Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent foundation for investment
I've long suspected that a bit of effort and intelligence are enough for understanding the main areas of finance and investment. One doesn't actually need to pay "experts" to make your investment decisions for you. The jargon is only something you need to learn, it does not have to present an insurmountable barrier. Before attempting to understand the financial pages...
Published on 11 Oct 2006 by C. Pegler

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
The digital edition of this book is not what I am expected. Although it's much easier to carry and read on the move compared to the printed book. The diagrams are not clear and quite small so difficult to read. In addition, the words and diagram relating to the content are not in the same page. I should've bought a printed one. And the price is not cheap, over 10 pounds...
Published 10 months ago by Summer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for beginners, 1 Jan 2010
Anyone thinking of putting money into silly, overtly complicated financial products offered by 'financial experts' should read this book! It will allow you to think more about where your hard earned money should go.

Extensive and transparent.

Some concepts may need more reading up on since they are not explained as easily as they could be. Although that could be just my lack of intellect!

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction, 18 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book to be excellent in its introduction of how the stock market works, with introductory analysis on everything from gilts to bonds, from warrants to futures. The text is interspersed with examples from the financial Times of the relevant tables, with notes to show what each symbol or number means. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in learning more about the stock market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My new Bible, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I come from an investment background, having managed my own shares portfolio since university and worked in the investment management arm of a private bank last year. However I am not an expert, and wanted to gear up to studying the IMC with something that would be both a good reference for what I do know and a tutorial for what I don't. This book absolutely hits all the spots. What's remarkable is just how easy to read it is - not because it's dumbed down; it's the clarity with which the authors write, avoiding overcomplicating the subject matter and easing into jargon in such a way that it all just makes sense.

My proof is that I bought this at the same time as Dostoevsky's 'The Idiot' and Freakonomics. Despite starting both to begin with, the FT Guide rapidly became the one I consistently wanted to pick up and spend a few hours with a coffee and just engrossing myself with. It's both a good read, and easy to just pick up and refer to a term or topic when needed and always informs with clarity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly readable!, 5 Dec 2011
By 
N. Anderson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Prior to picking up this book I should point out that I have (had!) no background in economics at all. I was merely someone who was looking to invest, as savings accounts in the UK were a waste of time and I wanted to investigate more practical uses for my money.

The first point I'd like to make about this book is that it is surprisingly readable. I don't just mean the author's very straightforward and non overly-technical prose, but also the dimensions and layout of the print which makes it a very comfortable read. The sections are all well laid out and if perhaps you want to look up advice on company accounts, the meanings of particular financial jargon, etc. then it's all very straightforward to find.

The second point is that the book does a superb job at introducing absolute beginners to the concepts of investments and markets. This is NOT a book of tips or short-cuts to investment success (you know those websites that pop-up in your face with pay-to-subscribe tips for investments). In fact, the only times specific companies are mentioned is in the past tense when illustrating a historical point about their finances or reports.

This book is for those who don't want to pick out companies at random, or take 'punts' or 'tips', but who wish to look into reports for themselves and try to understand (as far as reason and resources allow) how a company is performing before going in for investment. A truly excellent book that I originally feared would bore me to tears!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 10 Dec 2010
By 
I am an engineer with no experiences in the field of business, stock market or finance and I understood this book completely. It is absolutely for a beginner who wants to know about investing in stock market and moving about in investments. This book will provide with all the basic knowledge and terminologies for understanding investments in stock markets, glits, bond, and it also gives a basic introduction to financial accounting and interpreting company records. But just this one book won't make you a millionaire or a star investor because it requires a lot of hard work and effort to reach that level. This book is a basic course on what are investments and the various instruments operating in the finance market. But you need to increase your knowledge by researching with websites and reading more books if you want to attain the level of a 'star investor'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!, 4 Nov 2010
Excellent read, can never get bored reading this book as it is a varied and a very interesting reference to the world of investing. Its simplicity yet deep coverage makes it ideal for beginners or seasoned investors. A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and readable, 18 Mar 2010
By 
JG (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clear guide to the operation of the financial markets.

Covered a great many areas and clarified a lot subjects so that I can invest my savings with a degree of confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Investing, 21 Oct 2009
A very good read for first time investors who have always been curious about investing in the stock market but have been overwhelmed by the number of different ways to invest and the financial Jargon This book will not make the reader the next warren buffet but it will make the reader aware of the different ways that one can invest and from this information the reader can come to her or his own conclusion on the best way to make money from investing. One of many great books I have recently bought from Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Review, 7 Oct 2011
Extremely helpful book.
Easy to understand, the author assumes little or no understanding of financial jargon and gradually introduces these using a examples which make perfect sense.

This book would have gotten 5 stars if it included online guide to resources like some of Glens other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Financial Times Guide to Investing: The definitive companion to investment and the financial markets (The FT Guides) (Kindle Edition)
It can be used as an investing bible for both novice and professional investor alike. If you want to learn how to value a company for example, everything is in there to help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews