Customer Reviews


181 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An invisible man sleeping in your bed
Before I saw The Conjuring I heard a lot negative complaints that it was merely "cattle prod cinema" which I inferred meant a lot of awful stingers were the only thing that would make the audience jump. This horrible cliché has been overabundant in many so-called "horror" movies for a good while now and I my expectations were low...
Published 2 months ago by Inspector Gadget

versus
53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horror Trunk Review: Doll Delights
Directed by James Wan (Insidious, Saw, Dead Silence), The Conjuring is set in America during the 1960's. We follow the 'real' case-files of paranormal investigators The Warrens, who work against supernatural elements trying to possess the living, in this case the Perron family. The Warrens face a terrifying battle against a demon unwilling to leave...

One thing...
Published 9 months ago by www.horrortrunk.com


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An invisible man sleeping in your bed, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Before I saw The Conjuring I heard a lot negative complaints that it was merely "cattle prod cinema" which I inferred meant a lot of awful stingers were the only thing that would make the audience jump. This horrible cliché has been overabundant in many so-called "horror" movies for a good while now and I my expectations were low.

Thankfully, there are no stingers. Yes, there are scares and jumps, but the score is completely unobtrusive and there are no cats jumping out of closets or phones suddenly ringing. James Wan knows that atmosphere, cinematography, suggestion, and the unknown can build suspense and horror, and the Conjuring has plenty.

Apparently based on a true story (which I am extremely doubtful of, but not completely disbelieving) a happy family of mom and dad and five young girls move into a large farmhouse bought at a low price from a bank auction. As soon as they cross the threshold things are not quite right and the property reeks of pure, menacing evil. Eventually they call in the help of a local ghost-hunting couple to document the case and research its history.

It was the early 70s, the real Ghostbusters (pun intended) were still in college.

About 80% of The Conjuring works. The dread, the suspense, and the inability to comprehend what is really lurking in the darkness of the house makes for great horror. The girls see...something, but we don't. It's a lot like Robert Wise's The Haunting, which is kind of ironic since Lily Taylor, who plays the mother, was in the 1999 remake of that movie, which was full of all the worst horror clichés and set-ups, as well as excessive CGI. It's like Taylor wanted to set the balance straight by doing a movie that took the opposite, and more intelligent, approach.

John R. Leonetti's photography is very slick, with lots of slow, creeping shots, but I couldn't help but think that a rawer edge, with exploitation lighting, would have helped it look a bit more authentic. There are a bit too many slamming doors scares too, and towards the end it goes off on a completely pointless tangent with the Annabelle doll and does absolutely nothing with it. For the bulk of the running time The Conjuring seems original and groundbreaking, though in the last act it's a jumble of Blair Witch, The Exorcist, and What Lies Beneath.

The positives still far outweigh the negatives, and I still recommend the film to horror fans. If only we had a version of The Amityville Horror that was made this way instead of that horrendous 2005 movie. No doubt there will be numerous sequels.

The Blu-ray looks great in 2.40:1 1080p with brilliant DTS HD-MA sound. The extras could have been more satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horror Trunk Review: Doll Delights, 2 July 2013
This review is from: The Conjuring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Directed by James Wan (Insidious, Saw, Dead Silence), The Conjuring is set in America during the 1960's. We follow the 'real' case-files of paranormal investigators The Warrens, who work against supernatural elements trying to possess the living, in this case the Perron family. The Warrens face a terrifying battle against a demon unwilling to leave...

One thing you can expect from a James Wan film is quality, with an impressive collection of horror titles behind him, disappointment was never an option. Unlike many supernatural films of late (Paranormal Activity, Grave Encounters) this film presents a nostalgic era before technology ruled the home roost (and the horror film), when a lonesome haunted house out in the sticks, and a creative eye for fear could hold the audience. The film creates a haunting atmosphere set around childhood themes; using games, toys and innocence to project the violence of this sinister entity. The POV of both families fighting 'evil' offers a variety of encounters and experiences, in a film that may have been less engaging otherwise. Although there is the usual line- up of jumps, Wan includes his own touch of originality making you leave your seat a few times.

The reveal is always a tense moment in a ghost film, The Conjuring manages to keep it together unlike many others (Mama). However, the reveal always seems a needless element, as the presence of the ghost is enough to create the fear, and putting a face to a ghost is unnecessary. The solid acting of the cast should be noted, along with a well written script with moments of comic relief, but don't get too comfy, as Wan will pack a punch to those unsuspecting. An example of how ghost films should be; packed full of jumps, and minus the showcase of evolving technology that captures 'found' footage. Wan conjures (yes) a decent horror full of childhood nostalgia and things that go bump in the night.

After all we all have that one childhood story that still keeps us 'adults' awake some nights... mine was the attic hatch in my room...

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effective and creepy, 23 Oct 2013
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Conjuring [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The purpose of this sort of film is to set goose bumps along your arms and make you jump and to that end the director has done a damned good job. My wife and I jumped several times during the movie even though we knew something was about to happen and numerous times I had chills running down my arms. This is of course all down to the effective use of music and sound effects together with the images, without them you probably wouldn't react because there is nothing here that you haven't seen before. It is just very well combined and presented.
The story is the classic haunted house tale of a new family being tormented by an evil entity and the good guys that come to the rescue and is allegedly based on a true story. I noticed that some reviewers have referred to an interview with one of the daughters of the family but to counterbalance that the current owners of the house say it is all baloney and nothing has or does happen there. But there again they would say that wouldn't they?
This is a great movie to give yourself and some friends a thrill at Halloween and there is no blood and gore which is a plus but don't watch it on your own if you are of a nervous disposition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bump in the night, 25 Mar 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Conjuring [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A superbly and expertly directed horror film from one of Horrors most exciting new directors, The Conjuring will have you watching on the edge of your seat.

With an atmospheric 70's setting The Conjuring successfully sucks you into its world and doesn't release its grip until the end. Based on true events some of this will need to be taken with a pinch of salt depending on your views about ghosts and possession. You do not have to be a believer to enjoy this film. It works on every level.

The Warrens are well known demonologists. Most famously they investigated the Amityville Horror. This is a story that apparently they have never told before so is completely fresh but with the amount of ghost stories out there a lot of what you see has been done before. However arguably it has never been better than what you see here.

Where The Conjuring succeeds over others is in the characters that inhabit the story. The family the Warren's get drawn into helping are all very relatable and for once none of the children are annoying. They are a family that you want to see helped. It also helps that Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga brilliantly portray the Warrens and again you are willing them to succeed.

The first hour builds up the tension and has a couple of jumpy moments. This isn't a flashy horror, this is a tension builder. Suggesting rather than showing. Even when it does reveal its ghost and the story unravels a lot of it is still held back so your imagination is left to run wild. Relying more on uneasiness than out and out shocks The Conjuring could easily be one of the scariest films of the last five years and in a time when found footage seems to be the only way an audience can feel genuine fear it is refreshing to see an old fashioned horror film do it properly.

The sense of atmosphere form the setting alone is palpable. It is clear a great deal of effort has gone into the building of this world to draw you in and it really works. The typical old house is as you would expect, full of creaky doors, hidden corners and a dark musty basement. The house doesn't take centre stage though. Here it is not about the house it is about the ghosts and although the standard haunted house staples are there is doesn't feel boring or forced.

Brilliantly acted and well thought out it is a shame James Wan has declared himself out of the horror genre and onto pastures new. At least this is what he left us with. A supremely effective, smartly filmed ghost story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Conjuring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
really chuffed with this film very excieting and jumped loads. thank you again it was certainly worth the wait at this amazing price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scariest film in recent memory, 19 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Conjuring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The Conjuring is a movie you find yourself thinking about late at night when you're in bed not wanting to open your eyes worrying about what will await you. The film truly psychologically affected me the first time I saw it with some truly well earned scares where tension builds through brilliant use of sound and camera work that builds tension until the last possible moment where the movie gets you. A scene in particular involving a wardrobe really freaked me out and made sure I never look at one the same way.

If anything the movie seems to lose strength in the second act in terms of scares focusing more on the story which is admittedly intriguing if unoriginal, the second act still has scares but not as many as that first act which did truly get in my head for a couple of days. Well worth a watch for true horror fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Conjuring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
One of the best films i have ever seen 1 million times better than the other haunted stuff you see. True story apparently but even if its not well worth the watch you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lets your mind do the work, 7 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Conjuring (DVD)
Brilliant, unlike most horror films, this allows your own mind bring out your worst fears and plays on it superbly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good film, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Conjuring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Directed by James Wan (Insidious, Saw, Dead Silence), The Conjuring is set in America during the 1960's. We follow the 'real' case-files of paranormal investigators The Warrens, who work against supernatural elements trying to possess the living, in this case the Perron family. The Warrens face a terrifying battle against a demon unwilling to leave...

One thing you can expect from a James Wan film is quality, with an impressive collection of horror titles behind him, disappointment was never an option. Unlike many supernatural films of late (Paranormal Activity, Grave Encounters) this film presents a nostalgic era before technology ruled the home roost (and the horror film), when a lonesome haunted house out in the sticks, and a creative eye for fear could hold the audience. The film creates a haunting atmosphere set around childhood themes; using games, toys and innocence to project the violence of this sinister entity. The POV of both families fighting 'evil' offers a variety of encounters and experiences, in a film that may have been less engaging otherwise. Although there is the usual line- up of jumps, Wan includes his own touch of originality making you leave your seat a few times.

The reveal is always a tense moment in a ghost film, The Conjuring manages to keep it together unlike many others (Mama). However, the reveal always seems a needless element, as the presence of the ghost is enough to create the fear, and putting a face to a ghost is unnecessary. The solid acting of the cast should be noted, along with a well written script with moments of comic relief, but don't get too comfy, as Wan will pack a punch to those unsuspecting. An example of how ghost films should be; packed full of jumps, and minus the showcase of evolving technology that captures 'found' footage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary stuff!, 13 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Conjuring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I have always enjoyed 'real' horror films. By that i mean films that aren't full of gore that is used to shock rather than scare. The Conjuring is the best horror film i have seen. First saw it at the cinema and it scared me to the point where i was so scared my back ached where i had been so tensed up watching. I actually left saying i didn't want the dvd. BUT that soon changed. I wanted to see if it was as scary the 2nd time and in a place where there werent 200 other people screaming around me.
The answer is yes, i still jumped, i still screamed and i still love this film!
There will be people who don't believe that anything like this could have happened, that don't believe in hauntings or possessions and i will say you don't need to believe to enjoy this movie or to jump at the scary bits.
Although if you even slightly believe in things that go bump in the night, then you'll be sleeping with the light on after watching this!!! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadd1d8e8)

This product

The Conjuring [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
The Conjuring [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by James Wan (Blu-ray - 2013)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews