Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreakingly Beautiful
When you read a Nadeem Aslam novel, you mull over it. You take in his words and breathe what he has to say. You are aware of the political undertones in his books. At times, you also may not like what you read. You might also detest some parts. You will yell in happiness when something good happens to one of his characters. You want to keep the book aside and you will not...
Published 19 months ago by Vivek Tejuja

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A garden of beauty, cruelty & poignancy
A poignant story revealing the chasms of misunderstanding separating competing forces in the aftermath of 9/11 in NW Pakistan and Afghanistan. Aslam takes the reader into the minds of his characters while also providing a narrative of adventure story like action. At times there are passages of poetic beauty and tenderness, at others depiction of brutality and cruelty...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. Ronald V. White


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreakingly Beautiful, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Vivek Tejuja "vivekian" (mumbai, maharashtra, india) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blind Man's Garden (Hardcover)
When you read a Nadeem Aslam novel, you mull over it. You take in his words and breathe what he has to say. You are aware of the political undertones in his books. At times, you also may not like what you read. You might also detest some parts. You will yell in happiness when something good happens to one of his characters. You want to keep the book aside and you will not be able to, because that is the power of his books. You will ignore everything else and read on, because Aslam has a story to tell and his characters will talk to you. They will make you believe and sometimes make you cry and live as well.

"The Blind Man's Garden" according to me is one of the best books that Aslam has written. I have read all his books and while all his books have the much needed political angle; this one to me is most emotional and heart-wrenching in a lot of places. I interviewed Nadeem Aslam at the Jaipur Literature Festival this year (which will be a different post) and he was so passionate about the book and the way he spoke with me. The book almost came alive through him. All his characters and the situations he put them through almost seemed surreal and believable. For me that is the craft of a great storyteller. "The Blind Man's Garden" makes you feel and think about humans and what does war do to them. He gets into the heart of his characters and makes them speak for themselves. He makes them tell their stories, their lives spread across the canvas of his landscape, of time unknown and sometimes time is of great essence. This is precisely why I cannot help myself but mark almost every other line on every other page of an Aslam novel.

Jeo and his foster-brother Mikal leave their home in a small Pakistani city not to fight with the Taliban but to help care for the wounded victims. The Western Armies have invaded Afghanistan and the brothers only want to help the wounded, whether Afghani or the Americans. They only want to help and yet they get embroiled deep into the war as its unwilling soldiers. At the same time left behind is Jeo's wife and her superstitious mother, and their father Rohan, who is slowly but surely turning blind. The war is seen through from all perspectives and that is the crux of the story.

For me everything worked in the book. The writing is sharp and hits in places that you would not expect it to. The past and the present situations merge beautifully throughout the entire narrative. In fact, what I loved the most about the book was the way the structure was built and at the same time the prose seemed very fluid, as though it was waiting to flow through the reader's mind and heart. The heart of the book is about everything surrounding the war - lost children, grieving parents, hopeful wives and children who are left behind wondering when their fathers will return. Despite all this, what strings the book together is hope, which is unending and everlasting.

There are a lot of sub-elements and plots to the book (which I will not spoil for you) that add to the beauty of this wonderfully written novel. There is beauty and at the same time there is this sharp ache and a prayer that all should go well for the characters that you have come to known while reading the book. As a reader, I found myself hoping that all went well. Such is the power of this magnificent read. It is for sure one of the best I will read this year.

Here are some quotes from the book:

"History is a third parent."

"The logic is that there are no innocent people in a guilty nation."

"No," he said, "but before they lose, they harm the good people. That is what I am afraid of."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant and heart-rending read, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Man's Garden (Hardcover)
This must be one of the best books I have read all year. It was recommended by a friend who raved about it. However I will admit it took me a little while to get drawn into it, becasause although the writing is poetic and urgent and hugely evocative - particularly on the sensual level - I found that the characters of foster-brothers Jeo and Mikal, and their wider family, were a little sketchily drawn to come fully alive. However, as the story built, that issue was swiftly swept aside, and I became quite haunted by the novel's extraordinary landscapes and world. Set in post 9/11 Pakistan and Afghanistan, it follows the brothers' chilling journey into jihad and (in Mikal's case) back again, via some of the most thrilling set-pieces I have read in a long time.I greatly admired Aslam's ability to conjure beauty amid chaos and horror, and to convey the way womens' lives are so grimly circumscribed by the dictates of a religion which no-one dares to openly defy. Curiously enough it was the few almost silent atheists at the margins to the book who spoke loudest about the tyrrany of contemporary life in Pakistan and Afghanistan. This novel has been described as a masterpiece: in my opinion, it fully deserves that title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A garden of beauty, cruelty & poignancy, 21 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Blind Man's Garden (Kindle Edition)
A poignant story revealing the chasms of misunderstanding separating competing forces in the aftermath of 9/11 in NW Pakistan and Afghanistan. Aslam takes the reader into the minds of his characters while also providing a narrative of adventure story like action. At times there are passages of poetic beauty and tenderness, at others depiction of brutality and cruelty to make a sensitive reader wince, while at yet others there are accounts of dreadful actions driven by a frightening faith and righteousness augmented by ignorance -- on both sides of the chasm. Ultimately, there is a resolution which invokes the resilience of the human spirit and shared humanity. This is a novel that I am very glad to have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Blind Man's Garden, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Man's Garden (Kindle Edition)
A very good book and an insight into Pakistan and Islam in that country. The descriptions of the garden were so vivid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Man's Garden (Kindle Edition)
This was a little difficult to follow in places but the story was good and certainly makes you think.

Very sad in some parts and not a lot to lift the spirits but gives a good insight into how ordinary, non-militant, muslims live and how the taliban makes their lives a misery.

I would like to see this book required reading in all schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars strange world, 18 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Man's Garden (Paperback)
After reading the book I felt much impressed, because it gave me an insight into life in Pakistan and I did not expect it to be this way.
Embedded in a moving family saga the reader learns about the hard life in rural Pakistan, presented by Rohan's family who is very much affected by the struggle between leading a peaceful life and the aftermaths of 9/11. Even though it is fiction, the characters become quite vivid, but for a westerner remain quite strange the way they are shaped by tradition and beliefs. The book helps to understand the cultural differences and difficulties Pakistan has to struggle with.
The story is well written, has a rather poetic touch, unfolding beauty and unbelievable religious fanaticism at the same time.The writer is able to keep the tension up to the end and I could not stop reading the book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Blind Man's garden, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Man's Garden (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating account of the war in Afghanistan from the point of view of Afghan people. It certainly makes you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Man's Garden (Kindle Edition)
Beautiful and sad at the same time a gritty well worked plot with lots of relevance to today. Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Man's Garden (Kindle Edition)
Fascinating story combining the different paths taken by the male and female characters in a very restricted culture with a wider sense of the world context. Manages to explore and illuminate the global picture through minute sketches of individual, interconnected lives. A beautifully written book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Man's Garden (Hardcover)
Nadeem Aslam at its best and I was delioghted to be able to find it in hardcopy. Delivered quickly and hassle free, as Amazon always does. read it, you will never forget it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blind Man's Garden
The Blind Man's Garden by Nadeem Aslam
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews