Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable and thoroughly enjoyable book!
Whether recounting hilarious escapades or tackling serious issues with insight, conviction and empathy, Kathy Cuddihy's book, "Anywhere But Saudi Arabia", is note-perfect! Even readers without first-hand knowledge of the Kingdom, provided they have a receptive mind and a sensitive heart, cannot fail to experience some of the joy, warmth and beauty so keenly felt and...
Published on 23 Feb. 2013 by M. E. Hawkins

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars meh
It does offer some insights into SA but the author's style is a bit off. The sense of humour is too simple, based on cliches and ego-, american-centric. I found it hard to laugh with such cliche-style jokes. Her views can be way too American for a non-American reader. For instance when she describes her shock and despair when she found out that her house in Saudi Arabia...
Published 6 months ago by Oliver Cromwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable and thoroughly enjoyable book!, 23 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Anywhere But Saudi Arabia! Experiences of a Once Reluctant Expat (Kindle Edition)
Whether recounting hilarious escapades or tackling serious issues with insight, conviction and empathy, Kathy Cuddihy's book, "Anywhere But Saudi Arabia", is note-perfect! Even readers without first-hand knowledge of the Kingdom, provided they have a receptive mind and a sensitive heart, cannot fail to experience some of the joy, warmth and beauty so keenly felt and enthusiastically conveyed by the author. The writer's ability to view the 'cup' as always more than half full enables her to thrive and blossom, rather than merely survive, in a world few Westerners ever encounter.

A remarkable and thoroughly enjoyable book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant overview, 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anywhere But Saudi Arabia! Experiences of a Once Reluctant Expat (Kindle Edition)
My wife and i live in Tabuk,close to the red sea and Jordan boarder. Life here is very close to life as it was in Ryhad. A fantastic insight for anybody thinking of working here in Saudi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge a book by it's cover!, 13 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Anywhere But Saudi Arabia! Experiences of a Once Reluctant Expat (Kindle Edition)
This is a long awaited review & something I've never done before. My husband had the opportunity of meeting this wonderful couple & luckily for me she gave him this book for me to read. I have to say never judge a book by it's cover. I knew nothing about Saudi & thought it would be a dead boring factual story. Well I was completely suprised. I found this book hilarious, the stories about this woman's life here are amazing & she must have a huge set of balls to get up to all that she did. It was a huge insight for me to learn about life in Saudi & how women have a battle to be seen & heard & also small glimpses of how things are slowly changing.
The seriousness of some situations & her humour behind it all had me in knots. Loved this book, you need to read this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloom Where You're Planted., 27 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Anywhere But Saudi Arabia! Experiences of a Once Reluctant Expat (Kindle Edition)
The stories in this book brought back to memory my own four year experience in Riyadh in the mid '80s. While not subject to the medieval challenges of 1976, Riyadh, I can attest to the author's authenticity in her depictions of life during the period my family and I were there. The reader will appreciate the author's forthright opinions expressed with razor sharp wit as she draws you in and keeps you reading her daily struggles and strategies for coping with life in a culture hugely antithetical to her own. She and her husband share a zest for adventure which is positively contagious! Their ability to open their minds and hearts to the varied lifestyles and people around them rewards them with a richness of friendship and experience that few expats find in the Middle East. With a sense of fun and a determination to penetrate the barriers of language and culture the author has proven even with regard to Saudi Arabia, as Pamela Harman put it, "that we are more alike than different, no matter one's race, religion, color or gender." Well written, fun and inspiring!
Anyone who has either lived in SA or is considering relocating there should not miss this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, 19 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Anywhere But Saudi Arabia! Experiences of a Once Reluctant Expat (Kindle Edition)
This book is so different from other books I have read on Saudi Arabia. Kathy Cuddihy has penned a beautiful account of her 24 year span of living in this Desert Kingdom. It's such a refreshing change to hear positives, which far outweigh the negative in this beautiful, descriptive and mesmerising account of Saudi Arabia's growth. It is, however, such a shame that Saudi Arabia still has such an appalling attitude with regard to human rights , especially that of women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars meh, 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anywhere But Saudi Arabia! Experiences of a Once Reluctant Expat (Kindle Edition)
It does offer some insights into SA but the author's style is a bit off. The sense of humour is too simple, based on cliches and ego-, american-centric. I found it hard to laugh with such cliche-style jokes. Her views can be way too American for a non-American reader. For instance when she describes her shock and despair when she found out that her house in Saudi Arabia had no dish washer. And that was in the 70s..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Expat Adventure in Saudi, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anywhere But Saudi Arabia! Experiences of a Once Reluctant Expat (Kindle Edition)
Having just written a book about my own experiences of living in Riyadh between 2005 and 2007 I found Kathy Cuddihy's book extremely interesting. It was incredible to learn about a very different Riyadh to our more recent experiences, yet there were many similarities too. An informative authentic book which I thoroughly enjoyed and would have no hesitation in recommending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining read!, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anywhere But Saudi Arabia! Experiences of a Once Reluctant Expat (Kindle Edition)
My life in Riyadh started just before Kathy's - in 1972 - and our paths crossed a few times over the years she was here. Although I still live in Riyadh, and under very different circumstances from Kathy - I live and work with a Saudi family - I can relate to most of her experiences, and how life has changed over the years in the Kingdom. I found the way she writes very entertaining, and the way she depicts the good and not so good here very true to life. I usually avoid 'true' books about life for expats in the Kingdom as the few I've read have been a load of rubbish - either the writer dislikes the Kingdom and the people so much that there is nothing positive about life here, or it is hard to believe what they are writing is true!!! I would recomment this book to anybody interested in how the Kingdom has changed over the last 40 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anywhere But Saudi Arabia! Experiences of a Once Reluctant Expat (Kindle Edition)
Having worked for some years in Riyahd the book reminded me of many facets of the life and culture. The people were always hospitable once you got to know them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Page Turner, 6 April 2013
This review is from: Anywhere But Saudi Arabia! Experiences of a Once Reluctant Expat (Kindle Edition)
From the first page I was gripped by this unusually honest and enlightening record of the author's many years in Saudi Arabia.
The descriptive writing gives a wonderfully atmospheric picture of the medieval, almost Biblical, Saudi culture when the author and her husband arrived in the country, to its rapid transformation and modernisation.
From her original stand point of apprehension and being almost afraid of becoming invisible in a male-dominated society, the author slowly but surely pushed boundaries and became a ground breaking entrepreneur in the most unlikely of situations. This she did partly by quickly learning Arabic in order to network more easily and befriend the native Saudi population, royalty to nomadic tribes alike.
Despite being incredibly informative, the writing is witty, absorbing and thoroughly enjoyable.
More than anything this book is a love story of how the author and her family fell hopelessly in love with the country, the people and (of course) the wonderful standard of living they were able to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews