Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars22
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£15.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 November 2001
I bought this movie solely for the purpose of seeing Greta Garbos performance as well as Joan Crawfords, what I found was an interesting sample of Hollywoods golden age, at its very best! The story covers several people and how their lives not only mingle as the movie draws to its close, but how their lives are changed forever, but not all being happy endings. Garbo and Crawford steal the show, but the male cast lend strong support also. The one aspect of the film is that it has not quite stood the test of time, though it is still excellent watching and the first star vehicle ever in Hollywood (it was later equalled with "Dinner at 8" starring Marie Dressler) and lends itself to be the finest of its kind. Whether watching it for a star or for its screenplay, it makes riveting watching throughout. It won an Oscar for best picture defeating such movies as "Shanghai Express".
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2004
Wonderful performances and photography. I am still amazed at how MGM could build film sets like that (the hotel set was apparently the largest ever built in those times).
The story cannot fail to touch you and the extra DVD menu brings you back to the premier night with Crawford's arrival at
the Chinese Theatre. It might not be Garbo's 'deepest' role but she cannot fail to move you even without speaking or to make you smile with a sometimes over dramatized performance that fits perfectly with the times and the character played.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
i love this film, it has charm, drama, a bit of comedy and also those marvellous sets. "M.G.M" sure knew how to spend money on their films.
this was the first film i saw with that swedish beauty greta garbo and how stunning she is too! her scenes with john barrymore have a genuine sense of sexual passion to them. during the scene where she kisses him for the first time, garbo held on to barrymore after the director called cut. she was known for being a bit of a recluse and also for displaying moments of intense shyness according to co-star lionel barrymore. however, when she heard that she would be starring opposite john barrymore, greta garbo was looking forward to it and even waited for barrymore to arrive on the set apparently on the first day of shooting.
wallace beery plays the least sympathetic character in the picture, what with his harsh, uncompromising behaviour, both as a businessman and as a person. he also quite a sleaze with his secretary, played by a young joan crawford.
lionel barrymore plays the most sympathetic character as a man who hasn't much time left and so, he wishes to enjoy himself whilst he has the chance.
his younger brother john plays a raffles-type character who needs to urgently settle a debt by planning to steal some of garbo's priceless pearls.
a true classic.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2012
This movie has always been one of my favorites with Garbo. I bought The Signature Collection with several of Garbo's movies. Unfortunately Grand Hotel wasn't among them. So im glad it was possible to get this movie separately.

Garbo plays the ballet dancer Grusinskaya and even if she is a little bit too tall and clumsy to be a credible ballet dancer, you forgive her because she is Garbo. No actor has ever become close to her fame, or re-placed her, cause she was unique on the screen. The famous line "I want to be alone" came out of Garbo in this movie.

But this movie includes other good actors too like John & Lionel Barrymore, Joan Crawford, Wallace Beery to mention a few of them and all of them are great in their roles.

I like the line "Grand Hotel. People come and go. Nothing ever happens". But it do happens a lot in this movie, watch and see...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
Disappointed with the picture quality here. It's watchable but there are great swathes of grain swimming about everywhere obscuring what little detail is left on the actors faces and garments. I'm surprised this was thought acceptable for a blu ray release, I would have thought some processing in the digital domain would have reduced the grain somewhat. Yes it's an old film and perhaps they used the best available print but I remain unconvinced that this could not have been improved. No criticism of the film, it's a classic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
I saw it in a cinema a long time ago and I liked it then.
I enjoyed it as much as now as I did then.
Considering the age of the film it must have been a difficult task transferring on to DVD.
As I am hard of hearing I did appreciate the subtitles.
The subtitles covered many languages so it must still appeal to many nationalities.
I am 93 years of age so it reminds me of my youth!
Martin Milree
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
This is for the blu ray wow excellent picture and sound quality this is why I buy blu ray and to be honest this is the first time I've seen a Greta Garbo film yes I've heard of her who hasn't but her performance and beauty along with a very young and lovely Joan Crawford shines in this blu ray edition but lets not forget the Barrymore's John and Lionel excellent film and quality all round.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
MGM took a gamble using so many top stars in one film, but it paid off. Irving Stone opens by saying "nothing ever happens" at the Grand Hotel, but we know better. With several intertwined stories revolving around the personal lives of the many characters made for a classic film. Greta Garbo is outstanding as a famous ballet dancer. One of her best films for sure.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
Wat can i say about this nineteen thirtees film which has not been said already, as the title surjests it is based in a hotel and the people staying in it, there are the three BÀRRYMORES ETHEL LIONEL and John all nearing the end of their long acting careers, there is also the actressGreta Garbo.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
The Amazon Instant Video version is presented in 16 x 9 so that everything is stretched. This is disgraceful; the film was made in 4 x 3 and should be shown as such (as it's HD there is no way to reformat it as there would be with an SD version). As far as I'm concerned it reders the film unwatchable and I have requested a refund
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)