Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the Kindle at last!
Finally, finally, Milligan's war memoirs on the Kindle. I grew up reading my father's copy of the first and second parts of the trilogy, and it certainly shaped my humour.

'Rommel? Gunner Who?' is, in my opinion, the funniest of the lot. Deeply, side-splitting, funny. The later memoirs are also very funny, but have a darker tinge to them thanks to his...
Published 20 months ago by Mr. D. Hamilton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
Some funny bits but not up to his "Adolf" boor or especially Puckoon. Some interesting observations though but not a page turner.
Published 11 months ago by Amazon Customer. Vivienne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the Kindle at last!, 7 April 2013
By 
Mr. D. Hamilton "Duncan Hamilton" (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Rommel?' 'Gunner Who?': A Confrontation in the Desert (Milligan Memoirs Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Finally, finally, Milligan's war memoirs on the Kindle. I grew up reading my father's copy of the first and second parts of the trilogy, and it certainly shaped my humour.

'Rommel? Gunner Who?' is, in my opinion, the funniest of the lot. Deeply, side-splitting, funny. The later memoirs are also very funny, but have a darker tinge to them thanks to his shell-shock (and what would probably now be called PTSD)

Milligan at his very best; dry, absurd, irreverent, irrelevant, hilarious. You can see you how he came to influence so many comics and comedy after him.

Hugely, massively, unreservedly, recommended.

Nothing else to add, really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 6 Mar 2013
By 
D. Collins "Dave Collins" (New Forest, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Rommel?' 'Gunner Who?': A Confrontation in the Desert (Milligan Memoirs Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Read my Dad's copy of this when growing up and loved it. One of the few books I've read that actually did make me laugh out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romney ? 'Gunner who?', 17 Feb 2013
By 
Keith (Brotton, Saltburn,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Rommel?' 'Gunner Who?': A Confrontation in the Desert (Milligan Memoirs Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Continuing the Milligan memoirs, his madcap style of humour brings a smile, even though it is about war, but that's the British soldier for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Rommel?' 'Gunner Who?': A Confrontation in the Desert (Milligan Memoirs Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the third volume I've read, I started out of order, and it's just as wonderful as the others. So clever, so honest and so brave. The language and references to hoggins had altered my view of morals around that time, probably for the better.

Spike Milligan comes across as quite a tough fella but fair and constantly looking at funny side of a ridiculous situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Rommel?' 'Gunner Who?': A Confrontation in the Desert (Milligan Memoirs Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Milligan at his poignant yet still humorous best. It should be required reading for all WW2 history students. Couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic tale, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Future generations, as well as appreciating Spike's enduring and self-deprecating wit will also I am sure give due weight to the very real historical value of his memoirs. Too often military history is written by ex-officers, or worse, academics and self - appointed experts, few, if any, of whom have any idea or interest about what the attitudes, life, or conditions were really like for the soldiers who were under their command, or who are the subject of their critical analysis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 5 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good book but a bit boring in places but I think if you keep at it you will learn a lot about WW2 and the difficulties they had
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Rommel?' 'Gunner Who?': A Confrontation in the Desert (Milligan Memoirs Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
As a retired soldier Spikes thoughts and the incidents covered still ring true today. Nothing can beat the camaraderie, humour and spirit of the British soldier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Off two war, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Rommel?' 'Gunner Who?': A Confrontation in the Desert (Milligan Memoirs Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I read the first book and could not stop laughing l couldn't wait for this book I was disappointed l did not get the same buzz .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Milligan at his best, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Rommel?' 'Gunner Who?': A Confrontation in the Desert (Milligan Memoirs Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Hysterically funny occasionally sad and definitely mad but such a joy to read , a untypical British squaddie with a so surreal outlook on the world warts and all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews