Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The culmination of Shinkai's entire career up until this point - Collectors Edition Review
The film itself is excellent entertainment. I wont go into too much detail as it will spoil the movie. Makoto Shinkai proves he can do more than just amazing visuals (I don't feel he needed to anyway...) I thought all the main characters were compelling and believable - you want to experience their adventure, both physically, and perhaps more prevalent - emotionally. The...
Published 16 months ago by Nigel

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ghibli Style With Non-Ghibli Story
This film is the story of a young girl who, after meeting a mysterious young boy, finds herself thrown in to the conflicts involved around a secret magical underground land. Much of the lore the film is set it in is taken from actual myths and legends of such a place, giving it a rich and well realised setting.

The film is visually gorgeous, with stunning...
Published 18 months ago by Russell Fawcett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey To Agartha [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant film - if you like anime and Japanese mythology, then please purchase. It really is a gem and matches the work of Hayao Miyazaki.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really good anime!, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Hodge (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a really good anime but a bit of a tear jerker! The ending was a bit 'unending' and it looks like there might be a follow on - I hope so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Completely and utterly brilliant, and heart-warming, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow.....I've seen the director's other works (5cm per second, The place promised in our early days) but this film has just gone that step further. The artwork is stunning, the story, isn't too original seeing as many scenes reminded me of Ghibli's Princess Mononoke and Tales from Earthsea (Shin and Prince Arren look totally alike) but the plot is far enough away from those films to consider it as new. He really has done this film justice and I hope he continues to make great films like this one.

If you're a die hard Ghibli fan like me and enjoy films like Summer Wars, The Girl Who Leapt Through Time and the other above mentioned films, I would definitely put an order in for this one, it's totally worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic add to the collection, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey To Agartha [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This was bought to be added to our growing collection and we were very happy with it. The animation is amazing and so well done, the story is quite different to anything else we have seen in a while. It has a lovely little mystery and keeps you watching, this is a definite watch for anyone that like animation. I think we will be getting the special edition soon too its just too good to pass up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful., 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey To Agartha [DVD] (DVD)
This film is of course absolutely gorgeous to look at, just like all films from Makoto Shinkai. The lighting is so... well, pretty. Some elements of the story we have seen in other fiction many times before but overall it's wonderfully creative and very moving. The ending might have felt a little bit rushed perhaps but this film should not be missed.

As for the DVD itself, I was disappointed that such an expensive copy came without a single bonus feature included on the disc. Would have loved to see a glimpse of some of the Making Of seeing as it's such a beautiful film... but oh well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as 'Ghibli' as expected, 1 Jan 2014
By 
P. C. Harris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey To Agartha [DVD] (DVD)
Adore Ghibli.. 'Agartha' is more manga but a good story and ideal for teengers who enjoy the genre. More Ghibli please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey To Agartha [DVD] (DVD)
The first thing i want to commend is the amazing art work. It truly is a visual treat and the animation is in my opinion very very good. The story is a great one but because the main theme is loss/death i found it a bit of a sad one to watch at times. Hence why it doesn't get 5 stars. I think i would have preferred a different ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful film., 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey To Agartha [DVD] (DVD)
I got this film because I love studio Ghibli ones and fancied something new.I would recommend this to anyone who loves Ghibli.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey To Agartha [DVD] (DVD)
Such a great film. It is up there with the Ghibli collection so if you like them this is well worth a watch. Great price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hackneyed and poorly edited, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. E. H. Cusick "jimpy" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journey To Agartha [DVD] (DVD)
Agartha definitely looks and sounds brilliant and for this alone is worth a watch, but unfortunately it is no where near the quality of five centimeters per second as a film. The whole intro of young Asuna (is she 8/9 years old maybe?) being drawn into a search for the "underworld" due to meeting a strange boy when attacked by an escaped bear (in a jarring and uncomfortably brutal scene) is contrite even by anime standards. The ratcheting in of the mysterious teacher (why does a little girl turn up at a middle aged mans house to ask him about hell, seriously?) who is also a part of a team searching for Agartha couldn't be more contrived if they tried and it is just poorly edited and ridiculous. Fortunately, the film is redeemed some what in the last hour when they enter into the land of Agartha itself. There is a lot of ghibli-esque typical monsters and allusion ot a god and other typical Japanese type anime cliches. Asuna, herself is not an unlikable character but like most of the film is fairly forgettable. The ending is not bad and is worth staying for but if you have high expectations prepare to be let down. Shinaki is definitely talented but Mayazaki he is not, not yet anyway.

P.S. The subtitle "children who chase lost voices" makes no sense. Asuna is the only child chasing anything, i tihnk. The boy and the twin from Agartha if they are meant to be children are not chasing anything....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Journey To Agartha [Blu-ray]
Journey To Agartha [Blu-ray] by Makoto Shinkai (Blu-ray - 2013)
22.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews