Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars13
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£20.06+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2013
I wonder if any fellow propective customers have hesitated before making this purchase because of uncertainty concerning the region coding of this product. If so, I can put their minds at rest. This American package contains two discs - a Region A DVD that does not play on my 2008 Region B Panasonic Blue Ray player - and a Blue Ray disc which does. I have read that a number of companies do not lock their American Blue Ray releases with Region A codes - making them effectively 'all region'. HBO (the manufacturers of 'Game Change') are one such. If you read the descriptions from some of the vendors, you might very well form a different impression. The purchaser is also given the opportunity to download a digital copy for use on other equipment As for the quality of the film itself...well we seem to be in something of golden age of political drama just at present. 'Game Change' is part of a fine tradion that includes 'House of Cards' (Netflix)and 'Borgen' (BBC4). if you enjoyed those, you will certainly love this one...especially if like me, you did not catch it on Sky Atlantic last year. Julianne Moore and Ed Harris portray their respective characters magnificently.
22 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
I was highly recommended this by friends who saw it on TV in Ireland. I had to search everywhere to find it and DVD from USA was my only option. As a consequence it would not play on my DVD player in UK....had to watch on PC. Never mind - it was gripping, hilarious, shocking and amazing. That this woman nearly became VP is astonishing. Her undoubted capabilities as well as obvious shortcoming are exquisitely portrayed. A first class documentary film.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
Terrific movie, produced by HBO, about the 2008 US presidential election and, more specifically, the Republican VP choice Sarah Palin.

Aged Senator John McCain (Ed Harris) needs a bump in the polls; the Republican party is struggling to gain foothold against the Democrat-Obama machine, and they need a game changer...ideally an anti-choice, pro-gun, woman, who will appeal to the Republian base, the independants, and be a contrast to the 72-year old Senator-hopeful. That woman is Governor Sarah Palin (Julianne Moore).

Based on the book of the same name, the story basically runs on the premise that Palin wasn't ready, was over-whelmed and under-prepared, for her selection to be McCain's presidential running mate, and ultimately cost the Repubican party the election.

How much of that is true however is open to speculation. Having read the book on which the movie is based, I was surprised to see that what amounted to about 20-or so pages of text in the book can form the thread of a two hour movie. It would seem that key elements of the books text are taken as 'show pieces' in the movie and the rest is padded.

Palin's autobiography 'Going Rogue' implies that she was mis-managed and controlled by the McCain campaign team, and I would suggest that this doesn't come through as much in the movie. Other books have highlighted the unfair media that the Republican's experienced during a campaign where the US media so clearly wanted an Obama win. This again isn't specifically part of the story. However the film is terrific at showing that US politics is no more about policy than presence.

Moore is splendid as a rag-tag Palin struggling through, moving from victim to master during a camapaign that faltered over & over again. Dont read too much in to this being the 'Palin story' however, because it isn't. For a real insight in to the former Governor of Alaska, read 'Going Rogue' and then make a judgement. In the meantime marvel at how a potential-VP need only be a 'good actress' to possibly end up running the United States...
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
Amazing film where Ed Harris portrays John McCain, and Julianne Moore portrays Sarah Palin!! the 2008 campaign is definitely one I'll remember forever!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Loved this. Exceptionally well done; the opening scene of Sarah Palin walking around the County Fair with her kids is worth the price of admission alone. Brilliantly acted. Woody Harrelson, fantastic never seen him better; Julianne Moore just epic in every way.
They chose a star but they didn’t know what to do with her or how to handle her.
Thank God, some might say because she could have been the Veep by now.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
I have been waiting for about a year to get this as a Region 2 DVD at a price acceptable to me. Now that I at last have it, I am not disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
In 2008 the republicans needed to pull a rabbit of of a hat if they were to have any chance of defeating Barack Obama in the presidential election. After some consideration they decided to nominate a woman as vice presidential candidate. She needed to have charisma, be appealing to the American Heartland and be acceptable to the partys right wing. Only Sarah Palin seemed to be all of these Things. Although Things initially goes well, it soon becomes clear that Palin is utterly unsuitable for the position and even republicans begin to have doubts about her. The drama behind the scenes soon gets both hilarious and ugly. The actors are excellent and the script is very good. Woody Harrelson and Julianne Moore are especially out standing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
Okay. Quite funny. I expected Tina Fey, LoL! Julianne Moore's extremely well cast. Overall merely interesting.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
Incredibly good. Blu ray disc works in UK machine. Other disc supplied does not but I knew this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
A very good film and a chilling reflection of the American political system.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.