back a famous painting that had been sold off by his own father years ago. Knowing Grace would not have introduced Callie to work on the conservation of the painting if she was less than excellent, he immediately offers the job. But Callie knows Jack's playboy background and knows danger when she sees it. Even so, she ends up accepting and travels to his mansion, Buona Fortuna, to work on the painting.
The attraction between the two is obvious to those around, including Jack's stuck up mother, Mercedes. Jack became engaged to a lady of his own class only three weeks prior and Mercedes could not have been more displeased to see how Jack reacted to Callie, so beneath him in class. But Jack always gets what he wants and he wants Callie from the moment he first saw her. He is even willing to break off his engagement to prove he prefers Callie.
But is he really a new, improved, socially responsible Jack Walker? Or is he still a playboy? And can he ever accept the secret Callie has kept hidden her entire life?
***** Callie Burke and Jack Walker were introduced in the romantic suspense book, "An Unforgettable Lady", which hit book stores only a few weeks ago. You do not need to read the previous book, which is Grace and John's story, to totally understand this one though. Both books easily stand alone. However, this story will mean more to you if you do read both books. Grace and "John" are secondary characters in this novel, along with another hot bachelor, Gray.
The author succeeds in giving each character their own personality, which is not an easy thing to accomplish! No suspense in this tale, but the plot rolls along at a wonderful pace and the reader never has time to get bored. Recommended to all! Now if only Gray could someday get his own story told. *****
Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read!, 25 May 2010
I stumbled across Jessica Bird recently when I realised that the JR Ward has another pen name and I'm not disappointed!

I LOVE JR Ward's BDB series and the new fallen angels series and was willing to give her contemporary stories under this name a go. So okay, these are not the best contemporary books I've ever read, but they're a pleasurable read and escapsism.

AN IRRISISITIBLE BACHELOR is the second book which comes after AN UNFORGETTABLE LADY and both are great reads. In this book we get Jack's story, whom we met in the first book. The mysterious, suave and charmning man. He's gorgeous. Jack oozes charm and handsomeness throughout the book and his relationship with Callie is filled with passion, warmth and is very touching.

At the start of the book we learn that Jack is engaged to someone else but then as the saying goes, 'anything can happen.' Jack asks Callie (also from the first book) to stay over at his place where she can work on a painting he recently purchased and you can guess what leads from there... Jack's mother is hostile towards Callie and the difference in social class between Callie and Jack is what I loved alot reading this - just goes to show, that opposites do attract!

I really did enjoy this book and I won't go over the summary or the plot with you but will tell you that the story is a MUST read if you like light contemporary romance reads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A romantic novel, 24 Sept. 2013
I could not stop reading An Irresistible Bachelor. It just had my full attention from page one to the very end. I read it before I went to work and I could not wait to pick it back up and start reading it when I got home from work. I found it a pure sexy page turner. An Irresistible bachelor is romantic, hot and sexy. I highly recommend An Irresistable Bachelor to all readers who love romantic novels.
Callie Burke finds her self out of work and is now wondering how she will pay her rent. Calllie is then offered a serious amount of money by multi-billionaire Jack Walker to restore a world-famous painting. Jack Walker a womanizer lives in a huge mansion giving Callie her own studio to restore the painting. Jack who is running for governor is very attractive and very smart and engaged to a woman who he is not in love with. His bitchy mother lives with Jack and takes a dislike to Callie. But Jack is falling in love for red - haired Callie Burke. I have a review on An Irresistible Bachelor on ireadnovels wordpress com. I hope that all readers who read An Irresistible Bachelor enjoy it as much as I have. I would like to wish all readers a very happy reading for what ever book you are reading today. Review by ireadnovels.wordpress.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read., 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Irresistible Bachelor (Kindle Edition)
After searching for hours looking for a good author I discovered J R Ward, brilliant good, will read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jr ward your great !, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Irresistible Bachelor (Kindle Edition)
Very nice , loved every min of it as usual . Ward just has a way of giving you a "cant put the book down" experience !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an irresistible bachelor, 26 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i found this book a lovely romance sent me dreamy, one of J.R Wards best just love the way she makes all her storys so belivable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 5 July 2014
By 
L. H. Roberts "buzzles" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Irresistible Bachelor (Kindle Edition)
Modern version of formulaic quicky version of georgette heyer book. Simplistic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars boring, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Irresistible Bachelor (Kindle Edition)
This book was a felt a bit boring to me, the romance fell flat and I kept waiting for some plot to form which never did. The main characters, callie was great and fully formed but jacks character to me felt one sided. There seemed as if bits of the story had been cut out in places and they probably would have made the story more interesting.
JR Ward is a favourite author of mine and this was such a disapointment to me, I give this a 3* as I cannot give 2.5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars j r ward irresistible bachelor, 8 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
book arrived very quickly and in great condition . enjoyed reading this ,nice easy read and the story was great. i always get attached to the people in the books i read and i would happily read more about these characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I expected, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have to say, was expecting a better novel, love her black dagger and fallen angel series, but this is not a patch on them at all, but saying that, still a good escapism read, great holiday book, beach cocktail and book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Irresistible Bachelor
£3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews