Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous read
I was really impressed by the book, I read it in one sitting it grabs you on the first page and you just cant put it down.
Plenty of twists and turns, believable characters and plenty of surprises.
Published 20 months ago by tinamcgin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a waste!
this was a most disappointing book. i love legal / crime dramas, but this had very little plot, no character development, added in a scenario with a judge which was then not used and ended on a whimper. the worst book i think i have ever bought!
Published 16 months ago by Lesley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous read, 21 Nov 2012
This review is from: Stone Cold (The Alex Stone Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I was really impressed by the book, I read it in one sitting it grabs you on the first page and you just cant put it down.
Plenty of twists and turns, believable characters and plenty of surprises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stone Cold, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Cold (The Alex Stone Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A twist that was not easy to foresee. Gripping to the last few pages. Well worth the investment of time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Alex Stone Thriller, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Cold (The Alex Stone Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Next in the Charlie Fox series and just as good as the first one. I strongly recommend this tale in particular but the series asma whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars STONE COLD, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Cold (The Alex Stone Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
good story but spoiled by repeated turning back or forward because book badly put togeter with pages in disorder/repeated or missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a waste!, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Lesley (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Cold (The Alex Stone Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
this was a most disappointing book. i love legal / crime dramas, but this had very little plot, no character development, added in a scenario with a judge which was then not used and ended on a whimper. the worst book i think i have ever bought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding !, 25 May 2014
This review is from: Stone Cold (The Alex Stone Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Joel Goldman's best book yet. No gimmics. Real believable moral battle by an endearing strong but imperfect heroine who you desperately want to win but fear she might fail. I couldn't stop reading, holding my breath til the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as strong as Goldman's best, 17 Nov 2013
This review is from: Stone Cold (The Alex Stone Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book cold, without reading a story preview, because I have read and rated other Goldman novels. About all I knew was that the story was about Alex, a lesbian public defender.

Despite this different feature, there was not too much to the book really. Her inclination and role didn't add or subtract and it seemed to me to be a gimmicky promotion. A bombshell is dropped about a third of the way into the book, but from about halfway the outcome becomes predictable.

The courtroom stuff wasn't captivating and I'm not sure the judge's role was realistic or of value. The core plot didn't really drag me in, despite a couple of twists and turns. I don't know what to make of Alex yet either, but will probably give the sequel a go.

It was good to see some characters from other Goldman novels make appearances though.

All in all, not bad, but not as strong as Goldman's better books probably because there is really no strong courtroom drama nor a very engaging mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stone cold, 23 Jun 2013
By 
A. D. Lawn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Cold (The Alex Stone Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Wish I had read this before the Alex Stone short story , but not bad and a bit of a twist towards the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It left me ....., 29 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Cold (The Alex Stone Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Stone Cold, I didn't even bother to read the whole book. This was the first Joel Goodman book I had read but I found the writing rather tedious and the story predictable. Suffice it to say I will not be reading any others by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews