Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Serious subject, but a good way of telling the difficulties these people have - enjoyable
Serious subject, but a good way of telling the difficulties these people have - enjoyable

The begining of movie was a bit confusing but, I stuck it out and then realised slowly what was happening with the main characters in the movie. Even at the end when you think you know what is going to happen, it didnt. Suspect, its based on true accounts of people...
Published 12 months ago by IM69

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars but a good way of telling the difficulties these people have - ...
Serious subject, but a good way of telling the difficulties these people have - enjoyable

The begining of movie was a bit confusing but, I stuck it out and then realised slowly what was happening with the main characters in the movie. Even at the end when you think you know what is going to happen, it didnt. Suspect, its based on true accounts of people...
Published 2 months ago by j a brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Serious subject, but a good way of telling the difficulties these people have - enjoyable, 13 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Smashed [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Serious subject, but a good way of telling the difficulties these people have - enjoyable

The begining of movie was a bit confusing but, I stuck it out and then realised slowly what was happening with the main characters in the movie. Even at the end when you think you know what is going to happen, it didnt. Suspect, its based on true accounts of people.

But if you ever wonder what effect drink has/could have then watch this movie. Hell, if you think you may/may not be affected indirectly by someone elses drinking problem or your effect on them (is that too heart-string pulling) then watch this movie and decide what you want to do with the rest of your life.

Ian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alcoholism is bad um kay, 15 Aug. 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Smashed [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Kate and Charlie are happily married; well they laugh a lot but that might be due to their excessive alcohol intake. She is a school teacher of young kids and he is a journalist who writes from home. She sometimes needs a `hair of the dog' to get going in the morning, and as any of us who have been there will know' that can cause a bit or a reflux now and then. Well she manages to chunder in the class room and miss the bin - oops.

After managing to lie her way out of the whole episode, the vice principal lets on that he knows she is an alcoholic as indeed is he and invites her to do a twelve step programme. Well after a night where her antics take her to a very dangerous place albeit in a very funny way, she realises that she has to do something. The problem is that once she sobers up she takes a look at her life with Charlie and finds it wanting. Having personally lived around people `who like a drink', when I heard the phrase `I'm sorry I was drunk' being used as a catch all excuse, it really stopped me in my tracks, I think even I have used that on occasion and it is painful to realise how worthless that excuse is.

This is billed as a comedy/drama, and yes it is funny, but it is tragic-comedy and a lot of it is laughing at how pathetic a drunk is and how desperate they can become. Kate is played by Mary Elizabeth Winstead (`Scott Pilgrim vs. the World') and she is completely brilliant and manages to do the drunk bits as both funny and sad. Her husband Charlie is Aaron Paul best known for the TV series `Breaking Bad' as Jesse Pinkman, he is also convincing and compelling in how he tries to change and the interplay between them is excellent. Megan Mullally (Karen from `Will and Grace') plays the Principal and does so straight faced which is just great as a supporting role. The whole thing is well made, brilliantly acted and tackles alcoholism in an honest way and the humour is incidental not the raison d'être, which is just how it is in real life. I know a few alcoholics and the humour gets them through - up to a point, I intend to lend this to a couple of them as it captures real life so well. Highly recommended indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suddenly you won't fancy that glass of wine anymore...., 14 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Smashed (Amazon Instant Video)
This film is excellent. It tells the story of a couple who appear completely in love. However like many couples who have addiction problems, they are toxic for each other. It will give you an insight into what addiction is like for people and will leave you a little heart broken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars but a good way of telling the difficulties these people have - ..., 10 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Smashed (DVD)
Serious subject, but a good way of telling the difficulties these people have - enjoyable

The begining of movie was a bit confusing but, I stuck it out and then realised slowly what was happening with the main characters in the movie. Even at the end when you think you know what is going to happen, it didnt. Suspect, its based on true accounts of people.

But if you ever wonder what effect drink has/could have then watch this movie. Hell, if you think you may/may not be affected indirectly by someone elses drinking problem or your effect on them (is that too heart-string pulling) then watch this movie and decide what you want to do with the rest of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Drinking is serious, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smashed [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I watched it as soon as I received it and I thought it was a good film with a good story.
The drinking and what is does to you makes you realize just how bad it can get and the lies and things a person does when they are an alcoholic.
I thought that when the wife decides to get help and the realization of how bad she was when she was drinking is good and now she sees her husband and his friends drinking is eye opening.
I would recommend it although the ending is strange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good film, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smashed [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I think this is a good film that deals with subject of addiction and how it can creep up on us unawares and threaten to destroy lives if not dealt with in time .moving performances
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smashed [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
very true to life. not glossed over. very raw account and moving to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smashed [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
cant rate this film highly enough. such a wonderful work of art. Great performances all round with the outstanding as ever, Mary Elizabeth Winstead. Good to still see great films being made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge MEW fan, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smashed [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Having watched the luminous actress in horror, I wanted to see her act in a different genre. And she acts her socks off. Aaron Paul is good, and hot, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smashed [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
THANKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smashed [DVD] [2012]
Smashed [DVD] [2012] by James Ponsoldt (DVD - 2013)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews