Customer Reviews


387 Reviews
5 star:
 (234)
4 star:
 (85)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "There is something horrible happening in my house."
You don't see a lot of horror movies anymore. Oh sure, you see lots of movies with obnoxious characters meeting messy, violent ends, but that is more revolting than horrifying.

So "The Conjuring" has a strangely timeless, old-school feel to its story -- the entire first half of the movie is devoted to building up the creeping, shadowy feeling that...
Published 9 months ago by E. A Solinas

versus
63 of 70 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horror Trunk Review: Doll Delights
Directed by James Wan (Insidious, Saw, Dead Silence), The Conjuring is set in America during the 1960's. We follow the 'real' case-files of paranormal investigators The Warrens, who work against supernatural elements trying to possess the living, in this case the Perron family. The Warrens face a terrifying battle against a demon unwilling to leave...

One thing...
Published 17 months ago by www.horrortrunk.com


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "There is something horrible happening in my house.", 24 Feb 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Conjuring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
You don't see a lot of horror movies anymore. Oh sure, you see lots of movies with obnoxious characters meeting messy, violent ends, but that is more revolting than horrifying.

So "The Conjuring" has a strangely timeless, old-school feel to its story -- the entire first half of the movie is devoted to building up the creeping, shadowy feeling that something terrible is lurking just out of sight, followed by a second half of nightmare fuel. That second half is a bit less gripping, but still pretty good vintage horror.

Carolyn (Lili Taylor) and Roger Perron (Ron Livingston) move into a rather shabby farmhouse with their five daughters. Almost immediately, strange things start happening -- their dog is killed, birds crash into the house, Carolyn finds inexplicable bruises on her body, and the children are tormented by mysterious things in their bedroom. Then Carolyn is locked in the basement by a ghost.

Desperate for help, Carolyn begs paranormal investigators Ed (Patrick Wilson) and Lorraine Warren (Vera Farmiga) to come see her house. They immediately conclude that there is a supernatural force at work here, and that it should be exorcised. But the malevolent forces in the Perron house are working fast, and the Warrens may have to take matters into their own hands to save the family.

"The Conjuring" feels like a much older movie than it actually is -- the slightly faded sepia tone, the lack of sex and gore, the old farmhouse with peeling paint, and the antique furniture wreathed in shadows. And with no initial explanation of just WHAT is haunting the Perron family, you're left wondering what is going on.

That sense of mystery is what makes the first half of the movie so intensely spooky -- nothing is seen. Instead, James Wan builds up a slow, creeping sense of horror that seeps into the most innocent of actions, using things that you cannot see -- a nasty smell, a shuffling in the dark, a mysterious bruise, a tugging on a kid's leg, an unseen specter lurking behind a door.

In fact, the second half is less effectively horrific because we actually start SEEING things (people yanked around on wires, ghosts vomiting themselves into someone's mouth). The movie's biggest flaw is that early on, the Warrens declare that ghosts don't possess people... and yet they never mention this declaration when TA-DA! an evil ghost is found. It's a bit confusing.

It also has uniformly amazing performances -- Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga are amazing as the professional demonologists, believing that this is a God-given duty. But they give some nice nuance to their characters, with Ed's concern over his wife's well-being and Lorraine's serene awareness of the supernatural.

And they have equally good performances by Livingston and Taylor, nice ordinary people who find themselves in the grip of something dark and malevolent. And the kids who play their daughters prove that there are excellent child actors out there -- the scene where Joey King tearfully whispers about "something behind the door" is enough to make your spine creep.

"The Conjuring" shows a bit too much in its second half, but it doesn't stop this quietly atmospheric movie from being astoundingly creepy -- partly because of what we never see,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An invisible man sleeping in your bed, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Before I saw The Conjuring I heard a lot negative complaints that it was merely "cattle prod cinema" which I inferred meant a lot of awful stingers were the only thing that would make the audience jump. This horrible cliché has been overabundant in many so-called "horror" movies for a good while now and I my expectations were low.

Thankfully, there are no stingers. Yes, there are scares and jumps, but the score is completely unobtrusive and there are no cats jumping out of closets or phones suddenly ringing. James Wan knows that atmosphere, cinematography, suggestion, and the unknown can build suspense and horror, and the Conjuring has plenty.

Apparently based on a true story (which I am extremely doubtful of, but not completely disbelieving) a happy family of mom and dad and five young girls move into a large farmhouse bought at a low price from a bank auction. As soon as they cross the threshold things are not quite right and the property reeks of pure, menacing evil. Eventually they call in the help of a local ghost-hunting couple to document the case and research its history.

It was the early 70s, the real Ghostbusters (pun intended) were still in college.

About 80% of The Conjuring works. The dread, the suspense, and the inability to comprehend what is really lurking in the darkness of the house makes for great horror. The girls see...something, but we don't. It's a lot like Robert Wise's The Haunting, which is kind of ironic since Lily Taylor, who plays the mother, was in the 1999 remake of that movie, which was full of all the worst horror clichés and set-ups, as well as excessive CGI. It's like Taylor wanted to set the balance straight by doing a movie that took the opposite, and more intelligent, approach.

John R. Leonetti's photography is very slick, with lots of slow, creeping shots, but I couldn't help but think that a rawer edge, with exploitation lighting, would have helped it look a bit more authentic. There are a bit too many slamming doors scares too, and towards the end it goes off on a completely pointless tangent with the Annabelle doll and does absolutely nothing with it. For the bulk of the running time The Conjuring seems original and groundbreaking, though in the last act it's a jumble of Blair Witch, The Exorcist, and What Lies Beneath.

The positives still far outweigh the negatives, and I still recommend the film to horror fans. If only we had a version of The Amityville Horror that was made this way instead of that horrendous 2005 movie. No doubt there will be numerous sequels.

The Blu-ray looks great in 2.40:1 1080p with brilliant DTS HD-MA sound. The extras could have been more satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 70 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horror Trunk Review: Doll Delights, 2 July 2013
This review is from: The Conjuring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Directed by James Wan (Insidious, Saw, Dead Silence), The Conjuring is set in America during the 1960's. We follow the 'real' case-files of paranormal investigators The Warrens, who work against supernatural elements trying to possess the living, in this case the Perron family. The Warrens face a terrifying battle against a demon unwilling to leave...

One thing you can expect from a James Wan film is quality, with an impressive collection of horror titles behind him, disappointment was never an option. Unlike many supernatural films of late (Paranormal Activity, Grave Encounters) this film presents a nostalgic era before technology ruled the home roost (and the horror film), when a lonesome haunted house out in the sticks, and a creative eye for fear could hold the audience. The film creates a haunting atmosphere set around childhood themes; using games, toys and innocence to project the violence of this sinister entity. The POV of both families fighting 'evil' offers a variety of encounters and experiences, in a film that may have been less engaging otherwise. Although there is the usual line- up of jumps, Wan includes his own touch of originality making you leave your seat a few times.

The reveal is always a tense moment in a ghost film, The Conjuring manages to keep it together unlike many others (Mama). However, the reveal always seems a needless element, as the presence of the ghost is enough to create the fear, and putting a face to a ghost is unnecessary. The solid acting of the cast should be noted, along with a well written script with moments of comic relief, but don't get too comfy, as Wan will pack a punch to those unsuspecting. An example of how ghost films should be; packed full of jumps, and minus the showcase of evolving technology that captures 'found' footage. Wan conjures (yes) a decent horror full of childhood nostalgia and things that go bump in the night.

After all we all have that one childhood story that still keeps us 'adults' awake some nights... mine was the attic hatch in my room...

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost/Demonic Possession Story on a Par with The Orphanage, 22 May 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Conjuring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A lot of modern films about ghosts and demonic possession swiftly resort to all the usual clichés - unexplained knocking sounds, wobbling ornaments and bedside lamps, ghostly images in mirrors, and the like. This movie does exactly the same - you can't re-invent the wheel - but it does so extremely effectively. A fairly recent Spanish horror film, a ghost story called The Orphanage, gave renewed vigour to this genre, but I think The Conjuring is the best film of this type in recent years. The lead actress Vera Farmiga is superb, and the child actors hold their own, not only in the (few) happy family scenes, but also the (numerous) tense scenes when you know something malevolent is lurking in the family home, but don't know what it is going to do. Films like this can make you jump right out of your skin in a way that torture porn like Hostel, or zombie gore fests like Romero's Day of the Dead, simply cannot. During the course of this film, I found myself physically startled at least 7 or 8 times, I can't remember another film having that effect on me. By comparison, I think that The Orphanage made me jump twice. If you like movies like The Exorcist and The Orphanage, I strongly doubt that you'll be disappointed with this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effective and creepy, 23 Oct 2013
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Conjuring [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The purpose of this sort of film is to set goose bumps along your arms and make you jump and to that end the director has done a damned good job. My wife and I jumped several times during the movie even though we knew something was about to happen and numerous times I had chills running down my arms. This is of course all down to the effective use of music and sound effects together with the images, without them you probably wouldn't react because there is nothing here that you haven't seen before. It is just very well combined and presented.
The story is the classic haunted house tale of a new family being tormented by an evil entity and the good guys that come to the rescue and is allegedly based on a true story. I noticed that some reviewers have referred to an interview with one of the daughters of the family but to counterbalance that the current owners of the house say it is all baloney and nothing has or does happen there. But there again they would say that wouldn't they?
This is a great movie to give yourself and some friends a thrill at Halloween and there is no blood and gore which is a plus but don't watch it on your own if you are of a nervous disposition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bump in the night, 25 Mar 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Conjuring [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A superbly and expertly directed horror film from one of Horrors most exciting new directors, The Conjuring will have you watching on the edge of your seat.

With an atmospheric 70's setting The Conjuring successfully sucks you into its world and doesn't release its grip until the end. Based on true events some of this will need to be taken with a pinch of salt depending on your views about ghosts and possession. You do not have to be a believer to enjoy this film. It works on every level.

The Warrens are well known demonologists. Most famously they investigated the Amityville Horror. This is a story that apparently they have never told before so is completely fresh but with the amount of ghost stories out there a lot of what you see has been done before. However arguably it has never been better than what you see here.

Where The Conjuring succeeds over others is in the characters that inhabit the story. The family the Warren's get drawn into helping are all very relatable and for once none of the children are annoying. They are a family that you want to see helped. It also helps that Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga brilliantly portray the Warrens and again you are willing them to succeed.

The first hour builds up the tension and has a couple of jumpy moments. This isn't a flashy horror, this is a tension builder. Suggesting rather than showing. Even when it does reveal its ghost and the story unravels a lot of it is still held back so your imagination is left to run wild. Relying more on uneasiness than out and out shocks The Conjuring could easily be one of the scariest films of the last five years and in a time when found footage seems to be the only way an audience can feel genuine fear it is refreshing to see an old fashioned horror film do it properly.

The sense of atmosphere form the setting alone is palpable. It is clear a great deal of effort has gone into the building of this world to draw you in and it really works. The typical old house is as you would expect, full of creaky doors, hidden corners and a dark musty basement. The house doesn't take centre stage though. Here it is not about the house it is about the ghosts and although the standard haunted house staples are there is doesn't feel boring or forced.

Brilliantly acted and well thought out it is a shame James Wan has declared himself out of the horror genre and onto pastures new. At least this is what he left us with. A supremely effective, smartly filmed ghost story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cliche Overload, 1 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Conjuring (DVD)
Cliched horror hokum .It wasn't that i didn't find it particularly scary (probably about as scary as a funfair ghost train ride)but that it was so cliched (thunder & lightning ,dim lighting ,creaking doors , a basement & the usual stuff).My mind started to wander as i watched it & during the second half of the film i found myself finding certain scenes more amusing than frightening .In one scene a ball bounces out across the basement floor & you could imagine someone throwing it out from behind some boxes .
For me ,there's nothing new or original here .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good effort in an overcrowded sub-genre, 7 Sep 2014
By 
All of them Witches (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Conjuring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Although I'm not a fan of James Wan, on a purely entertainment level I enjoyed this. Lets dispense first off with the brain-numbingly tedious notion that the events depicted in this fictional film are in any way based on real events. It is a very overused tool now to entice the naive and it's a lazy way for a director to induce an artificial extra 'chill factor'
It is a typical haunted house caper which brings little new but still does a good job of creating an eerie atmosphere, has good characters with all the young female ensemble putting in a good display. Has some good imagery and I liked a lot of the camera work, moving rapidly from one angle to another.
The story is the same as all of these types of films and has similarities with 'Poltergeist' (again!!) and 'The Amityville Horror' among others. It moves along a a brisk rate and asides from the odd dodgy special effect (Wan really likes people being flung about by invisible nasties in his films) I found it very watchable, wasn't bored and jumped at the bits designed to make you jump at. Good location and good use of inanimate objects also to create an aire of menance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT'S YOUR NAME? WHO'S YOUR DADDY?, 4 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Conjuring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Based on a true story, the film opens with an incident in which Ed (Patrick Wilson) and Lorraine (Vera Farmiga) Warren explain the difference between ghosts and demonic possession, both being similar to owning cats. Ed has a basement full of artifacts that would make "Riley's Believe it or Not" museum green with envy. Hey don't touch the monkey!

Meanwhile the Perron family has moved into a house in Harrisville, RI, in 1971 BF (before flashlights). They discover their basement door has been boarded over, because God knows spirits can't pass through wood. The Perron family has a pack of screaming daughters, just right for a horror flick.

Needless to say the plot and subplot come together with wonderfully horrific results. Like most films the creepiness builds to a climax. This particular film has some minor religious overtones to it as one would expect with an exorcism type production. Good film to watch in the dark. Take the kids. Zombie soundtrack.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. WARNING: Does use the word "groovy" and "The Brady Bunch" is on TV in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars over rated!, 26 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Conjuring (DVD)
I don't normally review films but after seeing all the good reviews of this film I thought I had to. I was looking forward to seeing this as it was described as an original take on the horror genre. The film starts off promising and is genuinely creepy. But as with many films lately it gets more and more over the top as it progresses. The acting is very good, can't fault that, but I was expecting so much more than the usual possession film which seems to be in fashion at the minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Conjuring [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
The Conjuring [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by James Wan (Blu-ray - 2013)
£7.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews