Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guilt of Innocence
In yet another subtle and well-acted Danish film, we see how Lucas, the only male assistant to provide a bit of rough and tumble in a nursery school, finds himself sacked, charged by the police and a pariah in his tight-knit community when a normally truthful child appears to confide to the head teacher that Lucas has sexually abused her. From the outset we are given...
Published 20 months ago by Antenna

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the hunt
the story started off being a bit strange but once into it the storyline was very understandable and shows what can happen in situations like that
Published 12 months ago by Mr. P. E. Tilbury


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guilty until proven innocent, 9 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Hunt (Blu-ray)
A powerful, subtle and immensely acted film, I have never been made so angry by a non-documentary movie before. Without revealing spoilers, the ordeal that Lucas, a generally decent man, is put through is harrowing and the stupidity and blindness of those who accuse him staggering but hauntingly realistic.

Beautifully shot, scored and acted, The Hunt proves, once again, that the Scandinavian countries currently produce the best dramatic content available. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mads Mikkelson - I will be buying more, 3 Feb 2014
By 
T. Allen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hunt (Jagten) [DVD] (DVD)
I found this stunning and I cannot understand how anyone could not be drawn in. One of the best films I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The power of doubt, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunt (Jagten) [DVD] (DVD)
Jagten shows how easily someone can be destroyed simply by having their reputation cast in doubt.

Mads Mikkelsen's character (great performance as always) is, wrongly, charged with assaulting the child of his closest friend. He lives in a tightly knit community, from which he finds himself ousted from one day to the next. The few people who choose to believe in his innocence get his name cleared, but he is forever tainted. The doubt will never go away for a lot of people.

Beautifully shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense, 18 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunt [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Superb, watching the main character's life unravel, doubting the truth, and redemption or the lack of.
Mads Mikkelsen is immense, great but difficult movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, but flawed, perhaps, 5 Mar 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hunt (Jagten) [DVD] (DVD)
This kind of subject is perhaps one of the easiest to turn into a compelling drama, and on that score Vinterberg's film certainly succeeds. The tone of the film is much more engaging than Festen, largely because of the screen presence of Mads Mikkelsen (as Lukas) and his relationship here with his son Marcus, which I found moving. The director said in Sight and Sound that the film had to be set in a rural area away from modern city life in order to make its fairy-tale tone convincing. This is borne out by seeing the film, but to maintain its clearcut narrative it does seem to me to show a certain sleight of hand. Firstly the little girl is questioned in a very leading manner, which I would imagine would not occur in real life. The words were practically put in her mouth, whereas I would imagine in 2013 this mistake would not be made anywhere. It's not as if the characters didn't seem to be painstakingly concerned with procedure. My other reservation is with the negative presentation of all the female characters in the film - two if not three women colleagues, who really land the main character in trouble, his wife, and even his new girlfriend, who is very forward (too forward!) in getting into a relationship with him but succumbs to suspicion all too easily. We then see him with her again a year later - are we meant to think he just doesn't choose his partners wisely? The little girl has to be discounted, but her mother is much more hysterical than the father. And the group of locals who support Lukas are all men. I didn't notice this imbalance at the time of watching but it does strike me now - it's yet another way in which it draws on the style of fairy tales, perhaps, which so often have an evil stepmother or witch figure who is behind all the calamities. In spite of this the film is worth watching, and Mikkelsen is superb. The landscape is also beautifully caught, with a surprising emphasis on deer-hunting - again it is the fairy tale world, but it also reminded me a bit of Renoir's La Regle Du Jeu, with other parallels springing to mind in terms of the presentation of a social microcosm in both films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T READ the longer reviews of this excellent film!, 30 July 2014
This review is from: The Hunt (Jagten) [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent film with some great performances. I think some the reviewers here say too much about the story so I'll leave it at that so I don't spoil it for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A difficult watch, 20 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Hunt (DVD)
Was very impressed by this. The subject matter is tough and didn't make for an easy watch, but I thought this was probably a very realistic portrayal of how events might unfold as the child's lie spread through the community, the adults do their utmost to treat the matter with the seriousness required and the central character Lukas (despite his innocence) unwittingly digs himself deeper into trouble in the eyes of a fearful community. Excellent performances all round and well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is story telling-in more ways than one!, 9 April 2013
This review is from: The Hunt (Jagten) [DVD] (DVD)
Watching this,i felt here is another brilliant subtitled film,where the story telling for, me is,is vastly superior to most British and American films.I did not know what the film was about.I think most adults would enjoy this,particularly parents.It deals with child protection,im not giving any plot away.It is quite exciting in a low key way,and painful without showing anything horrible.I felt the simple final scene visually says never live down false accusations,something i have often discussed with friends.The main performance is supberb as is the story and script.My only niggle is a dodgy stick on beard on 1 member of the cast.Other than that,near perfect in every way.Most thought provoking film i have seen since kpax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunt (Jagten) [DVD] (DVD)
One excellent film! Well packaged and speedy delivery…definitely recommend, thank you 
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 22 Jun 2014
By 
R. Bardwell "bonkers" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunt (Jagten) [DVD] (DVD)
I got this film because it has mads mikkelsen in and you can't go wrong with a film with him in. Superb acting. Get this you won't regret it. Superb film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hunt [Blu-ray]
The Hunt [Blu-ray] by Thomas Vinterberg (Blu-ray - 2013)
10.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews