Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dated Masterpiece.
I bought this movie solely for the purpose of seeing Greta Garbos performance as well as Joan Crawfords, what I found was an interesting sample of Hollywoods golden age, at its very best! The story covers several people and how their lives not only mingle as the movie draws to its close, but how their lives are changed forever, but not all being happy endings. Garbo and...
Published on 6 Nov 2001

versus
13 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Garbo lets it down
One of the most legendary efforts of early Hollywood talkies, 'Grand Hotel' fails to be completely satisfactory three quarters of a century later. This is the predecessor of all those films where a number of very different people meet are thrown together on a rather small location, in this case a hotel in Berlin in the Weimar years, and interact. Essentially a performer's...
Published on 24 Feb 2004 by Michael Bo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dated Masterpiece., 6 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Hotel [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I bought this movie solely for the purpose of seeing Greta Garbos performance as well as Joan Crawfords, what I found was an interesting sample of Hollywoods golden age, at its very best! The story covers several people and how their lives not only mingle as the movie draws to its close, but how their lives are changed forever, but not all being happy endings. Garbo and Crawford steal the show, but the male cast lend strong support also. The one aspect of the film is that it has not quite stood the test of time, though it is still excellent watching and the first star vehicle ever in Hollywood (it was later equalled with "Dinner at 8" starring Marie Dressler) and lends itself to be the finest of its kind. Whether watching it for a star or for its screenplay, it makes riveting watching throughout. It won an Oscar for best picture defeating such movies as "Shanghai Express".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful. 10 *, 3 Mar 2004
This review is from: Grand Hotel [1932] [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful performances and photography. I am still amazed at how MGM could build film sets like that (the hotel set was apparently the largest ever built in those times).
The story cannot fail to touch you and the extra DVD menu brings you back to the premier night with Crawford's arrival at
the Chinese Theatre. It might not be Garbo's 'deepest' role but she cannot fail to move you even without speaking or to make you smile with a sometimes over dramatized performance that fits perfectly with the times and the character played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stars galore! a one-off for certain., 1 Dec 2011
By 
jeremiah harbottle (Littlebourne, Kent.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Hotel [1932] [DVD] (DVD)
i love this film, it has charm, drama, a bit of comedy and also those marvellous sets. "M.G.M" sure knew how to spend money on their films.
this was the first film i saw with that swedish beauty greta garbo and how stunning she is too! her scenes with john barrymore have a genuine sense of sexual passion to them. during the scene where she kisses him for the first time, garbo held on to barrymore after the director called cut. she was known for being a bit of a recluse and also for displaying moments of intense shyness according to co-star lionel barrymore. however, when she heard that she would be starring opposite john barrymore, greta garbo was looking forward to it and even waited for barrymore to arrive on the set apparently on the first day of shooting.
wallace beery plays the least sympathetic character in the picture, what with his harsh, uncompromising behaviour, both as a businessman and as a person. he also quite a sleaze with his secretary, played by a young joan crawford.
lionel barrymore plays the most sympathetic character as a man who hasn't much time left and so, he wishes to enjoy himself whilst he has the chance.
his younger brother john plays a raffles-type character who needs to urgently settle a debt by planning to steal some of garbo's priceless pearls.
a true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorites with Greta Garbo., 28 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Hotel [1932] [DVD] (DVD)
This movie has always been one of my favorites with Garbo. I bought The Signature Collection with several of Garbo's movies. Unfortunately Grand Hotel wasn't among them. So im glad it was possible to get this movie separately.

Garbo plays the ballet dancer Grusinskaya and even if she is a little bit too tall and clumsy to be a credible ballet dancer, you forgive her because she is Garbo. No actor has ever become close to her fame, or re-placed her, cause she was unique on the screen. The famous line "I want to be alone" came out of Garbo in this movie.

But this movie includes other good actors too like John & Lionel Barrymore, Joan Crawford, Wallace Beery to mention a few of them and all of them are great in their roles.

I like the line "Grand Hotel. People come and go. Nothing ever happens". But it do happens a lot in this movie, watch and see...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grand Hotel (1932) DVD, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Hotel [1932] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw it in a cinema a long time ago and I liked it then.
I enjoyed it as much as now as I did then.
Considering the age of the film it must have been a difficult task transferring on to DVD.
As I am hard of hearing I did appreciate the subtitles.
The subtitles covered many languages so it must still appeal to many nationalities.
I am 93 years of age so it reminds me of my youth!
Martin Milree
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing ever happens..., 29 Mar 2013
By 
Iain C. Davidson "iain1825" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Hotel [1932] [DVD] (DVD)
I have just embarked on a project of watching a number of classic films starting with the 1930s and 'Grand Hotel' seemed as good a place to start as any. Undoubtedly the film shows its considerable age and, perhaps because of this, it took me a while to get into the multi-stranded story. The sets and costumes are fabulous and one can see that this would have been an expensive movie to make in its day. The story moves slowly at first as we introduced to the various players. The only 'star' I was really familiar with was Joan Crawford. It seems to me that hers is the most 'modern' performance and it is easy to see that her career would continue to soar after this movie. I thought she was excellent in this - steely and ambitious yet also very likeable. I was quite surprised at how explicit her storyline became - it was very obvious what the little stenographer was up to - and with married men too! I assume the incoming 'Code' would have put a stop to that just a few years later. This was my first experience of Greta Garbo. She is melodramatic and over-the-top and very much a remnant of the silent era BUT I thought her performance suited the character very well and I really felt for her during her brief spell of manic happiness - her ultimate fate was the one that troubled me most at the end of the movie. The two Barrymore brothers struck me as very much 'of their time'; Lionel's character is more a caricature albeit an affecting one whilst John seemed already a little old for the romantic lead - his dialogue with Flaemmchen especially a little seedy. Walter Beery with comedy German accent was very much the pompous, arrogant old fool but his descent into true villain really surprised me. Indeed, the thing that surprised me most about 'Grand Hotel' was the sudden shift from fairly light, comedic entertainment to dark, murderous finale. It was completely unexpected and - to be honest - I found it jarring. I enjoyed the movie very much but I doubt that its one I will return to very often.

On a side note, some of the extras on the DVD are very good. As well as a 'making of' documentary, there is a super newsreel clip from the film's premiere showing the great and good (including Norma Shearer, Jean Harlow and LB Mayer) arriving for the first night. Even better, there is a short semi-musical spoof of the film featuring impersonators of the stars (the girl who plays Joan Crawford is especially good) and some hilarious dance sequences with a line up of hefty girl hoofers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Morality tale well told., 15 Aug 2009
This review is from: Grand Hotel [1932] [DVD] (DVD)
Joan Crawford and the Barrymores steal this picture and there is not much even Garbo can do about it.

Amazing stuff. One of the best films ever made by MGM.

Good clear picture and sound and good extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 15 Oct 2009
By 
Ms. S. Ellis "Ellis" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Hotel [1932] [DVD] (DVD)
I was very pleased with the quickness of goods, the DVD also arrived in good condition i would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Garbo lets it down, 24 Feb 2004
By 
Michael Bo (Frederiksberg Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grand Hotel [1932] [DVD] (DVD)
One of the most legendary efforts of early Hollywood talkies, 'Grand Hotel' fails to be completely satisfactory three quarters of a century later. This is the predecessor of all those films where a number of very different people meet are thrown together on a rather small location, in this case a hotel in Berlin in the Weimar years, and interact. Essentially a performer's kind of vehicle. You might even ask yourself if this is where Robert Altman got it all from.
The camera in 'Grand Hotel' is on a constant move, but the drama cannot avoid a certain theatrical stiffness. Dialogue is wonderful, both in witty and dramatic scenes, but it's the acting, or rather the charisma of the performers that is this film's raison d'être.
The two Barrymore brothers shine as the desperately pennyless baron (John B) and the terminally ill John Doe (Lionel B), and Joan Crawford is sassy and touching as the secretary who sells her various services without self-pity, clearheaded in her effort to make ends meet.
Greta Garbo, stunning in her close-ups as the temperamental Russian ballerina, is a bit much to take in her melodramatic style of acting that seems way over the top today. Strangely enough she is the only one in the cast who actually overdoes it, which is saying a lot about acting techniques in those days.
The extras are interesting and to the point, but the film will probably only please aficionados of the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The two most beautiful women of hollywood in one film, 26 Jan 2007
This review is from: Grand Hotel [1932] [DVD] (DVD)
Greta and Joan loverly. This is one of my favorite films, Garbo as an over emotional ballerina Grusinskaya and Joan as a typist Flaemmchen, both fall fron John Barrymore who plays The Baron. Things don't end happy except for Lionel Barrrymore who play Otto Kringelein an ill old man who leaves the hotel at the end with beautiful Flaemmchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Hotel Steelbook (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [1932] [Region Free]
£11.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews