Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars20
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 January 2013
John Suchet seems to have chosen the most hackneyed bits of Beethoven. The 9th Choral symphony is lovely, but he only chose the overplayed last movement. The piano concertos Waldstein and Appassionata are wonderful, but were passed over for the more well known Moonlight.

I think that this is an opportunity missed by someone who has spent much time studying this composer.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
For someone who has never heard Beethoven it's not a bad selection, but who has never heard Beethoven?

I think it's an opportunity missed to put some real gems on there that aren't so familiar, which are every bit as good and even better in my eyes.

From the music listed, I would have only had the adagio from the 5th pc, the molto vivace from the 9th symphony (played as loud as possible!), the allegro from the 3rd symphony and the Abscheulicher! Wo eilst du hin? from Fidelio.

I would have also included the sanctus from missa solemnis, the adagio from piano sonata no.29 (in my mind the greatest music ever written) and if there's room, something from that late string quartets.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
I bought this CD as a gift for my husband along with John Suchets latest book on Beethhoven unfortunately my husband has found that the contents of both CD's contain the same pieces of music and are not as indicated on the sleeve notes. Any suggestions

Thanks
11 comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
John Suchet has produced an extremely readable book, you will be able to discover Beethoven as a person as well as the greatest composer of his age. Delightfully illustrated throughout.
I have read many Beethoven books, of which many are rather heavy and formal in their presentation,unlike this one.If you know liitle or perhaps nothing of Beethoven, this is a book you should have in your bookcase. A no nonsense approach which should encourage you to find out more about Beethoven and his music. John Suchet has a style that is crisp, clear and not overstated. Once smitten by Herr Beethoven, you will have a lifetimes enjoyment, both by reading about his own tragic life and by listening to his sublime music. How could a deaf man write such beautiful late compositions? - that would be like a blind landscape artist.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
John Suchet has compiled an excellent selection of Beethoven's music. His deep knowledge of the both the composer and us 'Listeners' has enabled him to create a very easy to listen to, and enjoyable, CD,
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
John Suchet's choice of music is great.
Easy to listen to, in the car, at work or at home chilling.
Compliments the book well.
Would recommend this CD to any Beethoven lover.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
Purchased this as a gift and it came in plenty of time for Christmas. Apparently the music is fantastic, which I suppose is to be expected given the composer. However the two discs have been mislabelled, which led to momentary panic when my partner thought they had two disc number 2s. On further inspection they found that disc 2 had all the music of disc 1 on it and disc 1 had all disc 2 music. Not a major issue which is why I gave it a high mark, but perhaps better quality control checks should be made, possibly by people who are able to recognise the great man's music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
John Suchet has collated a perfect CD for those new to Beethoven. This is a fabulous collection & is there to be enjoyed. i dare anyone NOT to be enthralled by it!!!!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
Once I realised that the two CDs were incorrectly numbered - 1 for 2 and 2 for 1 - the quality of the recordings was really very good
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
A well received gift for a Beethoven fan with a solid recommendation from John Suchet. A success and well received.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.