Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Talkin' To Me?
Felt the need to put up a short review as surprisingly at this point in time there is none for this Blu-Ray.This film surprised the hell outta me,I was just hoping not to be disappointed after buying this and boy this film exceeded expectations.The subject matter is quite disturbing so I will say that you should proceed with caution,however for horror fans and those with...
Published 17 months ago by D. Fagan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very slow but worth a watch
Very disturbing and believable film. Good twist at the end and makes you think the lengths that some people will go to, to get rid of their past. I would compare it to Mum and Dad which I feel has the edge.
Published 26 days ago by I. Pm Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Talkin' To Me?, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chained [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Felt the need to put up a short review as surprisingly at this point in time there is none for this Blu-Ray.This film surprised the hell outta me,I was just hoping not to be disappointed after buying this and boy this film exceeded expectations.The subject matter is quite disturbing so I will say that you should proceed with caution,however for horror fans and those with a taste for challenging cinema then give this a go.The acting is top top notch,the cinematography and style is excellent.The disc itself is quality Blu-Ray.Unfortunately there is next to no extra features and no commentary.Purchase With Impunity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PEOPLE ARE LIKE CEREAL BOXES. FACES ON THE OUTSIDE, PIECES INSIDE., 27 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chained [DVD] (DVD)
Bob (Vincent D'Onofrio aka "Gomer Pyle" from "Full Metal Jacket) is a cab driver who has bad dreams about his past. To compensate his hobbies include kidnapping, rape, and killing young women. One of the women he has killed has a son who he maintains as a slave, hence the title. Needless to say, Tim (Eamon Farren) grows up rather abnormally.

Unlike other rape/slasher films this one isn't after cheap thrills and effects. Instead it concentrates on the unusual relationship between Bob and Tim, that of captor and captive who develops a slight case of Stockholm Syndrome.

The film trudges along and then at the end Jennifer Lynch reveals her genius with a surprise ending that well, frankly should not have been a surprise. It is a film that leaves you feeling weird. The film continues with sound through the final credits.

Parental guide: F-bombs, no intense sex/rape scenes, or nudity. Male torso nudity. Blood and gore is less graphic than most films of this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A peep into the mind of a serial killer, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chained [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting take on a serial killer played fabulously by Vincent D Onofrio, who hates all women, and has no problem in torture and murder, although you don't see the kills, you hear the screams, and see the body's except one quick one to show a boy called Tim he abducted with his mother,played by Julia Ormond, murders the mother, keeps the boy, why? I thought would he let the boy live.
The boy is only 9 and is told what his duty's are, or else, and renames him Rabbit, from then Tim see's terrible things, women dragged by the hair into the house of horror, and Rabbit/Tim has to help bury them under the house, while having to wear a chain around his ankle.
The boy becomes a teenager and Bob the killer wants him to learn lessons to survive in the world, its interesting his topic of books are the human body, and reads readily, and Bob gives him tests on his knowledge. You see Bob struggling with interaction with Tim who clearly is more intelligent and grounded under the terrible fear and stress he has to endure. You get to see how Bob chose the life he did with flashbacks of his home life, that was brutal to say the least.
Brilliantly played with a great unexpected ending.
Well worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Horror Film That'll Stick With You!, 3 Feb 2013
By 
K. Daniels "Kyle" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chained [DVD] (DVD)
When a film is about a murderous psychopath who kidnaps a young boy, chains him up and over the course of several years and countless murders, attempts to teach him to follow in his killer footsteps, you know you're in for a hard to watch film. This brilliant directly and acted film is however, rather light on the gore. It's definitely not torture porn, which it so easily could have been. Instead, what we have with Chained is a film that disturbs you through story and character rather than gross out moments. Watch this film and it'll get into your head for weeks.

Vincent D'Onofrio is fantastic in the lead and puts in one of the best performances of his entire career - matching Full Metal Jacket. If you're a fan of films such as Henry: Portrait Of A Serial Killer and are looking for a movie that is both shocking, disturbing yet enthralling, I'd highly recommend this one! It's a rare thing for a horror film to have a powerful impact on you emotionally, rather than grossing audiences and Chained does it fantastically.

Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very slow but worth a watch, 4 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chained [DVD] (DVD)
Very disturbing and believable film. Good twist at the end and makes you think the lengths that some people will go to, to get rid of their past. I would compare it to Mum and Dad which I feel has the edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A story that will find a slot in your memory and will stay there until you die., 15 April 2013
This review is from: Chained [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The daughter of David Lynch directed Chained (2012). I watched this film very late and just managed to get to sleep afterwards, only just. Stanley Kubrick's 'Full Metal Jacket' (1987) included the actor Vincent D'Onofrio who gained weight to play the character Leonard 'Gomer Pyle' Lawrence, in this production Chained Vincent plays Bob. Vincent D'Onofrio is absolutely amazing in this mentally and emotionally distressing film. One of the best films about isolation is the timeless The Shining and the best film demonstrating claustrophobia is Buried. Chained is the best film you'll tolerate about captivity closely followed by the clever 5150 Elm's Way.

The more difficult acting role in Chained is played by Eamon Farren, his vulnerability reminded me of Thomas Jerome Newton played by David Bowie in 'The Man Who Fell to Earth' (1976). Eamon is an excellent actor and with Vincent D'Onofrio involved, it's clear tremendous thought and care went into the casting. I recognized British actress Julia Ormond playing the mother, you may remember her as the love interest in 'Legends of The Fall' (1994). Director Jennifer Lynch co wrote the screenplay for Chained with Damien O'Donnell who used to work as a sports administrator and now writes within the film industry. Chained draws on an unbearable to watch concept, a situation which reminded me of some horrific news stories that I watched and read about in disbelief.

Online chat-room abduction is chillingly demonstrated in Megan is Missing and during the first quarter of Chained you are served an example of an abduction that is so sudden and terrifying because it could happen to you if your at the wrong place at the wrong time. The script is the best I've heard in a while, there is no other film I've seen like this and be warned you need to be made of a certain type of metal to get through it, especially if you're a parent because this filmed experience will be worse for you than anyone else.

I was initially disappointed with the last 15 minutes because it felt rushed, like it was added on by someone else. However, after a couple of days I managed to forgive because 90% of the film works, providing a story that pulls you along an uncomfortable, insane and actually sad journey. You'll be so involved with what's happening on-screen you'll want to jump into the film to assist the vulnerable characters, it's mentally agonizing and intense. During this dark experience I thought Chained could actually work as a stage play.

Chained (2012) is exceptional work displaying the talents of all involved, telling a story that will find a slot in your memory and will stay there until you die.

bleedingcritic
@bleedingfilms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From a non-horror movie regular perspective, 2 Feb 2013
This review is from: Chained [DVD] (DVD)
I can safely say it's rare that film viewing experience has left me speechless. Not because of how good or bad it was, but more because of the impact of the story and me needing to digest what I had witnessed. The subject matter in Chained is something very dark, disturbing and down right horrible. I never thought I'd be watching a movie all the way through with circumstances such as those presented in Chained, but I did. I'm still unsure why I was able to get through the film. It wasn't a 'horror' because it was full of endless blood, gore and whatnot. It was a horror because the subject matter and the thought of everything that occurs in the film is 'horrible'.

This is more of a psychological thriller in my eyes. Mind games and power play a big part in this. I interpreted the story being how a child too scared to really understand what is going on is forced to lead a life he never asked for or really understands by a serial killer, all the while managing to retain moral values. I feel I should be outraged that such a story was conceived for film viewing, but I'm not. This is truly a film that has left me speechless of what to think and that alone is something I've never experienced.

If you're looking for a film that will make you look at away at points, feel very uncomfortable but at the same time makes you feel compelled to want to know what the resolution is, it's well worth sticking out till the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars liked the movie., 28 Aug 2014
By 
W. G. F. Palmer (wales uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chained [DVD] (DVD)
good DVD great watching recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars but it did turn out really good, you have to have a strong stomach to ..., 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chained (Amazon Instant Video)
Was unsure about renting this movie, but it did turn out really good, you have to have a strong stomach to see the story line unfold before you.,
Would not recommend to people who don't like unpleasant this about human nature. But I Highly recommend it to people who can sit through dramatic realistic story line.
Would only watch it once, but it wasn't a waste of my time as I am studying in psychology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chained [DVD] (DVD)
Not the best film you will ever see but has real twist at the end which makes it worth while
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chained [Blu-ray]
Chained [Blu-ray] by Jennifer Chambers Lynch (Blu-ray - 2013)
£9.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews