Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant short films
I was lucky enough to catch this on the big screen and all the shorts are excellent! They were powerful, funny, moving and lived in my head for a long time afterwards - particularly loved 'Scrubber'! Can't wait to see them all again so have already pre-ordered!

Highly recommend you do the same :)
Published 22 months ago by AOB

versus
32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag of British Talent
This is a very mixed bag indeed so I will go through all of the six short films that the BFI have put together for our delectation. The first is `Long distance information' which is well acted and scripted and involves us seeing two scenarios on a Christmas day and a phone conversation between a son and dysfunctional father. Then we have `Man in fear' which is really good...
Published 21 months ago by Tommy Dooley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag of British Talent, 3 Mar 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Joy of Six [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This is a very mixed bag indeed so I will go through all of the six short films that the BFI have put together for our delectation. The first is `Long distance information' which is well acted and scripted and involves us seeing two scenarios on a Christmas day and a phone conversation between a son and dysfunctional father. Then we have `Man in fear' which is really good and stars Luke Treadaway as a man who is convinced he is being set up by a conceptual artist to die in a planned accident. Tim Healy plays the unconvinced copper.

Next comes the best by a country mile and this is `A gun for George' and is brought to us by the uber brilliant Mathew Holness who brought us `Garth Merengie'. This is all about a failed author who writes bad pulp about avenging his brother's murder by inventing a crime fighter called `The Reprisalizer', a man who fights crime on the mean streets of Thurrock in an Austin Allegro - just excellent. Next is `Scrubber', which is about a cleaning obsessed woman and her sexual desires to rut out doors - enough said.

`The Ellington Kid' is the next one and is a mere 5 minutes long, and is basically a kebab shop urban myth story- and is above average. Final offering stars Judy Dench in `Friend request pending' and tells a cosy story of older people using social media to hook up, and is fairly pleasant.

I am a huge fan of cinema and I know shorts are often made as a taster for better things to come and some often can be made into a feature length film, like `Hard Boiled Sweets' was last year. This offering is so patchy that the only idea here that I would ever want to see more of was the Reprisalizer one which I actually watched twice the others faired from tolerable like `Scrubber' to rather good - `A man in fear', so my advice would be to go for a rental option if you still want to see this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant short films, 10 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Joy of Six [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I was lucky enough to catch this on the big screen and all the shorts are excellent! They were powerful, funny, moving and lived in my head for a long time afterwards - particularly loved 'Scrubber'! Can't wait to see them all again so have already pre-ordered!

Highly recommend you do the same :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the joy of six, 11 April 2013
By 
Zilpher peckham (Braunton Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Six [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
it was a strange selection, each section was not long enough, mixed feelings but would not recommend it found them quite boring really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Confused, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Six [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I failed to see the relevance of these short clips being joined together. It struck me as just a ploy to invite the public to buy this DVD on the strength of the couple of headline actors in it. Very disappointed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Shorts, 9 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Joy of Six [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I saw this at the cinema. A brilliant collection of well directed and acted shorts. The best I have seen in a long time. Worth seeing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday Present., 28 Mar 2013
By 
K. Haylock "KDH" (Biggleswade,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Six [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I could not make my mind up on the CD wanted for a particular present,the idea of three stories on a single CD appealed to me and as far as comment received it was also appreciated by the reciepient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Ranking Collection of sweet SHORT FILMS, 9 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Joy of Six [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
All 6 films are great in their own way, this diverse DVD easily holds its own amongst the numerous mediocre feature films out there.

Give shorts a chance, buy this and do yourself a big favour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too experimental !!, 7 July 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Joy of Six [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Six short films ranging from five minutes to twenty minutes all providing a glimpse of how we behave in common situations from getting to grips with the internet to sexual hang-ups but looking at the situations from an off hand and sometimes humorous way. Some of the films make you sit back and think " Yes that's what society has become - and we're poorer off because of it ". Worth watching to make you reflect on where humanity is headed !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small films., 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Six [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I loved this DVD, a selection of well written films. Good value for money too.
I would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a joy, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Six [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
touching, funny, heartrending. as always Judy Dench plays a blinder. greatly recommended, but crack out the paper hankies.one of those films which makes you sad as you can never view it for the first time again. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Joy of Six [DVD] [2012]
The Joy of Six [DVD] [2012] by Matthew Holness (DVD - 2013)
£9.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews