Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars83
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

A colourful account of India's passage into independence in the middle of the 20th Century concentrating on the children who were born on the eve of independence who shared a special spiritual connection. It gives an insight into the problems encountered at that time - not a mainstream film but very good because of it's historical relevance
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
You will either like the story or not depending on whether you like the way Rushdie writes, but you cannot argue with the way the film is shot - it is truly beautiful and does seem to capture an essence of India
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
If you like Indian Summers now being screened on Channel 4 you'd love this,although Before the Rains is more similarBefore The Rains [DVD] [2008]

Superbly shot,sumptuous throughout and well acted,it is a must for anyone with an interest in India.

For me,it is better as a film about India than a film about Anglo-India than The Jewel in the Crown,A Passage to India,The Far Pavilions et al,being wider in it's scope and ambition,and less pompous and self-righteous than Gandhi.

The mix of history and fantasy can confuse,and the film is not short.It is a shame that because India has still to solve it;s problems that the film is neither Indian made and financed nor Indian filmed.

Only downside is the narration,both irritating and patronising.

If this is your thing,Monsoon WeddingMonsoon Wedding [DVD] is also worthwhile.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
This is not a Bollywood-film, this is a fantastic film based on the book by Salman Rushdi.
The setting is the partition of the Old India into India, Pakistan and eventually Bangladesh.
The story concerns a family afflicted by these events in their everyday life.
I was captivated by the story and was sad when it ended.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
There's just so much that can fit into a film of about 2.5 hours, but this works well. As a film, it's excellent, though perhaps one does need to know something of India's recent history, to appreciate much of the story. It reminds me of my family's sadness at leaving the new, and smaller, Independent India, of the many family friends from India and Pakistan who came to visit, of the stories of the good times they and my parents shared. The film is truly evocative of an India in the convulsions of birth and adolescence. All that's missing is the scent of the country.

This film is special. So, separately for the different medium, is the book. See the film; read the book. Be inspired by both.

Thank you Mr Rushdie-gi.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
This is an interesting story, a mixture of fact and fantasy. It is well acted and beautifully shot. It is a film that can be watched several times.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
I know the book has won many awards, but was put off by anecdotes that it was hard to read. So, when I discovered the film for rent on itunes, I thought I would ease myself into the story with the film first. I really liked this film and am now enthused to read the book in order to learn more about this wonderful and intriguing story - books are nearly always better than the film so I'm looking forward to reading the book!!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A very nice, touching story.

Well played and pleasing on the eye.

Even though the story involves mysticism, the mystical bits are presented very matter-of-fact. A bit like the Japanese fillums like Death Note where the idea of spirits and the like is all completely accepted without any surprise or question.

It's a bit soppy but a good watch if you like that sort of thing. Glad I stumbled upon it.

Reminded me a BIT of Chinese film Aftershock but that's far deeper, more disturbing and without any mystical bits. -I did say only a BIT!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
Another lovely and moving Indian film. Has a bitter sweet quality that is magical at times.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
Beautiful and very different story line. Like a book you can't put down. Very moreish!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)