Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has aged well since 2000.....
I can only echo the positive review that already exists. Despite being over 10 years old at this stage, Unit One has aged quite well and is streets ahead of the star-centric cop shows we have on UK tv. Good to see this fantastic show is now available (I picked up the whole run of the show from an Australian source) for the UK market.

Unit One is a special...
Published 21 months ago by godzilla78

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Nordic Noir TV Series
I was hesitant in going for this series as i had just finished the brilliant 'Borgen' and 'The Killing' and therefore i thought this would not meet my expectations and thus it proved to be i regret to say.

Unfortunately, the first thing that was not as good was the subtitling, which was excellent in the above series. This subtitling was always slightly behind...
Published 6 months ago by B. D. Compton


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has aged well since 2000....., 14 Dec 2012
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Unit One - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I can only echo the positive review that already exists. Despite being over 10 years old at this stage, Unit One has aged quite well and is streets ahead of the star-centric cop shows we have on UK tv. Good to see this fantastic show is now available (I picked up the whole run of the show from an Australian source) for the UK market.

Unit One is a special roving task force set up to investigate crimes all over Denmark. So don't expect the see Copenhagen all the time like in Borgen or the Killing however some locations will be familiar to fans of Danish tv. The first episode introduces the new boss of Unit One, Ingrid Dahl (the wonderful Charlotte Fich, and if you are a fan of strong female lead characters ala Borgen/The Killing then she will be your cup of tea) as she gets to know her team while investigating the death of a fellow police officer. She has a rough time of it to begin with as internal politics and personal tragedy loom on the horizon.

Mads Mikkelsen is the other big name on the team providing support as the guy who will break the rules to get the job done, and anyone familiar with Danish tv exports in the last couple of years will indeed recognise quite a few faces throughout the series. The rest of the group are all likeable characters and each bring their own abilities and quirks together in order to solves the various crimes at hand. This really is a great show and well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Danish police drama from 2000, 5 Dec 2012
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Unit One - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Back in October 2000, Danish public broadcaster DR started the first nine episodes of what would become one of their most successful series ever. The series ran for 32 episodes with the last episode airing on New Years Day 2004 and regularly achieved domestic audiences in excess of 2 million, a feat that even the more recent The Killing - Series 1-3 [DVD] never managed.
This 510 minutes boxset contains the first nine episodes and features a wealth of Danish talent. Anyone familiar with other DR dramas will be accustomed to the high quality of the scripts, direction, acting, cinematography etc. Unit One is no different to Borgen: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] and The Killing in terms of quality.
Unit One had a successful run on Australia's SBS TV channel but has yet to be screened in other English speaking countries. Known in it's homeland as Rejseholdet (loosely translated as Flying Squad), the series became the recipient of an International Emmy in 2002 for the Best Drama.
I originally saw the programme after friends in Sweden recommended it to me soon after it's run there under the title Mordkommissionen. Having to rely on Swedish subtitles to follow the series, what immediately sprang to mind was "How can a country of such a small population produce such decent quality drama?"
The wealth of acting talent introduces us to the younger faces of some familiar names to UK viewers of Danish drama. Probably the most successful of the original cast is Mads Mikkelsen who has gone onto work in films in the US as well as staying loyal to the Danish film industry with his recent film A Royal Affair [DVD]. Mads plays the role of DI Allan Fischer. Fischer is often the difficult to manage one of the team according to his superiors. Mads is the brother of Lars Mikkelsen seen in The Killing I and Those Who Kill - Series 1 [DVD]. We also see Trine Pallesen as junior member of the team Gaby Levin.Trine has recently appeared on Danish and UK screens in the final series of The Killing in autumn 2012. We also see Lars Brygmann as DI Thomas la Cour. Lars will be familiar to Borgen viewers as Labour minister Troels Höxenhaven. The three are part of a finely assembled cast who put 100% into their roles.
Several guest stars appear in the run of the series, again familiar faces in this set include Thomas Levin (newsreader Ulrik Mørk - Borgen), Lars Knutzon (Bent Sejrø - Borgen), Søren Malling (DI Jan Meyer - The Killing I / Torben Friis - Borgen) and Benedikte Hansen (Birgitte Agger - The Killing II and Hanne Holm - Borgen). Look out for Søren in episode 3, blink and you'll miss him. He isn't even in the credits for that episode! Thomas Levin is seen and gone in nearly as quick a flash.
If you've enjoyed The Killing, Borgen, The Bridge - BBC Series 1 [DVD] or Swedish Wallander with both Rolf Lassgård and Krister Henriksson, or if you like seeing a show with a female in the lead role you're sure to enjoy this. This is definitely the ideal replacement for The Killing and to enjoy after Borgen's second series in the winter.
It seems unlikely that BBC4 will screen this series as they seem to prefer more contemporary programming. Having said that they did screen some old Montalbanos in the spring of 2012 and some Wallanders of the same age as Unit One in the summer. After Borgen finishes, the next Danish series, The Bridge, won't be ready for screening even in Denmark and Sweden until autumn 2013, so treat yourself to a copy of UNIT ONE in the meantime.
Well worth a buy!

Unit One: Season 2 [DVD] is out at the end of July! Unit One: Seasons 3 And 4 [DVD] completes the series in December!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Danish Noir, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unit One - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This series from the millennium period has been released on the back of the success of The Killing et al and it was worth digging out of the recent archives. A small team, Unit One - from the national crime squad, helps/takeover cases with/from the local police. Loosely based on real cases. It is entertaining and intelligent, superior to CSI this and that, more grounded in reality but for the time equally innovative. You can also see the origins of the later successes, The Killing and Borgen in this, as well as some of the same actors and now Hollywood star Mads Mikkelsen. I will be looking out for series 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top Quality, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unit One - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good, solid series very similar to Arne Dahl: the scripts are well written and the characters well drawn. Good to see Mads Mikkelsen (in a supporting role) clearly enjoying himself. Scandinavian and Nordic series are currently enjoying something of a renaissance, and this helping is up there with the best of them. I could easily have rated this 5 stars, but I tend to be fussy and like my dramas to have a hard edge. This series is easily an eight out of ten and I've just bought series 2, so hopefully as the characters grow the writers will excel themselves and my next review will feature 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More good Danish TV, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unit One - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
If you liked The Killing, then you will probably like this. As the stories are shorter, they only take up one or two episodes, it is less intense and complex than The Killing, but nonetheless very good. This is why it only rates 4 stars. The acting is of a good standard. I hope they issue the later series on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as previous nordic noir, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unit One - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This doesn't measure up to Arne Dahl, Killing or especially The Bridge, but is still way better than most British and U.S. crime thrillers. I would however buy series 2, but only when it reaches a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slick and classy., 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unit One - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Very enjoyable. Believable characters and plots. Preferable to the usual American glamourised crime series. The Wire and The Sopranos being the exception of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unit One - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Great series. Even though there is a certain amount of dwelling on the personal problems of the characters, this does not interfere with the plots and is even quite interesting. Based on true events but with a certain amount of humour. I just had to order season 2 straight away. Not many crime teams have a professional footballer attached, if any!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unit one-series one.fantastic i enjoyed every minute of it., 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unit One - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
the cast of unit one was brilliant.i do not think i would change any of the actors.they just seem so natural and i will be buying
series two when it is released,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unit one, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unit One - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A little bit dated you can tell its an old series but very good pity cant get series two would have bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unit One - Series 1 [DVD]
Unit One - Series 1 [DVD] by Mads Mikkelsen (DVD - 2013)
£9.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews