Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve's masterpiece, 5 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Train a Comin' (Audio CD)
I've been a big fan of Steve Earle's for years & all his albums are great, but Train-a-Comin' is his true masterpiece & is usually overlooked (as the last reviewer rightly said). For an acoustic album the depth & feeling & variety Earle injects into each of these songs is amazing. With a tight group of superb musicians playing, variously, mandolin, acoustic bass, harmonica & with a sweet vocal from EmmyLou Harris on 'Nothin Without You' - this collection is truly brilliant. Steve Earle is one of the best narrative song-writers in years. This album would make it into my all-time Top Ten faves anytime. An enduring piece of brilliance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Country-Blues Classic, 30 Jan 2002
This review is from: Train a Comin' (Audio CD)
For some reason this album often seems to get overlooked in Steve Earle's work in favour of "El Corazon" and "I Feel Alright" but this is Steve Earle's music at it's purest. This is his roots. It's an acoustic album (Don't say unplugged!) with a superb lineup of musicians and it demonstrates better than a more complex setup would just how fine a singer, songwriter and musician he is. There are songs on here that if they were the only good song on the album would make it worthwhile. "Goodbye" (about the breakup of his relationship to Teresa) is just a straight out of the box classic, likewise "Sometimes she forgets", "Mercenary Song" and "Tom Ames Prayer". Unusually it also contains covers of "I'm looking through you" (Beatles) and "Tecumseh Valley" (Townes VZ). What's interesting about this stuff is that now if you go to see Steve live, particularly if it's an acoustic based setting (e.g. the Landmine Free World gigs) then a lot of the material he draws on is here. If you want a poppy, boppy Nashville C&W sound this isn't it. If you want superb craftsmanship then you just won't find better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Earle at his best., 26 May 2008
By 
R. Clarke (St Leonards on Sea, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Train a Comin' (Audio CD)
As some of the other reviewers have mentioned this album often gets overlooked along side other Earle favourites, however it is one of the best albums I've ever heard, by any artist. The songs are pure genius and the delivery (all acoustic) sounds like 5 or 6 great musicians sitting down and playing live together, an absolute classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars steve earle train a comin, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train A Comin (Audio CD)
really enjoyable cd I have to admit that I have been a fan of his music for years and love his live shows
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars steve earle train a comin, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train a Comin' (Audio CD)
Arrived within days of ordering. Tale of conferderate soldiers, fighting just for money, women going off the rails to survive a broken heart. Some of the stories could reflect todays mood with people turning to crime and scraping a living while the rich do not pay their fare share of taxes. Ironic eh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steve's blue grass & country album, 13 Mar 2012
By 
G. Eggens - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train a Comin' (Audio CD)
Steve Earle is one of my recent discoveries and listening to his albums makes me feel sorry I for not paying him attention earlier. This album is a highly enjoyable listeing experience and since hearing this I added several of mr. Earle's CD's to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous musicians playing glorious sing-a-longs, 9 May 2001
This review is from: Train a Comin' (Audio CD)
I picked this up because I thought the cover looked interesting and decided to give it a couple of plays. At first I thought 'Arse - country cobblers!' I now love it to bits and defy anyone else not to. The skill and talent of the musicians,the story-telling songs,the minimal production - everything is perfect. This is as much of a grower as I have ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Train A Comin, 4 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train A Comin (Audio CD)
The communications where excellent, the product was as described, if not better & delivery was fast. There's not much more to add apart from, It's a damn fine collection of songs from The Great Man & I would deal with these guys again & again and so should you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Train A Comin'
Train A Comin' by Steve Earle
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews