Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Reason Why I still Play Video Games...
Metal Gear Solid 4 is a fantastic game, as most reviewers will tell you.
I am just writing to tell you, that you don't need to buy this edition if you want:
- Trophy Support
- Full Game Install Feature

If you buy a standard copy of MGS4, you can update it for both trophy support and the very useful feature to install all chapters at once (as...
Published on 11 Jan. 2013 by Gabs

versus
10 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing release
As this is more of a rant then a review i will not evaluate the game much apart from saying "Utterly brilliant" as i do not own this release i was intrigued it was being released as "25th Anniversary Edition" now if anybody's a long term fan of the series you know how much of a surprise it was hearing the announcements at the 2012 Penny Arcade Expo on the 25th...
Published on 15 Dec. 2012 by Matthew foster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Reason Why I still Play Video Games..., 11 Jan. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4: 25th Anniversary Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Metal Gear Solid 4 is a fantastic game, as most reviewers will tell you.
I am just writing to tell you, that you don't need to buy this edition if you want:
- Trophy Support
- Full Game Install Feature

If you buy a standard copy of MGS4, you can update it for both trophy support and the very useful feature to install all chapters at once (as before you could not, and had to install each chapter as you progress through the game).
This game still holds up well, and I find myself always coming back to it (as with most of the MGS series).
Buy this edition if you are a die-hard collector (for the poster and new art-work), otherwise get a cheaper copy elsewhere and patch it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snaaaaaaaaaaake!, 18 Dec. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4: 25th Anniversary Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
One of the best games ever but the 25th anniversary edition is exactly the same as the original version if you've downloaded the updates!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THEE PS3 game, 21 Dec. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4: 25th Anniversary Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a re-release of one of my all time favourite games to my favourite franchise of all time. This set is the original game with the update you get with trophies, instillation and Metal Gear Online unistalled from it BUT with a new 25th Anniversary cover and a double sided poster; one side is the cover of this game and the other is the 25th Metal Gear anniversary image they released drawn by the legnedary artist himself, Yoji Shinkawa.

If you already own the game and you don't want this as part of your collection then keep your old version, all thats different is that the updates on the disc, new cover and poster. Unless your like me, a HUGE Metal Gear fanboy who wants this as part of his collection.

If you don't own Metal Gear Solid 4, then GET IT!
This game is a masterpiece by the legendary series creator Hideo Kojima and is the game that made me want a PS3 way back when it was announced. The price is a steal and if you've played all the over Metal Gears (1, 2 and 3) this is a beautiful conclusion to all the plot lines of those also brilliant games (HD Collection is your interested :) ).

I you've never played a Metal Gear before, then I say to also GET IT! Even if you havn't played one before its got a fresh storyline that anyone can jump in, if you've played the others though you are going to enjoy it alot more with so many references to the other entries BUT it won't push you out if you havn't played the others.

Couldn't recommend this game enough. Excellent story, actors, music, gameplay (can't praise Kojima Productions enough!), polished, so many secrets etc.
I have no fault with this game!

GET IT! :)

Ps. For anyone wondering, the Metal Gear Online feature that was unistalled is becasue the Online game server is no longer avilable. It was closed down so that the servers could be used for future Online features in other games. So even if you bought the original version for the online feature you couldn't be able to play it. It was really fun but it'll be back in a future entry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought my Ps3 for this game., 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4: 25th Anniversary Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Title says it all, ever since this game was released, i lusted after it, i watched endless youtube videos (nanomachines!) and from the moment i first saw it, i loved it, not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game for MGS fans, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4: 25th Anniversary Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Excellent game and an excellent conclusion to the story of Solid Snake. Thoroughly enjoyed, although it took itself a bit serious at times, I love the campy humour in other MGS games. The gameplay is very fun and fluid and it looks gorgeous. The story is excellent with lots of twists and turns. The poster that game is great and hangs proudly on my wall. Practically bought a PS3 for this and honestly, it was worth it!

If you've played the other MGS games, why haven't you played this one yet?
If you have NEVER played a MGS game. What are you doing? Get on it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story and gameplay!, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4: 25th Anniversary Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
This is the first game in the MGS series that I have had the pleasure of playing, and I must say I was thoroughly impressed. Great stealth mechanics, immersive situations and beautiful cutscenes make this a must play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4: 25th Anniversary Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
It's necessary for your ps3 collection! It's very wonderful! Five stars .....lux. Mò basta perchè in inglese non è che sono sta cima!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 25 years of greatness., 18 Jan. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4: 25th Anniversary Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Metal gear solid is a marvel of how games great games,can be i have played them all and this one is super.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4: 25th Anniversary Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Great game, story, but IMHO, I think in comparison to the previous ones I think that it could have had a different approach. But still a must have if you're a fan or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I played all the other titles from ps1/ps2 and this is as good if not better, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4: 25th Anniversary Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
An EPIC game, can't believe I've waited this long to play it. I played all the other titles from ps1/ps2 and this is as good if not better. I'm on my second play through. Would thorough recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metal Gear Solid 4: 25th Anniversary Edition (PS3)
Metal Gear Solid 4: 25th Anniversary Edition (PS3) by Konami Digital Entertainment B.V. (PlayStation 3)
£18.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews