Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great preparation
I had to take a verbal reasoning test as part of a selection process and found this book a really useful way to prepare. There were loads of practice questions, and very clear answer explanations so I could see where I was going wrong.
Published on 3 July 2010 by flibbertygibbet

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not very operational
The book is good and summarizes the mechanics of these tests. It's educative and well written. However it tackles many diferent types of tests thus providing little training for real life situations where generally one needs to focus more in one or two kinds of tests and difficulty levels according to which exam he/she is preparing to. The Alan Redman book is a good...
Published 19 months ago by straight.critical


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great preparation, 3 July 2010
I had to take a verbal reasoning test as part of a selection process and found this book a really useful way to prepare. There were loads of practice questions, and very clear answer explanations so I could see where I was going wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very highly recommended, 5 May 2014
I have found this book to be very very useful. I have had no experience of verbal reasoning before I purchased the book so everything that is written inside really is invaluable to me. I would say that the advice given at the very start of Chapter 2 (on page 17)where there is the suggestion that the book should be read over a period of time is very sound advice that should be adhered with. Furthermore, all of the brilliant tips have been useful as well. I cannot recommend this book highly enough as it has given me very good knowledge and a much greater understanding of a subject that was previously an alien concept to me. As a direct result of this knowledge and understanding my job prospects will, without doubt, significantly improve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 13 Nov 2011
Its a good book. I bought it to help improve my verbal reasoning for the UKCAT test. Surprisingly, i didnt do too well in the verbal reasoning section of the test but i dont blame it on this book.
I have learnt a lot about verbal reasoning and as u go into the harder sections of this book, its a lot more interesting because the first part with the easy questions are just too easy and i think no test will have questions that easy.

Overall its a decent book, but i think they could have avoided putting in the easy parts and give more harder questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful. Would recommend, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great wee book. Has lots of examples, and then the answers are fully explained. Would definitely recommend for exams and tests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Tips in Part 1, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Verbal Reasoning Tests: Everything you need to know to pass verbal reasoning tests (Brilliant Business) (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this book in preparation for a job application, without realising any of the tests in the second half were relevant to me. It appears my particular verbal reasoning test isn't covered, however I did find Part 1 quite useful. It explored several different tips and strategies, which I believe will come in useful for the test.

The only major downside is that it is quite repetitive. I understand that the author wanted to place an emphasis on "practice makes perfect" (or near enough), but he did also appear to state the obvious and then re-state it on quite a few occasions. Overall, great book--especially for those opting for graduate recruitment programs that feature the same form of verbal reasoning as UKCAT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not very operational, 25 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is good and summarizes the mechanics of these tests. It's educative and well written. However it tackles many diferent types of tests thus providing little training for real life situations where generally one needs to focus more in one or two kinds of tests and difficulty levels according to which exam he/she is preparing to. The Alan Redman book is a good option with well designed tests, but again check if your goal is best served by a more specific book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It covers UKCAT but not to any great extent., 4 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as a little bit of extra prep for the UKCAT (so ignore this if you want to buy the book for some other verbal test, since I ignored the other sections).

It gives damn good advice on the Verbal Reasoning section and manages to deal with the debacle when to make a logical deduction and when to state that you lack enough evidence. It also gives some insight into the types of statement-passage pairings which give rise to false over can' tell responses.

However, as it will take you about 30-40 mins to devour the entire UKCAT section, it does seem hard to justify the price.

OVERALL:
ONLY BUY IT FOR THE UKCAT IF YOU ARE REALLY STRUGGLING WITH VR AND NEED ALL THE HELP YOU CAN GET, or if you can afford to splash out the cash without any worries, in which case, buy it and see for yourself.

Final thought:
The VR section is quite challenging and getting the fine balance right is very difficult (in addition to fine-tuning your perceptiveness), the 600 practice question book is quite good as is the 'how to pass the UKCAT' - although the latter has significant flaws, so much so that others would recommend not buying it at all (see the reviews if you want an explanation).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waqar, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very poor, it is simply far too easy to well with this book. It will give you a false sense of hope in any verbal reasoning test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews