Customer Reviews


167 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tough, well-written police thriller.
This is a tough story about a serial rapist and killer, told from the points of view of the police, criminal and victims. There's plenty of tension and just the right amount of humour, and the police's steady progress, as they fit together the pieces of the investigation, is well handled, giving a real sense of discovery. The ending is first-rate (and as others have said,...
Published on 13 Sep 2011 by P. Stephens

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great
Overall I enjoyed the book. The story was interesting and there was a wide range of characters and twists and turns.
However I feel there was no depth to any of the characters, Savage was just an okay lead character but nothing like The brilliant and interesting Anna Travis, I found her cold and uninteresting.
The book was quite graphic in content which didn't...
Published on 21 Feb 2012 by Jacqueline


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

116 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tough, well-written police thriller., 13 Sep 2011
By 
P. Stephens (Bath, B&NES United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a tough story about a serial rapist and killer, told from the points of view of the police, criminal and victims. There's plenty of tension and just the right amount of humour, and the police's steady progress, as they fit together the pieces of the investigation, is well handled, giving a real sense of discovery. The ending is first-rate (and as others have said, without any contrivance) and the locations - Plymouth, south Devon and a few glimpses of the far west of Cornwall - are good too. DI Charlotte Savage and her Naval Officer hubbie are very lucky with their childcare arrangements (a male nanny who doesn't seem to mind being on duty pretty much 24X7), but other than that it's realistic stuff, and the author writes very cleanly and clearly. A very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good new writer, 8 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I realy enjoyed this book. Set in Plymouth and the West Country, the scenes are atmospheric and realistic. I can't comment on the plot without giving it away, I'll just say I didn't get lost and there weren't any of those annoying coincidences that authors have to dredge up to move the plot on. It's exciting and convincing.

Crime novels can often lack in humour, as if the nature of the subject gets in the way too much, but wherever people work together they have a laugh together, and these characters are very real.

I gather this is the first of a series and I look forward to more of Charlotte Savage. Oh yes, a bonus, Mark Sennen knows how to write well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great, 21 Feb 2012
Overall I enjoyed the book. The story was interesting and there was a wide range of characters and twists and turns.
However I feel there was no depth to any of the characters, Savage was just an okay lead character but nothing like The brilliant and interesting Anna Travis, I found her cold and uninteresting.
The book was quite graphic in content which didn't really bother me, the biggest bug bear I had was the lengthy descriptions of Savage driving her car here, driving her car there, reaching the crime scene etc. It needs to be edited down, the lengthy descriptions of the mundane got so laborious at times that I skim read several pages and it didn't detract from the story.
Overall it was a good book and I look forward to reading the next one however I hope the unnecessary minor details are edited out and we get more character depth from Enders, Calter et al.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UK based crime at its best..., 20 Oct 2011
By 
M. Leese (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Picked this up from Kindle top 100 based on reading other's reviews and I am really glad I found Mark Sennen and I hope he continues this character in more books.
This is a well written, fast moving story with lots of atmosphere to conjure up the landscape of the West country. After getting a little confused at the start as to what was happening with how the story changed between the different characters, I soon got totally immersed in the story and couldn't read this fast enough.
Other reviewers make comments about Savage's backstory, her nanny and husband but this really isn't the focus of the story. The officers she works with are believeable, as are the motivations and actions of the characters she seeks.
Try this and you'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it !, 27 Feb 2012
I stumbled upon this book accidentally - I don't normally enjoy books set in the UK, but I really enjoyed this one. It is well written, and goes at a great pace, I couldn't put it down !

I know Plymouth well, and won't look at Wembury beach in quite the same way again !

A bargain at .99p - Just buy it ! NOW !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Apostrophes please., 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book had a good plot, and was generally well-written. It was interesting and exciting enough to make me read it quite quickly; however, the lack of apostrophes in the dialogue was really annoying. People just don't speak without abbreviation, they don't say "it is my guess he is our man"', even policewomen. They say "it's my guess he's our man". This occurs all the way through the book and makes the dialogue sound stilted and unrealistic. I'm sure that someone will tell the author about this, and I hope they do, because it's an irritating flaw in what is otherwise a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars touch, 2 Sep 2011
This is a very exciting book. The characters are believable , the plot is fast paced with a good ending.( I hate it when you read a good book only to be let down by the ending).Absolutely loved it. Yes it's a bit dark in places but that in my opinion is what makes a good thriller. Can't wait for Mark Sennen's next book . For 95p( I certainly would have paid more)this is an absolute must read.Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Debut at Bargain Price!, 29 Feb 2012
I, like so many others here, stumbled upon this Kindle offering & decided to part with my 99p on the strength of the reviews. I'm glad I did. I generally like my crime/thrillers to be plot-driven rather than character-driven & this book delivered on that front. That said, there is definitely scope for Savage's character to be developed. The framework of Savage's domestic set up is laid out at the beginning of the book but not explored in any depth. Whilst her time at work observed the various attributes/motivations of her colleagues quite clearly, Savage's personality was not so tangible to me. There is clearly a backstory regarding Savage losing a child & we've not witnessed any interaction with her husband(a serving Naval Officer). These aspects could definitely be fleshed out to give the protagonist some depth.

I look forward to the next book in this series hoping it is as pacey as this one & that we get to know Savage a bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars AN UNCOMFORTABLE READ FOR ME, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read all the Amazon reviews for this book - as I do for practically all the books I have downloaded to my Kindle and thought I would give it a go. To be totally honest I thought it was unnecessarily graphic and verged (as a previous reviewer suggested) on the pornographic. Put simply it made me feel rather uncomfortable and I stopped reading at about 28%. I normally don't give up easily and not wanting to be beaten a week or so later I continued reading. My feelings of unease didn't get much better - without a doubt the story was brilliantly written except for the end which was a touch hard to believe. So in conclusion if you like detective stories, are not offended by graphic details of rape scenes and are prepared to stick-it-out to the bitter end give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and disturbing, 6 Sep 2013
This review is from: TOUCH: A DI Charlotte Savage Novel (Kindle Edition)
I received a copy as part of the Goodreads Firstreads scheme!

Touch is a crime/thriller set across South-West England. The book begins with DI Charlotte Savage and her team investigating a series of date-rape/abduction cases in Devon. When the body of a young woman is discovered it seems the rapist has taken a more deadly turn.

The story follows Charlotte and the other investigating team, along with the mysterious Harry, RT and Mitchell. Mark Sennen offers a disturbing and terrifying insight into the killer's head and his motivations. Norman Bates had nothing on him! Along the way we meet several sinister characters including a brutal porn enthusiast and several rapists; watch your drinks when out in Plymouth!

The police are desperately trying to find the killers in the hope they can save a missing teenager before she becomes another murder victim. Charlotte has suffered her own personal tragedy and it was interesting to see how this affected her work.

I found myself quickly engrossed in the story and couldn't put it down. Some of the scenes are pretty disturbing and highlights the problem of abuse.

4 Stars in my Sky!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews