Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars53
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£30.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2014
Just like the others said the picture doesn't resemble the item which has a different cover and a very slim case. The cover says that there are only 12 episodes but don't worry the disks contains all 25 episodes.
I didn't check but I've read that they also censored the PIzza Hut logo.
In spite of all these facts I decided to buy it anyway so I'm satisfied with my purchase.
Regarding the anime it's one of the best I've ever seen (9.5 out of 10) but it's up to you to decide if it's worth spending money for something that has NO extra contents.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
Not as good as Death Note, but similar and has unique relation to mecha and a wider field than in depth like Death Note. For hardcore anime fans this is very decent but not spectacular.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
This is one of the best series to ever grace the anime genre and now that it has been remastered in HD it is a must pick-up for any fan of anime or action for that matter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
I have to admit that I bought this because I was a little interested in the description of the plot. The series is really good and the story line is pretty good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
A really good mech anime! I got this because my girlfriend recommended it to me because I liked Evangelion and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
CodeGeass Lelouch of the Rebellion is set in an alternate version of our world in which Japan has been invaded by a huge empire called Britannia, not the actual British Empire, but a fictionalized one that shares some superficial cultural characteristics with the genuine article. This massive empire controls all of the Americas. The invasion of Japan reduces the nation to an area colony of Britannia, designated Area 11. This story begins a while after this act of conquest.

The story primarily centers around the protagonist whose name is the title credits 'LeLouch'. He is an elder teenager and gifted student at a school called Ashford Academy located in a colonial district of the newly rebuilt Tokyo city. He and his little sister are banished members of the Britannian royal family. A former prince and princess. He hates his father, family and Britannia for their world view and particularly their treatment of his crippled little sister. Whether or not you will end up liking this series will hinge heavily on this character.

One day this stoically anguished young man gets caught up in a terrorist hijacking and meets a strange girl who grants him a mystical power called 'geass' which enables him to subvert the free will of people, with some limiting conditions. It is no surprise what Lelouch does next. He sets out to start an armed rebellion, to overthrow the Britannian empire and get revenge on his family. So the typical choices of an adolescent. Lelouch is a genius, he is not however wise, some people confuse these two different things. Watching Lelouch's growing destructiveness and the corresponding consequences is the main source of entertainment in this story.

Probably not unlike most real world revolutionaries in history he uses good intentions to justify murderous acts of mayhem and indiscriminate violence. He is a compulsive liar, lying to both to himself and everyone else. After all who is going to be better at deceiving others than one who has completely deceived himself. Lelouch is morally redeemed a little bit by the love he has for his crippled sister (ah the love of cripple will redeem anyone) and the pain he occasionally feels for those close to him that his actions end up hurting.

Suzaku Kururugi is a Japanese contemporary of Lelouch. He is the white knight to Lelouch's black knight. He representing an opposing view point and sometimes obstacle to Lelouch's plans.

If a moral story is what you are seeking then this is not one for you. If a denouncement of imperialism, colonialism and aristocratic rule is what you are seeking then you have also picked the wrong one. These things are not endorsed but rather their opposing forces are taken rigorously apart. For example the democratically elected leaders of the former Japan are shown to be cynical and corrupt. While the post invasion Japanese aristocracy is entirely self interested. The lay people or masses, both Brittannian and Japanese are depicted as uniformly gullible, stupid and easily mislead. The majority of the main characters are drawn from the aristocratic circles and with a few exceptions are reasonably sympathetic. While the idealistic and good intentioned are ridiculed and repeatedly shot down, their plans and hopes reduced to naught in the continuing hegemony of indifferent elites.

Mech battles between humanoid shaped machines aptly named knightmares is a substantial part of this story. These sorts of things seem to be a fixation of anime, however they are quite enjoyable to watch. The visuals and music are good. There is no sex or significant violence or profanity in this series so it is child safe. I found it addictive finding out how much further this revolutionary can take his misadventure and I personally would strongly recommend this series to anyone who enjoys watching self destructive characters.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
A great story about exiled young prince who gains the power to liberate the world from an evil Empire lead by his own father!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
great anime but however dont believe the picture of the anime as you get a slimer case thats is not nice to look at so a bit angry but still watchable but just think if you want it with that cover if yes then look on a diffrent site
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Really fun series, more complex stories surrounding the creation of anti heroes and the not so simple politics of emotion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
Very good yes I give this most definitely 5 stars or 100/100 if possible much love for this :)) Good buy for me :))
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse