Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twenty of hours of Danish brilliance
Borgen is the successful DR political drama starring Sidse Babett Knudsen.
This set contains the first two series of Danish series Borgen as seen on BBC4 in the UK. This set is the official Danish version and is subtitled in English, however, it may be better to wait for the second series to be screened on BBC4 and then obtain the UK release as that will have...
Published 16 months ago by Mikey

versus
48 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the subtitling
Having watched and very much enjoyed Series 2 on TV, we bought this product so that we could see Series 1 also. We debated whether to buy Series 1 only, but as we'd so enjoyed Series 2 the first time around we decided to go with both. This, in retrospect, was a big mistake.
We've given the product three stars overall, but this is the average of five stars for Series...
Published 13 months ago by Roncar


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twenty of hours of Danish brilliance, 5 Dec 2012
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Borgen is the successful DR political drama starring Sidse Babett Knudsen.
This set contains the first two series of Danish series Borgen as seen on BBC4 in the UK. This set is the official Danish version and is subtitled in English, however, it may be better to wait for the second series to be screened on BBC4 and then obtain the UK release as that will have subtitles as screened on BBC4 and not the English as translated in Copenhagen. Series 3 will be screened in Denmark in early 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tv at its best, 4 Jun 2013
This review is from: Borgen: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Well done BBC4 for another excellent series.
Political drama with family life and all it's problems thrown in for fun.
I feel excited for anyone about to embark on series one and two at this moment be prepared to want to stay up all night for " just one more episode "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Get past the rather slow first couple of episodes and then you are hooked. Excellent series, brilliantly acted by all players. Best thing I have seen in ages - I may even try and learn Danish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best box set ever, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Borgen is intellectually stimulating and visually brilliant. Great stories and even better characters. Simply the best political TV I've ever seen and can't wait for series three
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the subtitling, 13 Mar 2013
This review is from: Borgen: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched and very much enjoyed Series 2 on TV, we bought this product so that we could see Series 1 also. We debated whether to buy Series 1 only, but as we'd so enjoyed Series 2 the first time around we decided to go with both. This, in retrospect, was a big mistake.
We've given the product three stars overall, but this is the average of five stars for Series 1 plus one star for Series 2. The second series scores so little not because of the quality of the acting, the writing or the production values; on the contrary these are just as good as in the first series. What is wrong is that the second line of the subtitles (or the only line when a speech is short) is almost always totally illegible as it appears mostly below the bottom edge of the screen. Occasionally it can be read, but not very often. Of course, meaning can usually be understood by reference to context, but that's not the point. It's a shoddy piece of work, and looks as though English subtitles have been hastily and badly superimposed over the Danish version rather than properly incorporated. As such, it is not worth the money even though Series 1 was perfectly OK. Amazon should really be ashamed of selling product like this; it makes you wonder whether there's any quality control.
We've tried to find a way of expressing our complaint directly to the company, but they seem (deliberately?) to have made this very difficult so we don't really have any alternative to drawing the attention of potential buyers to ineffectual dubbing here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Borgen, 17 Nov 2013
Best Danish series to date. Brilliant acting and casting. No doubt Hollywood will soon steal this idea and mess it up (like they did with the Bridge).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wholeheartedly recommended!, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Ordered this on recommendation by a family member. Definitely not disappointed. Had me hooked from 1st episode. The problem is that I can't stop watching and over the past 2 weekends have watched series 1 and am now onto series 2. Will definitely be watching series 3 when it arrives on our screens in the New Year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I love this series. I am a Dane living in Australia, so this brings a little of Denmark to me when I need it....great series! Can't wait for Season 3 to be released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic political drama, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
As good as The Killing but without the blood and gore! Absolutely gripping drama, be warned if you by this box set you are likely to stay up very late because you will need to watch just one more episode....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drama without violence, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Great entertainment, watched the 2 series over 2 weeks. Characters and plots are very realistic and relate to current politics everywhere. Looking forward to the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa718e4e0)

This product

Borgen: Series 1 & 2 [DVD]
Borgen: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] by Sadse Babett Knudsen (DVD - 2013)
34.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews