Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this brings back many memories!
i felt i had to wait for years to see this particular "spiderman" cartoon series surface on dvd and what a viewing pleasure it has been! this takes me back many years to the early 1980s when i would rush home from school to see my favourite "marvel" superhero. great days.
all the best villains are here: the green goblin, dr. doom( in 6 episodes no less), doctor...
Published on 27 Mar. 2013 by jeremiah harbottle

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great stories bad picture
The stories are great but the quality of the cartoon is very poor. No effort has ben made to improve the picture quality.
Published 24 months ago by Martin Harbor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this brings back many memories!, 27 Mar. 2013
By 
jeremiah harbottle (Littlebourne, Kent.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spider-Man 5000 Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
i felt i had to wait for years to see this particular "spiderman" cartoon series surface on dvd and what a viewing pleasure it has been! this takes me back many years to the early 1980s when i would rush home from school to see my favourite "marvel" superhero. great days.
all the best villains are here: the green goblin, dr. doom( in 6 episodes no less), doctor octopus, the sandman, kingpin and many others. i feel that the writers and animators have done a good job in re-creating the drama and action that is in the comics.
the plots are fairly straightforward but that doesn't bother me in the slightest. the theme music is one of the best i've heard out of all the superhero cartoons i have seen. it is a catchy and well-written piece.
the animation in "spiderman" is exactly the same as in the other series around the same year, "spiderman and his amazing friends." i'm guessing that some of the same production crew worked on both.
as the previous review mentioned, i hope that the first 2 volumes of "spiderman" 1981 have been improved as the colour problem was fairly evident, sadly.
however, it is a mere quibble and shalln't affect my enjoyment of this classic superhero cartoon series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great stories bad picture, 4 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider-Man 5000 Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The stories are great but the quality of the cartoon is very poor. No effort has ben made to improve the picture quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Harmless rubbish, 27 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. M. Odoni (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider-Man 5000 Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
There were two Spider-Man cartoon series made in 1981; Spider-Man & His Amazing Friends, which everyone remembers, and this series of solo adventures, which seems to have fallen through the gap. In truth, I remember as a kid preferring the solo series, but it came as a shock to the system watching this DVD and realising just how bad a series it was. The writing is infantile, the artwork scrappy, and some of the animation actually manages to be inferior to the animation from the 1960s cartoon that this is (supposedly) a sequel to.

Most episodes are self-contained, but the characterisation is so short-hand and generic that it really makes no difference at all which guest villain is the 'bad-guy-of-the-week'. They may have different voice actors, but they are all portrayed as having exactly the same megalomaniac, 'I-want-to-rule-the-world-for-no-particular-reason-and-now-nothing can stop me!!!' personality. And the way they're performed is always so stagey that you can't help but cringe. Meanwhile, Spidey himself is very much portrayed as the least interesting form his character ever took - an over-relaxed smart alec with a very trite, ill-timed quip on standby for even the most violent occasion.

There is a story arc running through about six or seven of the episodes, featuring Dr Doom in twin power struggles - one for control of the United Nations (winning which, for some reason, Doom seems unswervingly convinced will make him ruler of the world - clearly no one has ever explained to him that the UN is a forum and not a Government), and the other against a resistance movement in his native Latveria. This arc doesn't really follow any logical or coherent pattern as it (half-)progresses though, and all it therefore does is give the impression that Doom is being used too often. Why not give Dr Octopus or the Green Goblin another outing instead? They seem very short-changed by this series in comparison.

The only real strength the series has is that some of the music is terrific. It has an excellent title tune (only slightly spoiled by the over-the-top fanfare at the very beginning, and the condescending insistence on having Stan Lee call out "SPIDER-MAAAAAN!" both at the beginning and the end of the titles. Marvel Productions must have assumed that none of its audience can read, even though most of them would have been comic-book readers), and some very fine incidental music. The notorious 'generic rock song', which will be very familiar to viewers of the other Spider-Man series, and to viewers of The Transformers cartoons from a few years later, can start to grate, seeing how often it is used to give the impression that there's a party/concert in progress, but listened to in isolation it's actually quite a good track.

All-in-all, this series is one of those things you can have playing in the background while you're doing something else, to give the room a bit of atmosphere. You won't do nearly so well if you go so far as to pay close attention to it while it's on.

On the other hand, I still prefer it to S-M&HAF, if only because, for the entire duration of the DVD, I never once have to endure watching the 'token-cute-companion' Miss Lyon, nor do I have to endure listening to three grown adults, who really should be old enough to know better, clamouring in cheesy voices, "SPIDER-FRIENDS... GO FOR IT!"

Ouch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider-Man 5000 Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I love old cartoons thank you for having it and very reasonably priced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider-Man 5000 Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
wonderful product great package well done amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider-Man 5000 Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Bought it for my Friends Stepson a he loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spiderman 5000 review, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider-Man 5000 Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
i was very pleased with this dvd box set.i watched this cartoon as a child and loved it.it was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider-Man 5000 Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I'm glad I chose this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider-Man 5000 Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
little girl loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There are Clear Episodes, Just not from Clear Vision, 3 Aug. 2014
By 
Mark A. Fair - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider-Man 5000 Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The Complete series is just the Clear Vision 4 disc sets in 1 case. There are NO improvements. The transfers are left with flaws. Clear vision transferred from film but in disc 1 and 2 as mentioned there is a breakdown in video with Episodes 4 "Curiosity Killed the Spider-Man" and Episode 7 "Pied Piper of New York Town" being the worst of them.

There exist clean quality transfers that Netflix had on their site for a short time, however they never allowed them on DVD. I personally wasn't at the time setup to capture them streaming, but if they make a reappearance ... I am ready.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spider-Man 5000 Complete Collection [DVD]
£7.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews