Customer Reviews


466 Reviews
5 star:
 (286)
4 star:
 (99)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An invisible man sleeping in your bed
Before I saw The Conjuring I heard a lot negative complaints that it was merely "cattle prod cinema" which I inferred meant a lot of awful stingers were the only thing that would make the audience jump. This horrible cliché has been overabundant in many so-called "horror" movies for a good while now and I my expectations were low...
Published 14 months ago by Inspector Gadget

versus
65 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horror Trunk Review: Doll Delights
Directed by James Wan (Insidious, Saw, Dead Silence), The Conjuring is set in America during the 1960's. We follow the 'real' case-files of paranormal investigators The Warrens, who work against supernatural elements trying to possess the living, in this case the Perron family. The Warrens face a terrifying battle against a demon unwilling to leave...

One thing...
Published 21 months ago by www.horrortrunk.com


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An invisible man sleeping in your bed, 29 Jan. 2014
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Before I saw The Conjuring I heard a lot negative complaints that it was merely "cattle prod cinema" which I inferred meant a lot of awful stingers were the only thing that would make the audience jump. This horrible cliché has been overabundant in many so-called "horror" movies for a good while now and I my expectations were low.

Thankfully, there are no stingers. Yes, there are scares and jumps, but the score is completely unobtrusive and there are no cats jumping out of closets or phones suddenly ringing. James Wan knows that atmosphere, cinematography, suggestion, and the unknown can build suspense and horror, and the Conjuring has plenty.

Apparently based on a true story (which I am extremely doubtful of, but not completely disbelieving) a happy family of mom and dad and five young girls move into a large farmhouse bought at a low price from a bank auction. As soon as they cross the threshold things are not quite right and the property reeks of pure, menacing evil. Eventually they call in the help of a local ghost-hunting couple to document the case and research its history.

It was the early 70s, the real Ghostbusters (pun intended) were still in college.

About 80% of The Conjuring works. The dread, the suspense, and the inability to comprehend what is really lurking in the darkness of the house makes for great horror. The girls see...something, but we don't. It's a lot like Robert Wise's The Haunting, which is kind of ironic since Lily Taylor, who plays the mother, was in the 1999 remake of that movie, which was full of all the worst horror clichés and set-ups, as well as excessive CGI. It's like Taylor wanted to set the balance straight by doing a movie that took the opposite, and more intelligent, approach.

John R. Leonetti's photography is very slick, with lots of slow, creeping shots, but I couldn't help but think that a rawer edge, with exploitation lighting, would have helped it look a bit more authentic. There are a bit too many slamming doors scares too, and towards the end it goes off on a completely pointless tangent with the Annabelle doll and does absolutely nothing with it. For the bulk of the running time The Conjuring seems original and groundbreaking, though in the last act it's a jumble of Blair Witch, The Exorcist, and What Lies Beneath.

The positives still far outweigh the negatives, and I still recommend the film to horror fans. If only we had a version of The Amityville Horror that was made this way instead of that horrendous 2005 movie. No doubt there will be numerous sequels.

The Blu-ray looks great in 2.40:1 1080p with brilliant DTS HD-MA sound. The extras could have been more satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horror Trunk Review: Doll Delights, 2 July 2013
This review is from: The Conjuring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Directed by James Wan (Insidious, Saw, Dead Silence), The Conjuring is set in America during the 1960's. We follow the 'real' case-files of paranormal investigators The Warrens, who work against supernatural elements trying to possess the living, in this case the Perron family. The Warrens face a terrifying battle against a demon unwilling to leave...

One thing you can expect from a James Wan film is quality, with an impressive collection of horror titles behind him, disappointment was never an option. Unlike many supernatural films of late (Paranormal Activity, Grave Encounters) this film presents a nostalgic era before technology ruled the home roost (and the horror film), when a lonesome haunted house out in the sticks, and a creative eye for fear could hold the audience. The film creates a haunting atmosphere set around childhood themes; using games, toys and innocence to project the violence of this sinister entity. The POV of both families fighting 'evil' offers a variety of encounters and experiences, in a film that may have been less engaging otherwise. Although there is the usual line- up of jumps, Wan includes his own touch of originality making you leave your seat a few times.

The reveal is always a tense moment in a ghost film, The Conjuring manages to keep it together unlike many others (Mama). However, the reveal always seems a needless element, as the presence of the ghost is enough to create the fear, and putting a face to a ghost is unnecessary. The solid acting of the cast should be noted, along with a well written script with moments of comic relief, but don't get too comfy, as Wan will pack a punch to those unsuspecting. An example of how ghost films should be; packed full of jumps, and minus the showcase of evolving technology that captures 'found' footage. Wan conjures (yes) a decent horror full of childhood nostalgia and things that go bump in the night.

After all we all have that one childhood story that still keeps us 'adults' awake some nights... mine was the attic hatch in my room...

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effective and creepy, 23 Oct. 2013
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Conjuring [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The purpose of this sort of film is to set goose bumps along your arms and make you jump and to that end the director has done a damned good job. My wife and I jumped several times during the movie even though we knew something was about to happen and numerous times I had chills running down my arms. This is of course all down to the effective use of music and sound effects together with the images, without them you probably wouldn't react because there is nothing here that you haven't seen before. It is just very well combined and presented.
The story is the classic haunted house tale of a new family being tormented by an evil entity and the good guys that come to the rescue and is allegedly based on a true story. I noticed that some reviewers have referred to an interview with one of the daughters of the family but to counterbalance that the current owners of the house say it is all baloney and nothing has or does happen there. But there again they would say that wouldn't they?
This is a great movie to give yourself and some friends a thrill at Halloween and there is no blood and gore which is a plus but don't watch it on your own if you are of a nervous disposition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bump in the night, 25 Mar. 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Conjuring [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A superbly and expertly directed horror film from one of Horrors most exciting new directors, The Conjuring will have you watching on the edge of your seat.

With an atmospheric 70's setting The Conjuring successfully sucks you into its world and doesn't release its grip until the end. Based on true events some of this will need to be taken with a pinch of salt depending on your views about ghosts and possession. You do not have to be a believer to enjoy this film. It works on every level.

The Warrens are well known demonologists. Most famously they investigated the Amityville Horror. This is a story that apparently they have never told before so is completely fresh but with the amount of ghost stories out there a lot of what you see has been done before. However arguably it has never been better than what you see here.

Where The Conjuring succeeds over others is in the characters that inhabit the story. The family the Warren's get drawn into helping are all very relatable and for once none of the children are annoying. They are a family that you want to see helped. It also helps that Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga brilliantly portray the Warrens and again you are willing them to succeed.

The first hour builds up the tension and has a couple of jumpy moments. This isn't a flashy horror, this is a tension builder. Suggesting rather than showing. Even when it does reveal its ghost and the story unravels a lot of it is still held back so your imagination is left to run wild. Relying more on uneasiness than out and out shocks The Conjuring could easily be one of the scariest films of the last five years and in a time when found footage seems to be the only way an audience can feel genuine fear it is refreshing to see an old fashioned horror film do it properly.

The sense of atmosphere form the setting alone is palpable. It is clear a great deal of effort has gone into the building of this world to draw you in and it really works. The typical old house is as you would expect, full of creaky doors, hidden corners and a dark musty basement. The house doesn't take centre stage though. Here it is not about the house it is about the ghosts and although the standard haunted house staples are there is doesn't feel boring or forced.

Brilliantly acted and well thought out it is a shame James Wan has declared himself out of the horror genre and onto pastures new. At least this is what he left us with. A supremely effective, smartly filmed ghost story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth and reality!, 7 Dec. 2014
This review is from: The Conjuring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
After reading Edd and Lorraine Warrens book, I knew I wasn't going to be watching, the usual fabricated rubbish. This is a fantastic film, with an oldie worldie look to it, with a documentary feel aswell. So not only a great film based on the truth, but very accurate facts also. Why do I say that? Because our home here in Warwickshire, something was not quite right. As a result, stupidly, and for whatever reason, I started to get involved with the paranormal, and ridiculous ghost hunt events. Here these people get you involved with glass moving, ouija boards, and idiots who claim they are contacting loved ones! Seriously not the case, and clearly don't understand, the dangers, they are putting the public in. These events are just another gateway, or portal, for it to attach to a chosen individual. It's a sceptical subject yes, and I get tired of those, who laugh, and think they have all the answers. Anyway, we were bordering the oppression stage, from infestation, but luckily had two local priests to remove the problem. Since then, we have moved out. So back to film. It's the best one by far, as I have to base it on my experiences. At the end of the day, I know what I have witnessed. And yes, it can happen. I will never discuss it, or justify myself. Just buy it! But for those of you, who think it's not real! Then you are gladly mistaken!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No masterpiece but worth a watch, 1 Feb. 2015
By 
Howard (Frome, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Conjuring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
If you haven't seen this, it's well made, slightly understated (by contemporary standards) haunted house hokum. Loaded with cliches, acting is just about adequate, some skilfully directed spooky tension. Authentic period feel (early 70's) (I was there) and you can have fun spotting all the bits in it which are a bit like that other haunted house/possession/creepy toys film you saw.

Worth seeing if you like this sort of thing (i do) and don't mind getting a bit bored occasionally.

The supplier was fast and the DVD is authentic and of good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost/Demonic Possession Story on a Par with The Orphanage, 22 May 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Conjuring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A lot of modern films about ghosts and demonic possession swiftly resort to all the usual clichés - unexplained knocking sounds, wobbling ornaments and bedside lamps, ghostly images in mirrors, and the like. This movie does exactly the same - you can't re-invent the wheel - but it does so extremely effectively. A fairly recent Spanish horror film, a ghost story called The Orphanage, gave renewed vigour to this genre, but I think The Conjuring is the best film of this type in recent years. The lead actress Vera Farmiga is superb, and the child actors hold their own, not only in the (few) happy family scenes, but also the (numerous) tense scenes when you know something malevolent is lurking in the family home, but don't know what it is going to do. Films like this can make you jump right out of your skin in a way that torture porn like Hostel, or zombie gore fests like Romero's Day of the Dead, simply cannot. During the course of this film, I found myself physically startled at least 7 or 8 times, I can't remember another film having that effect on me. By comparison, I think that The Orphanage made me jump twice. If you like movies like The Exorcist and The Orphanage, I strongly doubt that you'll be disappointed with this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cliche Overload, 1 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Conjuring (DVD)
Cliched horror hokum .It wasn't that i didn't find it particularly scary (probably about as scary as a funfair ghost train ride)but that it was so cliched (thunder & lightning ,dim lighting ,creaking doors , a basement & the usual stuff).My mind started to wander as i watched it & during the second half of the film i found myself finding certain scenes more amusing than frightening .In one scene a ball bounces out across the basement floor & you could imagine someone throwing it out from behind some boxes .
For me ,there's nothing new or original here .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good effort in an overcrowded sub-genre, 7 Sept. 2014
By 
All of them Witches (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Conjuring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Although I'm not a fan of James Wan, on a purely entertainment level I enjoyed this. Lets dispense first off with the brain-numbingly tedious notion that the events depicted in this fictional film are in any way based on real events. It is a very overused tool now to entice the naive and it's a lazy way for a director to induce an artificial extra 'chill factor'
It is a typical haunted house caper which brings little new but still does a good job of creating an eerie atmosphere, has good characters with all the young female ensemble putting in a good display. Has some good imagery and I liked a lot of the camera work, moving rapidly from one angle to another.
The story is the same as all of these types of films and has similarities with 'Poltergeist' (again!!) and 'The Amityville Horror' among others. It moves along a a brisk rate and asides from the odd dodgy special effect (Wan really likes people being flung about by invisible nasties in his films) I found it very watchable, wasn't bored and jumped at the bits designed to make you jump at. Good location and good use of inanimate objects also to create an aire of menance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT'S YOUR NAME? WHO'S YOUR DADDY?, 4 Aug. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Conjuring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Based on a true story, the film opens with an incident in which Ed (Patrick Wilson) and Lorraine (Vera Farmiga) Warren explain the difference between ghosts and demonic possession, both being similar to owning cats. Ed has a basement full of artifacts that would make "Riley's Believe it or Not" museum green with envy. Hey don't touch the monkey!

Meanwhile the Perron family has moved into a house in Harrisville, RI, in 1971 BF (before flashlights). They discover their basement door has been boarded over, because God knows spirits can't pass through wood. The Perron family has a pack of screaming daughters, just right for a horror flick.

Needless to say the plot and subplot come together with wonderfully horrific results. Like most films the creepiness builds to a climax. This particular film has some minor religious overtones to it as one would expect with an exorcism type production. Good film to watch in the dark. Take the kids. Zombie soundtrack.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. WARNING: Does use the word "groovy" and "The Brady Bunch" is on TV in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Conjuring [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
The Conjuring [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by James Wan (Blu-ray - 2013)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews