Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 January 2013
Well, where to begin? I first stumbled across Andy when she was playing in Prince's band at Hop Farm and my first impression was "Uh!Oh! Here's another pretty girl that Prince is 'producing' (..wink! wink!) with a paper-thin voice and a talent to match", the next in a long line of Bria Valente's whose record would be equally bland and forgettable. Well, that only goes to show how old, cynical and obviously wrong I was because this album is a real gem, with every song a gift in itself, packed with more ideas, soul and funk than any record I have heard in a very long time.

The up tempo numbers are tight, clean and funky and the more reflective numbers have echoes of Joanie (probably what drew Prince to her in the first place) and paint beautiful pictures. Those 2 contrasts are pretty much the story of the album. The funky tracks are laced with killer, in-yer-face horns, popping bass (the like unheard since the days of The Revolution) and awesome sax solos, whereas the quiet side luxuriates in beautiful chiming acoustic guitars and subtle acid jazz arrangements.

Common to all of the songs are Andy's dreamy, vulnerable, smokey and warm vocals, which still have enough edge when pushed to pack a punch when she needs them too. A beautiful tone right across her vocal range.

If you don't think that Prince has had a decent protege since Jill Jones, then prepare to have your illusions shattered (although I don't actually know how much input he had on this as it's certainly not a typical Prince production) because Andy is the "real deal".

On balance, this is an essential record (maybe one of the best I've actually ever heard) and if Andy could somehow land herself a slot on Jools Holland's Later, she just might turn out to be the next big thing...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
This album is simply a breath of fresh air in a time filled with so much 'musical smoke'. You almost feel like you are listening to the reincarnation of Prince(he co-produces the album so that makes sense) with the eclectic sounds of funk,R&B,pop,folk and a dash of jazz here and there, all with a seamless flow which leaves you thirsting for more after the 9th and final track. The horns on the record really bring the whole record alive and you find yourself making those faces that say "i concur" as you listen through. I am glad i stumbled upon her music and being consolidated with the fact the she plays the guitar in Prince's band(that fuelled my bias towards her). Get a copy and vibe to it period!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
I have given Superconductor a five-star rating because, quite honestly, if you're looking to spend your money on good quality music then you have just found the very album you're after - at a very good price!

In these days of throwaway pop music you from time to time do come across little gems, such as Andy Allo's Superconductor. The very fact that the album is released on Prince's NPG Music Club label tells us first and foremost that you can expect a high level production of top-notch musicianship (Michael B. Nelson, John Blackwell, Ida Nelson, Morris Hayes, Shelby J., Elisa Dease, Liv Warfield). Not quite as funky as some reviews will tell us, the album is rich with grooving bass lines which do get quite funky at times, and features the Hornheadz (Maceo Parker, Greg Boyer) in four of the more upbeat songs, but overall Superconductor is a very mellow, delicate album, acoustic guitar laced with Allo's soft, almost palpable voice. As with all NPG releases, Prince has a great yet subtle input throughout the album, although he is credited only for three songs.

Allo's command of vocals and guitar is not to be underestimated; as aforesaid, any artist fortunate enough to be released on the NPG label is of a very high quality, so with Superconductor you know you're getting your money's worth if you're after good quality music.

I recommend Superconductor to anybody who appreciates good R&B Soul Funk; for the price of a CD nowadays Superconductor really is worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
Fantastic album, great piece of work. I saw Andy Allo at Hop Farm last year a real pleasure to watch full of life great character.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
Been waiting for this to drop for eons! finally downloaded it, and wow, very nice grooves and vocals - if you like classy soul and jazzy funk (with a touch of acoustic bliss) then this is yo thang baby! All songs are played with real musicianship, which is very much lacking today in a lot of pop music - this album tries to redress the balance with upfront drums (John Blackwell?) sharp horns and snazzy guitar. Prince is behind a few of the songs and you can hear his immaculate production shine through. my only gripe is with 70+ minutes of 'CD' (or unlimited mp3 space?) surely a few more songs (even bonus hidden songs) would of made this a 5 star set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
Prince girls have usually done well although the Bria Valente stuff was no great shakes. This is great, though, all the songs are strong, if anything the most annoying is the title track which is slightly middle of the road 80s. From here on in, just uplifting and fun. Prince's own albums of late have been patchy, this is easily better than his last effort. Love the brassy cadenza at the end of If I was a king and Blackwell drums are cracking as usual. If you don't start striking poses to the start of People Pleaser you are brain dead!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2012
When this album dropped...it caused the music scene to quake
Today's music seems to be about young ladies singing about all things sexual backed by dance beats. This girl is classy and ready to hip you to the funk, soul and jazz side of music. Real music too. And....boy can she sing.....in the words of Morris Day, so sexy!
This album deserves to be BIG.

When Stars Collide and Nothing More are incredible.

Peace
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Prince is all over this recording, even though he's only credited as executive producer and co-writer of a few tracks... Still, Allo's own style comes through, advancing her talent beyond her debut recording. If you like Prince, and top female R&B artists like Alicia Keys and Jill Scott, you'll appreciate this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Never heard of Andy Allo until I stumbled across her as an Amazon recommendation (well done Amazon). Quick Google of her name and yes I totally see and hear the Prince in her and her voice sometimes reminds me of Erykah. Too cool and funky
Great find.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.95

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)