Customer Reviews


353 Reviews
5 star:
 (259)
4 star:
 (82)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


107 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kidde 7DCO Carbon Monoxide Alarm - Good product, but beware the instruction manual
My initial impression is of a well made product which performs correctly, only over time will the reliability become apparent. However, do be aware that the the first issue of the instruction manual contains errors. Shortly after receipt of the unit I attempted to operate the peak level and peak level reset functions (following the instructions in the manual). None of the...
Published 13 months ago by Peter Smithers

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Developed a fault within a month.
The detector was easy to install. It showed 0 levels of CO for a month, before going off repeatedly.
We checked the house with other detectors - there is no detectable CO in the house. The alarm even went off in the garden.

We returned it as faulty after about a month's usage.
Published 6 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

107 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kidde 7DCO Carbon Monoxide Alarm - Good product, but beware the instruction manual, 5 Mar 2013
By 
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidde 7DCOC 10 Years Carbon Monoxide Alarm Digital (DIY & Tools)
My initial impression is of a well made product which performs correctly, only over time will the reliability become apparent. However, do be aware that the the first issue of the instruction manual contains errors. Shortly after receipt of the unit I attempted to operate the peak level and peak level reset functions (following the instructions in the manual). None of the described functions worked. I reported this to Amazon as a faulty unit and, full marks to Amazon, a replacement was dispatched within 24 hours.
Horror of horrors, the replacement also 'failed to operate'. A phone call to Kidde yielded the information that the instructions given in #6, page 14 of the manual are incorrect and should be corrected as follows:

1. There is no backlight for the display.
2. To zero the peak level memory hold down the peak level button and then press and release the test button, then release the peak level button.

I hope that this information proves to be of use.

Peter Smithers C Eng. MIET
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kidde Carbon Monoxide Alarm, 9 Feb 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidde 7DCOC 10 Years Carbon Monoxide Alarm Digital (DIY & Tools)
A compact and well made alarm the 7DCOC not only provides an audible warning but also gives a digital read-out for the
level of carbon monoxide present. This is an excellent product which any safety conscious person should buy.
An additional benefit is that it has a working life of ten years, as opposed to 5 or 7 years offered by other alarms.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seems good, 12 Mar 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidde 7DCOC 10 Years Carbon Monoxide Alarm Digital (DIY & Tools)
As per usual great delivery from Amazon.

This alarm seems to be just what I wanted, and at a reasonable price.

Easy to follow instructions; I had it up and running very quickly.

On checking the "Peak Level" reading (which I expected to be "0") it read "19".
I followed the instruction booklet to zero this reading, but then got a Peak Level of "21".
In case the meter/alarm was faulty I rang the 0800 number for Kidde. I was informed there is a "known error" and to ignore the instruction booklet!
SO...
... In case you have the same issue, ignore the booklet and do the following:

1: Press and hold the "Peak Level" button.
2: Press the "Test/Reset" button once and release it.
3: Release the Peak level button.
4: Wait a few seconds (without pressing anything) and then press the "Peak Level" button. It SHOULD be zero "0".

Apart from that blip all now appears OK.
Of course it's hard to rate this product (until such time as there is an actual Carbon Dioxide leak).
With a 10 year expected life span this meter/alarm gives a degree of Peace of Mind.
It seems well made and the alarm is loud.
My only other suggestion/recommendation is - don't drill holes in your walls, use double sided sticky pads (NOT supplied).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detects dangerous levels. Peak level measurments questionable., 3 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Kidde 7DCOC 10 Years Carbon Monoxide Alarm Digital (DIY & Tools)
I tested this under a glass bowl with a tealight candle as the CO source and with the lip of the bowl resting on a teaspoon to allow some oxygen in to maintain the candle burn. After about 3-5 min the display read 56 ppm and steadily increased to 200 ppm after about another 7 min. At this point the alarm sounded. I removed the bowl and moved the alarm away from the candle which resulted in the CO reading decreasing at a relatively quick rate. The last reading was 36 ppm before it returned to 0 as the unit is designed to give a minimum reading of only 30 ppm in continuous monitoring mode. Thus I'm happy the unit can detect dangerous levels of CO and less dangerous levels (for adults) of 30-50ppm in continuous monitoring mode.

The peak level readings are questionable as over the course of 4 hours with our gas furnace running (exhausted to the outside) the peak readings were 17, 17, 28, & 17 on one unit and 29, 28, 17 on another unit. Similar results (15-30 ppm) were obtained for the unit sitting outside (not near traffic). So either my home and local outside atmosphere has unusually high CO levels or the peak level readings are not so accurate. Hence only 4 stars.

Overall I'm confident this product will keep our little girl safe in the advent of a dangerous CO leak but will be contacting the company regarding the peak level accuracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carbon Monoxide Alarm, 24 Feb 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidde 7DCOC 10 Years Carbon Monoxide Alarm Digital (DIY & Tools)
Easy to install, just fit batteries, drill two holes insert the screws and job done.
Will give me peace of mind as I work away from home and know my family will be warned in the event of a build up of CO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peace of Mind, 10 Mar 2013
By 
S. Thomas - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidde 7DCOC 10 Years Carbon Monoxide Alarm Digital (DIY & Tools)
This is a battery operated carbon monoxide detector that can either be wall mounted (wall plugs and screws supplied) or free-standing. It offers a clear and very audible alert should CO levels rise to dangerous levels (red flashing light accompanied by a loud alarm) as well as reassuring displays (green flashing light and CO reading in the LED panel) that all is well.

The detector is supplied with the three AAA batteries it needs for setting up, so there is no excuse not to use it straightaway. Whilst I am using mine primarily in the home, I also intend to take it away on holidays for added peace of mind. The alarm sounds when the last of the batteries has been inserted so you will have an idea of what it sounds like and the cover can only be closed (easily anyway) when the batteries are present, minimising the potential to forget to replace these when necessary. Battery insertion is the only setting up the unit needs and you are then free to place it in the monitoring location.

A detailed manual is supplied that outlines where to locate your monitor and it is suggested that one is placed on each level of a house, between 2 and 4 metres from a fuel burning appliance, out of draughts.

A green light flashes periodically in the 'operate' window to indicate CO levels are being monitored and the current level is displayed in a small panel. If either 'Err' or 'End' are displayed in the panel the monitor needs to be replaced. If activated, the alarm will sound accompanied by a red flashing light. Weekly testing is encouraged (be prepared for a ten second loud alarm when you press the 'test/reset') and you can also check peak CO levels with another button press although only readings above 11ppm register (30ppm is apparently a non-dangerous level that can occur due to nearby heavy traffic, for example).

Other than when testing and (once) due to an inadvertent press of the test button when dusting, my alarms have never sounded but their presence provides peace of mind that CO levels are being checked and there is nothing to worry about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A useful item to have, 1 Mar 2013
By 
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidde 7DCOC 10 Years Carbon Monoxide Alarm Digital (DIY & Tools)
I'm very impressed with the build quality & the digital display function showing the current level of carbon monoxide is reassuring.

Its smart enough to be mounted on a wall and best kept between 2 & 4 meters a potential source. It's powered by AA size batteries which can easily be replaced.

What I plan to do is take it with me on holiday too - I might sound paranoid but you are never sure of what the safety is like in a hotel or rented cottage - particularly abroad.

Even in tents people have been killed by fumes from smouldering barbecues overnight.

For 16 it will keep you safe & is guaranteed for 10 years - carbon monoxide is a silent killer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saves Lives, 28 Oct 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidde 7DCOC 10 Years Carbon Monoxide Alarm Digital (DIY & Tools)
I took delivery on Friday and connected up ok and read 0 ppm CO. Next morning cooked breakfast and noticed reading of 71 ppm and peak 91. In the instructions alarm comes on at 197 ppm, so this explained reason for alarm not sounding but showing reading. Called National Gas and they came out straight away. Gas checked out ok but on checking gas grill on gas cooker my Kiddie read up to 94 and Gas man's alarm also went off and showed similar reading of CO. The manual says 100 ppm can cause nausea and headaches. My wife has been suffering headaches for about 3/4 years and doctors could find no real reason (despite head scans etc) so maybe this is cause! Anyway really glad of this Kiddie CO monitor and outcome even though I have had to get a new gas cooker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Developed a fault within a month., 27 Sep 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidde 7DCOC 10 Years Carbon Monoxide Alarm Digital (DIY & Tools)
The detector was easy to install. It showed 0 levels of CO for a month, before going off repeatedly.
We checked the house with other detectors - there is no detectable CO in the house. The alarm even went off in the garden.

We returned it as faulty after about a month's usage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alarm lasts 10 years, not the batteries, 9 Mar 2013
By 
J. Needham (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidde 7DCOC 10 Years Carbon Monoxide Alarm Digital (DIY & Tools)
Just one note to anyone who buys this and (like many smoke alarms) expects batteries to last 10 years. They don't.

The description is ambiguous, you chuck the alarm away after 10 years, but change the batteries X number of times in the meantime.

Nothin to say about the rest of it, because it hasn't needed to save my life yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa712c660)

This product

Only search this product's reviews