Customer Reviews


621 Reviews
5 star:
 (435)
4 star:
 (100)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great watch
Very moving film thoroughly enjoyed it hard to believe its a true story well worth watching have a hankie ready
Published 23 months ago by Lynn

versus
37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A drama over a thriller
If, like me, you've become accustomed to Hollywood's recent obsession with disaster movies, then you might have expected The Impossible to be more of a fast-paced, tension-driven thriller about people trying to survive against the elements. However, this is actually more of a thoughtful, uplifting piece. Yes, we have some special effects near the beginning where a huge...
Published on 9 May 2013 by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great watch, 4 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Impossible [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Very moving film thoroughly enjoyed it hard to believe its a true story well worth watching have a hankie ready
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


145 of 154 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-warming film, 9 Feb. 2013
By 
Alex Lay "Alex" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this in cinema TWICE. That's ONE EXTRA TIME People!
In case you sleep-surfed the internet and found yourself on the reviews of Amazon to a film you've never heard of, The Impossible is based around one family who are on Holiday in Thailand when the Tragic Tsunami of 2004 hit.
Before seeing the film, I'd watched the trailer and thought 'Wow, that looks good. The special effects look amazing', but I also thought 'After the Tsunami has hit, what happens for the rest of the film? It could get really boring...'

Well, that was wrong and partly because I never really understood what happened that day.
I had no idea how many people were killed (and injured).
It's not just Water, is it?
Debris potentially hitting you at high speed.
Could be fatal.

The cast is fantastic.
The acting is as good as it gets, particularly from new-to-film Actor Tom Holland who takes centre stage as eldest Son, Lucas.
This is no bore fest.
It's one of those great films that leaves you pondering your own life and feeling grateful for your family and loved ones.
A very emotional and touching film.
I really wanted the family to come together again.
I'll be buying this when it's released.

Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Impossible - inspiring and unexpected, 13 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Impossible [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The Impossible is a film about a family who take a holiday to Thailand at Christmas. Little did they know that one of the world's biggest tsunamis' was about to hit them. When it does hit them the whole family is split apart by this gigantic wave.

The film stars Naomi Watts and Ewan McGregor, who play their roles beautifully as the mother (Maria Bennett) and father (Henry Bennett) to three children. This film also stars newcomer Tom Holland who plays the oldest son, (Lucas Bennett) who has to take care of his mum because of her brutal injures.
The scene where the tsunami hits is brilliantly shot, yet so harrowing. The heartbreaking scene where Maria and Lucas try to reach out to each other while being swept away crashing into trees, cars and other dangerous objects, is shattering. It was also devastating when Maria's injuries are revealed and Lucas sees his mother as he has never seen her before.

The special effects in this film are extraordinary, and I wasn't expecting the effect that it would have on me, and I would defy anyone who isn't moved by this astonishing piece of film making.

This film is inspiring and unexpected; I recommend this film to anyone. Even though there is despair, there is still hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars poignant - must see!!!!!!, 23 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Impossible [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Incredible rendition of the 2004 tsunami aftermath, with a stunning performance from Naomi Watts. If you re looking for a 2112 type movie, you will not find it here because the wave itself is not the focus. However the survival and search for close ones is painfully but marvellously enacted by Naomi Watts and the rest of the cast. Very moving film, sometimes difficult to watch because of the suffering, and incredibly realistic. A must see for sure!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing film, 6 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Impossible [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I didn't know a lot about this film before going to see it but what an experience this film was. The special effects are amazing looking during the tsunami scene at the start, just incredible. The performances of the main cast are incredible especially Tom Holland as Lucas and Naomi Watts as Maria. I'm not usually a fan of Ewan McGregor but here he is incredible as Henry the father.

The film explores the separation of a family in the direct aftermath of the 2004 tsunami and their struggle to survive.

I really don't want to say more other than this is an incredible film well worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'IN THE GRIP OF DESPAIR'- -'HOPE PREVAILS', 4 May 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'Boxing Day' 2004 ...I remember, as I am certain many if not all
of you do....watching the catastrophic events unfold, in disbelief
and in horror, a harsh reminder of natures fury.
so many lost so quickly.........the film based on real events
following the experience of the 'Bennett' family who had flown
to a idyllic coastal resort in 'Thailand' as of course did so many more,
to bask in the sunshine during the festive season.
when the Tsunami hit the family became separated, 'Maria' and eldest son
'Lucas' manage to stay in sight of each other as they are swept inland.
they have no way of knowing what had become of husband and father 'Henry'
and younger siblings 'Thomas' and 'Simon'
the film surely captures much of the atmosphere that must have been the
case for all those caught up in the Tragedy.
the film...an often moving, dramatic and often graphic account of desperation,
panic and struggle to survive in the moments during and after the Tsunami struck.
a story of hope and tragedy........'THE IMPOSSIBLE'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing but brilliant, 24 May 2014
By 
It's easy to forget just how much people lose in a disaster like this - people looking for lost loved ones, the lorries piled with bodies, the injuries caused, homes washed away. We sit in our homes watching the drama unfold on the news and we cannot possibly grasp the magnitude of it all. It's all there in this film - plus the acting is superb, even the little kids are fantastic! A true story and well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good film and the family is not American FGS!, 20 April 2015
By 
This review is from: The Impossible [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
An excellent film based on real events. Well acted and gripping - have your hanky ready and also truly up-lifting.
The family IS NOT American as is suggested by some 1 star reviewers on here. Also I am unclear why some feel the film is offensive. It is about a family on holiday in Thailand who get caught up in the tusnami. Yes it could be about a local family but then they would not be speaking English so the film would need to be dubbed or have subtitles. Additionally why is the experience of a holidaying family from the UK any less valid than the locals story.
Some folk are so politically correct it nauseates I am afraid.
A good film.
Oh I watched it on Virgin media but its on terrestrial this coming Sunday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A drama over a thriller, 9 May 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Impossible [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
If, like me, you've become accustomed to Hollywood's recent obsession with disaster movies, then you might have expected The Impossible to be more of a fast-paced, tension-driven thriller about people trying to survive against the elements. However, this is actually more of a thoughtful, uplifting piece. Yes, we have some special effects near the beginning where a huge tidal wave decimates a holiday resort in Thailand, leaving numerous dead or missing, but the rest of the film is about a family who have become separated with each other, undertaking the monumental task of trying to find each other again in the midst of the aftermath.

With Ewan McGreggor and Naomi Watts as leads, you can expect decent performances, but the stand-out character who steals many of the scenes is the young boy who plays their son and shows how he was forced to cope with growing up far sooner than he ever should have.

It's a good film, if you're looking for drama and a real story of survival against the odds. Just don't expect a rollercoaster of excitement with many thrills and spills along the way.

3.5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My New Favorate Film., 11 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Impossible [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Went to see this film with my Nan as i saw the trailer on the TV and thought it looked great.
3 minutes in i started crying untill the end. im a 16 year old boy haha.
was the best film i have ever seen. full of Emotion and inspiring parts.
Give it a watch it won't dissapoint.
My new fav film and Ewan Mcgregor is now my fav Actor.
Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Impossible [DVD] [2013]
The Impossible [DVD] [2013] by Juan Antonio Bayona (DVD - 2013)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews