Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars55
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2012
As an indoor decorative light this item is a lot of lights for not a lot of money. 300 pure white bulbs spaced about 10 cm apart. With 8 different light patterns it works well enough and looks very attractive but I would not consider it in any way suitable for outdoor use except in completely dry weather.

The controller is marked IP44 which means it should be protected against 1mm solid objects and splashing water however this would entirely depend on which way up the controller is hung. From the outside the cable entry points would not appear to be sealed against water ingress at all. It is definitely not waterproof and would almost certainly be at risk in anything but the very lightest of rain. The product description does state that it is not totally waterproof.

There is only about 5 cm between the controller and first LED bulb so if there is a risk of rain you have to choose whether to have the controller outside and unprotected or have part of your lighting hidden away so the controller can be sheltered. This could be overcome by wrapping the controller in a polythene bag tightly fastened The distance between the 3 pin UK style 13 amp mains pug and the controller is around 1 meter. I needed to extend this and so dismantled the mains plug. I was surprised to discover a pathetic attempt to make it more water resistant had been made by squirting in a small amount of mastic sealant through the cable entry hole (although this may in fact have been an attempt to improve the efficiency of the cable grip as the wires are quite thin and would not have been gripped very tightly otherwise.

Of more concern was the fact that this plug was fitted with a standard 13 amp fuse which is way too strong and would not blow quick enough in the event of a fault. THIS SHOULD BE CHANGED IMMEDIATELY BEFORE USING THIS UNIT. Whilst the appliance is not marked with any power rating it is unlikely that each led would draw more than 1 watt x 300 leds = maximum 300 watts in total which means a 3 amp fuse would be more than adequate.

Despite the criticism about the fuse rating (which is easily rectified) this is quite a nice set of lights and, if the fuse were correct, would have been 5*
22 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
The bulbs look nothing like the photograph.

The bulbs are cold and white, nothing like the lovely almost amber warm glow of the one in the photo.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
The colour of these are great but the settings change on their own.....I wanted them to stay on the 'on' setting but after a while they change to the 'flashing' setting which is terrible....shame because they look great when on but I can't use them if they keep flashing
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
These lights are perfect for our 6ft tree. no need to add any extra. the multiple functions are beautiful and the delivery was extremely fast. The only reason these lights get 4-stars instead of 5 is because the only way to turn them off is to unplug it. Other than that minor inconvenience - I would recommend to anyone!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
Great value. Needed new lights for my house plant. The lights are bright, fresh, clean and crisp.Fast delivery and look great.Value for money.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
After several months some of the LED stops working. I plugged this into a timer plug to make sure it turns on by itself at night. Unfortunately- when it switches off it reset the mode. Continuous light is option 8- hence you have to press the button 8 times each time you switch it off and on again. Tedious!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
Item came used not new.Brown burn marks around control unit possible fire hazard not happy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
Beautiful, big enough for 6 feet tall tree, survived substantial flooding of our veranda, most of 7 modes are usable and really build up the Christmas ambience
Delivered promptly
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
LOVE LOVE LOVE THESE LIGHTS !!!
Delivered on time(check),
great length(check),
very good light settings(check),
fantastic quality for the price(check)
one happy customer here(check)!!!
These are a real magic and after using them every day since delivery they are in a perfect working condition, and that's something you don't often get with this type of product.
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
Loved these lights on my Christmas tree, so white and bright. Loved them so much that after Christmas I didn't want to put them in a box in the loft so draped them around the inside of the conservatory. That's when I realised quite a few of the lights had stopped working. I will be leaving them where they are, but next Christmas will have to buy more for the tree
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)