Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood Shadows Book One
I read a lot, and I mean a lot and I do not write reviews for books unless they are really brilliant and deserve it, so the fact that I am even bothering means that there is something special about this book.

Since reading J R Wards Black Dagger Brotherhood series, no other vampire series seemed to match its brilliance until I found another author just as good,...
Published 7 months ago by Rosie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good ideas but ...
this is a good idea - possibly a great idea - about vampires etc being seen as second class citizens and trapped within a ghetto with a whole social structure within it. I really liked this. BUT, the pace of the story was too slow, and in places the use of language/vocabulary just didn't make sense. I think a good editor would have made a big difference to this book...
Published 12 months ago by Genre addict


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood Shadows Book One, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Shadows (Blackthorn Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I read a lot, and I mean a lot and I do not write reviews for books unless they are really brilliant and deserve it, so the fact that I am even bothering means that there is something special about this book.

Since reading J R Wards Black Dagger Brotherhood series, no other vampire series seemed to match its brilliance until I found another author just as good, Blood Shadows series by Lindsay J Pryor. The writing is just as good as the story line.

A lot of authors out there that I have read on Kindle books, do not put enough effort in their writing skills, but this is not the case here.

The Vampires in Blood Shadows series (Lindsay J Pryor) and Black Dagger Brotherhood series (J R Ward) should really hook up, they would make a great exploding storyline with both Vampires from J R Ward's books and LIndsay J Pryor books. I would really love for these two authors to meet up and write a series together introducing their Vampires in one book, or even a series, written by both authors. It would make them the best Vampire books on the market.

I really love the banter between Caitlain and Kane in Blood Shadows, its witty and intelligent. Both characters really bounce off each other. Caitlains sarcasms is brilliant and Kane gives as good as he gets. Caitlain isn't just a great female character but she is intelligent and strong, just like the women in J R Wards Black Dagger books.

Please note however, there are no similarities with these two books and Lindsay J Pryor has not copied Black Dagger by J R Ward in any way, I am comparing the two because they are just as good as each other.

Basically what I am saying is if you love Black Dagger Brotherhood by J R Ward, and you have finished the series by J R Ward and are looking for something just as good then you need look no further. You will love Blood Shadows by Lindsay J Pryor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously dark and scorching hot!, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Shadows (Blackthorn Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Blood Shadows being a paranormal romance took me completely by surprise. Judging by synopsis I was expecting an urban fantasy... Well, sometimes it pays to be wrong.

This book was deliciously dark and scorching hot.

There is not much happening beyond some psychological games, terse conversations and a whole lot of intense sex, but whatever I could see of the world beyond that was really good, and the secondary characters were pretty intriguing as well.

Kane is a baddy, and he does it really well. He doesn't have a sadistic streak per se, more of a predatory streak, but what's important - he plays on it to build a certain reputation. He is clever, sleek and enigmatic. You can't be quite sure of his agenda throughout the whole book.

Caitlin is a bit more mainstream and really not as ruthless and tough as we are led to believe, but in this she reminds me of young Cat from Jeaniene Frost books - full of herself and sure that she is right, so when the betrayal hits she is forced to reassess her values really fast.

As a couple they feel real and powerful, there is a whole lot of insane attraction that leaps off the page. Kane pretty much gets into Caitlin's head and quickly starts figuring out what she really wants even if she doesn't realize it herself.

There is not much drama, but the only drawback of this book is way too much angsty reflection. You know? She is thinking (internal monologue on 2 pages), than he is thinking (another long internal monologue)... It's not bad, but it's repetitive, slows down the pacing and distracts the reader. So if/when they think, they should think faster! Good editing will take care of that. *wink*

Overall, it is simply too good to pass as a series. The author tries to avoid paranormal cliches, so there is no usual mess of soul mates and primitive possession while the female just rolls over and takes it. Instead it's fresh, heady and full of promise. Very much recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word HOT, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Shadows (Blackthorn Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This new series is unique. Brilliant and omg very very VERY hot. Loved the characters, the dynamic between them is amazing. All the way through this book it really keeps you guessing. Kain is a very bad boy and I totally fell for him. Brilliant all ready downloaded the second book I am promised a new sexy hero...... oh the joy. Definitely one worth a read! I can highly recommend this book! Thank you Lindsay you did good x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just incredible, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Shadows (Blackthorn Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I do love paranormal romance as a genre, but this was just incredible. Dark, gritty and really gripping. The characters are complex and the world in the story is really interesting. I hadn't even got 50% through this when i had to see if there was a second book (which there is.. Yay!) It perfectly melds action, romance, sex and crime. This is a book i know i'll reread and an author i can't wait to see more books from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Shadows (Blackthorn Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
i loved this series it is fantastic it was recommended by a friend and i definitely recommend it to others they are fantastic if you love anything supernatural.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly good book, 17 Oct 2013
This review is from: Blood Shadows (Blackthorn Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Just 're read this before starting the next instalment. So glad I did it's just so good. If u like the black dagger series youll love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tense and steamy paranormal thriller!, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Shadows (Blackthorn Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely love discovering a new author in this genre. If you like J. R Ward, Jeaniene Frost and Laurrell K Hamilton you will probably love this book. It has edgy romance mixed with an exciting plot. I downloaded the next book immediately ( I didn't even bother to read the preview first chapter at the end of this book). I hope this is a start of many in a linked series although I do hope you can keep the stand alone feel of the first book. Congratulations Lindsay J. Pryor on a great new world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blood shadows, 29 May 2013
This review is from: Blood Shadows (Blackthorn Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A thoroughly enthralling raunchy read. Loved it. Didn't want it to end. If you liked the TRUE blood books then give this a go, I doubt you will be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Shadows (Blackthorn Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Wow! Loved this book really gritty and fabulous story line. The interaction between the two main characters really great I can see Lindsay being up there with the other great paranormal fantasy writers. Have read all three of the series so far and can't wait for the next two. This lady has jumped to the top of my authors list. 👍
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars blood shadows, 22 Mar 2014
This review is from: Blood Shadows (Blackthorn Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really tried to keep reading but there just wasn't enough to keep my interest. Sooo much inner monologue of how each character feels that I got so bored reading page after page of the same feelings being described in several different ways that I gave up about a 3rd of the way when I found myself skimming over most of it. I didn't even get to the steamy stuff I just couldn't be bothered to carry on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood Shadows (Blackthorn Book 1)
1.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews