Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gut-wrenching film-making
The path taken by the outstanding Mads Mikkelsen's character Lukas is Job-like in his apparent fall from grace. From a warm, familial opening with the menfolk of the community skinny-dipping in an icy lake to a fractured, mistrusted outcast, the journey is intense and thoroughly moving. The naturalistic acting and script is superlative and the performance from the 5 year...
Published on 14 Jan. 2013 by Tee Double You Bee Esq

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The mind of a child
A slow puncture of a movie this. The dvd jacket has a quote: 'Riveting.' Unrelentless is closer to the truth. I could not help thinking that there were three flaws in the way the story evolved. First, the words of the child: we the audience know how she learnt them but no adult in the movie thinks to ask: how did she know the words? Second, her unnatural kissing was not...
Published 23 months ago by W. Rodick


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film dealing with a difficult subject, 26 Mar. 2013
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hunt (Jagten) [DVD] (DVD)
Jagten (The Hunt) is a film in Danish produced in 2012 starring Mads Mikkelsen as popular nursery school teacher Lucas situated in a small Danish town.
With a good cast of fine actors, Jagten deals with the topic of suspected child abuse and the attitudes of locals believing everything they hear. From the start, when the nursery school manager hears of a possible offence having taken place, her spectacular mishandling of the situation creates a scenario which spirals out of control for Lucas.
Anyone familiar with recent Danish TV dramas will be accustomed to the quality of scripts, direction and acting of recent Danish material. Jagten is no different from the TV dramas in terms of quality.
The film is just short of two hours and, with the exception of one character who mostly speaks in English, the film is in Danish with English subtitles.
Bjarne Henriksen (of Borgen: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] and The Killing - Series 1 [DVD] [2010]) has a brief role early on in the film and Anne Louise Hassing (Krøniken (Better Times) Volume 1 (Episodes 1 & 2) (Import) (English Subtitles) / A Family ( En familie ) ( Familien Rheinwald (Mia oikogeneia) )) appears as the mother of Klara, the young girl who sets the ball rolling.
This film is a must for fans of decent quality drama, and for anyone who loves to watch BBCFour at 21.00 on a Saturday night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A difficult watch, 20 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Hunt (DVD)
Was very impressed by this. The subject matter is tough and didn't make for an easy watch, but I thought this was probably a very realistic portrayal of how events might unfold as the child's lie spread through the community, the adults do their utmost to treat the matter with the seriousness required and the central character Lukas (despite his innocence) unwittingly digs himself deeper into trouble in the eyes of a fearful community. Excellent performances all round and well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A psychological horror film., 18 Feb. 2015
By 
R. Van Beek "Roel van Beek" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunt [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
One of the better films I recently watched.

The Hunt is bravura filmmaking – lean, intense and very well acted. Even so, the plotting is a little crude: Vinterberg depicts a close-knit rural community in which the adults seemingly can’t accept that a child is telling them lies, and in next to no time they are turning viciously against one of their own. Lucas has no means of defending himself, with former friends ready to shoot or lynch him.

Propelled by Mads Mikkelsen’s shattering performance as the blameless man whose life threatens to be destroyed, the film is superbly acted by a cast that never strikes a false note or softens the impact with consolatory sentiment. The same strengths distinguish Vinterberg and Tobias Lindholm’s screenplay, which spins a psychological horror story rooted at every step in credible reality.

Just a beautiful emotional gripping film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well crafted thriller, 1 July 2014
This review is from: The Hunt (DVD)
This film just goes to show that a movie can be a "thriller" without being full of gunshots, explosions etc. It's a well crafted story, with excellent acting. We really "felt for" the main character, who stumbles from one disastrous situation to another, haunted by the accusation that he's abused a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, but flawed, perhaps, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hunt (Jagten) [DVD] (DVD)
This kind of subject is perhaps one of the easiest to turn into a compelling drama, and on that score Vinterberg's film certainly succeeds. The tone of the film is much more engaging than Festen, largely because of the screen presence of Mads Mikkelsen (as Lukas) and his relationship here with his son Marcus, which I found moving. The director said in Sight and Sound that the film had to be set in a rural area away from modern city life in order to make its fairy-tale tone convincing. This is borne out by seeing the film, but to maintain its clearcut narrative it does seem to me to show a certain sleight of hand. Firstly the little girl is questioned in a very leading manner, which I would imagine would not occur in real life. The words were practically put in her mouth, whereas I would imagine in 2013 this mistake would not be made anywhere. It's not as if the characters didn't seem to be painstakingly concerned with procedure. My other reservation is with the negative presentation of all the female characters in the film - two if not three women colleagues, who really land the main character in trouble, his wife, and even his new girlfriend, who is very forward (too forward!) in getting into a relationship with him but succumbs to suspicion all too easily. We then see him with her again a year later - are we meant to think he just doesn't choose his partners wisely? The little girl has to be discounted, but her mother is much more hysterical than the father. And the group of locals who support Lukas are all men. I didn't notice this imbalance at the time of watching but it does strike me now - it's yet another way in which it draws on the style of fairy tales, perhaps, which so often have an evil stepmother or witch figure who is behind all the calamities. In spite of this the film is worth watching, and Mikkelsen is superb. The landscape is also beautifully caught, with a surprising emphasis on deer-hunting - again it is the fairy tale world, but it also reminded me a bit of Renoir's La Regle Du Jeu, with other parallels springing to mind in terms of the presentation of a social microcosm in both films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Danish, Witch Hunt of a film, 28 Mar. 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunt (Jagten) [DVD] (DVD)
This is another Nordic offering and is one that can only build on the reputation of our Northern cousins. It stars the excellent Mads Mikkelsen as Lucas you may remember him from `A Royal Affair' or `The Three Musketeers'. He is a kindergarten teacher where he does everything for the kids including bum wiping. He is in a battle with his ex wife over access to his teenage son, who wants to live with his father. Lucas has a best friend in Theo (Thomas Bo Larsen) and one of Lucas' charges is his young five year old daughter, Klara.

One day Klara makes an accusation against her favourite teacher to the Head mistress and before you can say `J'accuse, the local authorities are involved including the most unprofessional child counsellor I have ever seen. He is at first sent home and then the old chestnut that children do not tell lies is pulled out of the hat and all of a sudden he is guilty as charged. Worse still half the school now claim to be victims, talk about the power of suggestion. What happens next is the spiral he is thrown into from being a revered and valued member of the community to social pariah over night where even his friends have judged him and found him wanting.

Director Thomas Vinterberg has made a quietly, powerful film of emotional torture and the effects of being over trusting of kids. This is one of those films that just pull you in and make you actually live the on screen antics, even the dog is good. It is in Danish and some English with fairly good sub titles and runs for 115 minutes and I found it absolutely engrossing. To tackle such an emotive subject and get the balance just right is some feat and Mikkelsen puts in a sterling performance, but actually so do all of them Anika Wedderkopp playing the young Klara looks like having a career path already mapped out judging by her performance here. The reference to `the Hunt' I assume refers to the Witch Hunt that Lucas suffers but is nicely ambiguous as they are a hunting community, either way this film is truly exceptional and I can thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the purchase and can see why it gained ..., 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunt (Jagten) [DVD] (DVD)
Well worth the purchase and can see why it gained so many awards, the acting and production was top class, The story was one that gave you food for thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars utterly gripping from start to finish, 3 April 2014
This review is from: The Hunt (Blu-ray)
Beautiful acting and a gripping story from start to finish. Easy to understand subtitles and really good dialoge. Would watvh again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Danes' Midas Touch, 9 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Hunt (Blu-ray)
Simple story but compelling to watch especially being a European (Danish) film you never know in which direction this is going to take. Great casting in choosing the main child actor. Not harrowing to watch given the subject matter as nothing is seen, only implied. I vote for Danes & fellow Scandinavians to commission and make films for the GB market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing but thoughtful and compelling, 7 May 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hunt (Jagten) [DVD] (DVD)
The Hunt is not an easy watch by any means but it's a tight well crafted tale which is worth the journey.

Mads Mikkelsen plays Lucas a teaching assistant falsely accused by his best friends young daughter of an indecent assault of sorts. Despite the daughter's prompt retraction of the accusation the film follows the story of how rumour and conjecture takes over as Lucas is ostracised from the local community. In fact the poor fellas life slowly begins to fall apart all together. Its not pleasant viewing, a scene involving Lucas' dog and another in a supermarket are particularly uncomfortable but its so well told and acted its still compulsive.

Mikkelsen himself is excellent and there's strong support elsewhere. There's an almost documentary style realism to what we're watching and there are no easy resolutions. We are however given crumbs of hope for Lucas and his predicament as things move forward. It's thought provoking stuff and definitely worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hunt [Blu-ray]
The Hunt [Blu-ray] by Thomas Vinterberg (Blu-ray - 2013)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews