Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting take on a world of strange non humans and parallel realities
Jacqueline Swanson vanishes in Vegas and Quentin Draith is the supernatural investigator brought in to find her. Jacqueline is not really missing, she is just bored and with the aid of a candy cane can become invisible, a skill she uses to steal shoes and to play tricks on tourists.

Whilst Quentin is looking for the missing girl he uncovers a number of strange...
Published 13 months ago by ratscat13

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surreal, obscure dolly mixture selection of fantasy themes.
The Bone Triangle is an area of Las Veags where the odd, the mad and the totally surreal appear and disappear against a setting of very weird science, magic and crime. If that doesn't sound complex enough then throw into the plot a beast with a huge appetite, time travel, a missing girl and a host of characters from assassins, magicians, aliens and others just too bizarre...
Published 7 months ago by JK


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surreal, obscure dolly mixture selection of fantasy themes., 23 Jan 2014
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Bone Triangle is an area of Las Veags where the odd, the mad and the totally surreal appear and disappear against a setting of very weird science, magic and crime. If that doesn't sound complex enough then throw into the plot a beast with a huge appetite, time travel, a missing girl and a host of characters from assassins, magicians, aliens and others just too bizarre to categorise.

Despite the fantasy elements the plot itself is quite simple, with just a handful of key characters, and begins with a missing person investigation that opens up to introduce the star of the show, supernatural detective, Quentin Draith.

Draith is very much on a quest to find a missing girl and is helped on his way by his unique ability to discover artifacts/amulets through which he is able to open a type of portal and travel around through time and space but; his ability to move around secretly, alongside his ability to locate lost things, opens up a conspiracy which sees him hunted down and in fear for his life.

As the plot moves along the action scenes ramp up and Draith becomes embroiled in a final fight to save Vegas...and maybe the world!. There are no limits to the constantly shifting scenes of sci-fi/magic/teleportation/detection and general weirdness. Makes your head spin and the author deserves an award for bravery. There can't be one element of fantasy fiction that's been left unexplored.

What are the neagatives?. I read a lot of fantasy and the best of it, in my personal opinion, has a good dose of reality to anchor down the plot and offer the reader a platform in and out of the story. There's little reality here, the themes spin out too far and I struggled to relate to both plot and characters.

There are some decent ideas in this novel but it's somehat bewildering. I'm leaving 3* purely for originality and imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting take on a world of strange non humans and parallel realities, 10 July 2013
By 
ratscat13 "ratscat13" (North East Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Jacqueline Swanson vanishes in Vegas and Quentin Draith is the supernatural investigator brought in to find her. Jacqueline is not really missing, she is just bored and with the aid of a candy cane can become invisible, a skill she uses to steal shoes and to play tricks on tourists.

Whilst Quentin is looking for the missing girl he uncovers a number of strange deaths in the Bone Triangle, so called as all that remains of the victims are piles of bones. Together they go on a journey of odd artefacts imbued with powers such as sunglasses with the ability to open doors, a coin that can open rifts to other worlds and a bottle of searing light that works as a weapon. They meet with strange people in the desert, an arch enemy who doesn't age locked up in her Asylum, a firey slug creature and a man who rules the gutters. All this whilst trying to save Las Vegas from a beast that breaks trough rifts and eats people.

All in all a great fun romp, I enjoyed the characters and their personalities were developed well. They had both good and bad traits that made them entertaining to follow. Not that you could always tell the good guys. The artefacts were cool, and added a nice dimension to the story, as did using the nuclear testing grounds and Area 51 as locations for the story as well as Vegas itself.

The writing was flowing and articulate and the story kept you reading. The plot developed at a good pace, though I didn't see much point in the quickly resolved missing person case apart from to get Jacqueline into the story with the candy cane. However that aside the story worked well.

I enjoyed a romp through alternate realities with some very strange people and would like to see further adventures of Quentin Draith in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Beast in Vegas, 25 May 2013
By 
Penny Waugh "A reader" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I haven't read the first book in this series but enough back story was given to make this book a good read without worrying too much about what had gone before.
We meet Quentin Draith, a man without much of a memory, living in a huge house with little furniture and no means of paying for its upkeep, when he is first attacked by a cat witch and then nearly burned out of house and home by Ezzie, a huge, talking slug-like entity who scorches through his cellar and living space on her way to her very hot home. To make any sort of living he finds people, aided by magical artefacts, and at the start of this story he is asked by her mother to find Jacqueline, a bored rich girl who has vanished in Vegas. Finding her is fairly easy, but Quentin, Jacqueline, and a cop called McKessop are soon in the middle of mayhem caused by a Beast from another world who is eating his way through the citizens of The Triangle, an unsavoury district not that far from The Strip, and must be stopped at all costs.
I found the characters on the whole endearing. Quentin is a not completely gung-ho hero, but aided by Jacqueline's invisibility artefact he is set to save Vegas and quite possibly the world from the Beast using rips, entrances to other universes that came as a result of the experiments in the desert during and after WW2. To beat the Beast means tracking it to its lair with the help or hindrance of other Rogue magicians like himself or the Lords of the Domains, not to mention the mad psychiatrist Dr Meng, with whom Quentin has unhappy history.
An enjoyable read that feels pretty plausible in the reading. Quentin, Jacqueline and McKessop are left with plenty to do in future stories. I'll look forward to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A frisky mix of urban fantasy and gritty gumshoe noir, 6 May 2013
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the second in the Unspeakable Things series and it's a more rewarding and enjoyable read than the first, Technomancer (Unspeakable Things: Book One), which was a little cluttered and confused in places. The Bone Triangle builds on the urban fantasy world established first time out, explores rather more of the lead character and his adopted weird abilities, and contains a satisfying tale while neatly opening up news can o' worms for future instalments.

The place is Las Vegas, the world is similar to this one, the time is around now - but all those nuclear experiments in the Nevada deserts ripped holes in the universe. Bad things are slithering and growling through the gaps, and weird artefacts have been created which bestow on the bearer a variety of peculiar talents. Like invisibility, good luck, teleportation, rapid healing - but there's always a price to pay if you choose to use them.
In the midst of all this, Quentin Draith is trying to come to terms with his lack of memory, his lack of money (although he has been given a mansion by a casino gangland supremo), his newfound artefacts... and the fact that a living lump of lava just materialised in his basement and is burning through the carpet.
BV Larson writes entertaining and swiftly-paced prose. He's very at home in Las Vegas environs and does a great job of evoking the bleached, bone-dry desert and sleazy atmosphere of the Strip. He's created a raft of interesting characters for this series - the archetypal corrupt cop who's actually keeping a lid on all the weird schtick that's going on in town; the sewer-dwelling ganglord; various rogues (like Draith) who have an artefact or two and get into all kinds of scrapes. Then there's the Powers That Be and The Beast - a thing from another universe with lots of tentacles, a bad attitude and a taste for human flesh.

Unspeakable Things mixes supernatural and sci-fi themes with modern magic at the gritty gumshoe level. Constant action set in a credible world, an interesting protagonist, and an intelligent and plausible back-story. Look out for the 'red shirt of the week' character though: some of the bit players do seem to appear only so they can be chewed up and spat out by the Bad Things...
I enjoyed this episode so much that I've gone to seek out BV Larson's other series.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Unspeakable Things" series book 2, 18 April 2013
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Quentin Draith; the ambiguous hero from book 1 "Technomancer" is back and he is again not only battling for his life, he is now a key player in saving Las Vegas. Quentin still has no knowledge of his past, he's facing a number of fanatical assassins under the control of his enemy Dr Meng, plus he's planet hopping in almost every chapter.

The plot starts fairly mundanely (if you can disregard the alien assassin) as Draith; needing money quickly, agrees to find missing Jacqueline Swanson. Soon he's dodging an alien who views humans as a food source, facing off with familiar and new members of the Community and uncovering hints about his forgotten past.

There is barely any breathing space as Draith jumps from one situation to another, resulting in a constant level of exciting action. In addition, the magical elements are clever and inventive; as other Community members are introduced and new magical artefacts wielded. TBT became a compulsive read with increasing levels of tension as Draith faced one life threatening situation after the other. Just when I thought things couldn't get any worse for him, they did. 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pretty good follow up, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone Triangle (Unspeakable Things Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
obviously aimed at the teenaged reader this 35yr old pretty much enjoyed the adventure and the scifi mixed with magic was a nice change from space marines for me this is a good follow up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre, but Engaging., 13 Mar 2014
By 
T. Walker (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I did not expect to like this bood - I was quite wrong.
In a strange world that is - but is not- our own in Las Vegas - there's another world hidden from us mere mortals and it's a supernatural battlfield. This is a very engagibg book, well written, with great characters, Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant surprise - glad I read it, 24 Sep 2013
By 
Rory N. Keelan (Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone Triangle (Unspeakable Things Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
New author for me, and I was therefore unsure as to what I might be getting. In the end really enjoyed both this and 'Technomancer' by the same author. NOTE: Technomancer is the first of the two books and should be read in that order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Bone Triangle, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone Triangle (Unspeakable Things Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Just not my type of book.Too disjointed and poorly written.Nothing else to add really,Wish I hadn't bought it after three pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not often a second book is as good as the first, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone Triangle (Unspeakable Things Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I was very surprised by this book, I felt a little apprehensive when I started as often second novels aren't as good as the first, but this one certainly is. The bark streets of Vegas has its protector who takes no crap from anyone, not even the most powerful. Draith is the kind of man who once he gets his teeth into something just wont let go and always see's things through right to the end.
You can read this without reading the first novel "Technomancer" but I would suggest reading that one first.
Not quite a 5 star novel, but would have got 4 and a half if that was possible. I recommend trying out these books, they are worth the time it takes to enjoy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews