Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discrete, but it's all there if you read between the lines!
Grace Coddington was born in 1941, and raised in Wales, and she has worked in fashion all her professional life. Did some readers think this would be a "heart on sleeve " tell all of her private life? Did they expect a "bitch fest" on the business she is still deeply involved in?
The truth of the matter is everything is there in this book if you take time to listen...
Published 17 months ago by A. M. Glenville

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Kindle version is disappointing
The Kindle version of this book is disappointing because many of the photos do not load properly. You miss out on the visual aspect of the book.
Published 13 months ago by Luce Prints


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book!, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Ilda Araujo Novo (4900 Viana do Castelo, Portugal Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
I would recommend it to anyone who enjoy reading biographies and is also keen on fashion issues. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight but interesting, 13 Aug 2013
By 
D. Giusti "Dierregi" (Genova, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
Grace Coddington is no literary genius, nor she pretends to be. Her autobiography is written in a simple and mostly linear style, which among a lot of baroque writing is quite refreshing.

What we get here is the basic tale of a life less than ordinary. However, despite her many remarkable experiences and glamorous environment, Coddington succeeds at the difficult task of sounding down to heart, or at least a lot less of a snob than one would expect. Still, the name-dropping is endless and her admission of never having read a book in her life make her sound slightly conceited (at best). Moreover, her self-confessed dislike for literature casts a very mercenary shadow over this project.

She succeeds at giving enough details about her life, but not so much, as to make you think she is completely self-absorbed. She seems aware of the fact that, having worked with lots of famous people, such as Helmut Newton and David Bailey, the reader wants to know something about them, too. Those expecting juicy gossip about models or Anna Wintour will be disappointed, as Grace is very discreet, although it is clear that she is no doormat and does not like some of her connections.

Many photos and cute drawings illustrate the book and leave the reader wanting for more. On a side note, the fact that Grace likes cats and had some grief with snooty French models, made her win an extra point. Otherwise, I would have given the book 2 stars.

I would recommend only if you watched The September Issue and are interested in fashion and photography. I follow fashion photography and I find Grace's spreads the most remarkable ever, even if the clothes cannot be worn in real life. But they work wonders as images of a fantasy place I would like to inhabit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grace, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace (Kindle Edition)
Im not a big fashion follower or celebrity watcher and i think that is why i loved this book so much. She just seems like a nice woman walking through a fabulous but also at times tragic life and being nice to the people around her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
An interesting read for anyone in the fashion industry. Having seen most of the omages she has produced, i enjoyed reading backstage action involved in creating them in an old school way. Grace is the greatest living stylist of today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 15 Jun 2013
By 
Miss (Wandworth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
Beautiful book by a lovely lady - well written - great mix of fashion and personal stories - well documented with an array of stunning personal drawings as well as fashion and personal photographs - she appears to be quite a rare person in the fashion world - amazingly creative whilst being very real and natural.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hughly recommended., 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
I worked with Grace at Vogue back in the '80's. Lovely lady with an interesting life. Well worth a read even if you don't know her. I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My husband bought this book at my request, 11 Jan 2013
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
As I grew up with the likes of Grace Coddington, Jean Shrimpton, Twiggy and their ilk, this book was a must have for me. I have yet to start reading it, but I know it will bring back memories of the 60's and 70's for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality on a Kindle, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace (Kindle Edition)
I do not recommend this product on a kindle as the quality is poor. The issues include the following:

-The pictures did not always display
-The titles to the pictures merged in the text.
-Sometimes the pictures were overlapping text as well.

Ideally I would appreciate a refund of some kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who Knows?, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
I did not buy this. I see these reviews as being useful for potential purchasers, and no doubt the positive reviews help your sales. I really think you need to keep on top of your sales, I don't want my inbox to be clogged by yout requests for feedback, especially when I clearly am unable to give it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yes the fashion world is indeed crowded with airheads including the writer of this book, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
You would expect some deep insights from a 70 plus year old who's been working in the fashion industry for practically her whole life. Well this book gives you quite the opposite and I can't help but wonder if Grace, who has only read two books in her whole life (quote) is in reality a total airhead. She doesn't do the fashion world any favours with this unenlightened book because all that remains is the image of a very self obsessed industry crowded by eh....not the smartest people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab47c15c)

This product

Grace
Grace by Grace Coddington
10.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews