Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best book yet
This book is one of coming of age: not in the strict novelistic way of course, but as a writer and climber. Mark Horrell, blogger and trekker, has written several excellent accounts of his trekking adventures in the Himalaya, all of which I have enjoyed. But this account, of his successful attempt to climb Everest from the North side, has elevated him and his writing to a...
Published 15 months ago by Helen Blundell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Everest - its not very attractive commercial face.
The issues besetting commercial expeditions to the Himalaya are exposed here not necessarilly to the credit of the author. The essence of mountaineering seems to be totally absent from this account of what is a commercial exercise to haul a body to the top of what happens to be the highest mountain in the world; but at what cost to the sherpas who support these...
Published 3 months ago by ALUN PRICE-DAVIES


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best book yet, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chomolungma Diaries: What a commercial Everest expedition is really like (Footsteps on the Mountain travel diaries) (Kindle Edition)
This book is one of coming of age: not in the strict novelistic way of course, but as a writer and climber. Mark Horrell, blogger and trekker, has written several excellent accounts of his trekking adventures in the Himalaya, all of which I have enjoyed. But this account, of his successful attempt to climb Everest from the North side, has elevated him and his writing to a whole new level.

The account is longer than his usual trekking publications and his writing style has grown with that extra space. I would even dare to suggest that this account is as good as Matt Dickinson's book, Death Zone which recounts a similar quest to reach the summit via the North Face.

Every gasp of thin air, every ankle-wrenching pain, is included in Horrell's narrative. I particularly appreciated his frank descriptions of fear when confronted with the terrifying precipices he encounters on summit day. I caught my breath, out loud, when reading of his desperate attempts to pass a slower climber on the way down. I have always suspected that many of those who aspire to climb Everest underestimate the rigours of that final day: Horrell has ensured that those who join a commercial expedition can fully appreciate the horrors which await them near the top.

His reaction to reaching the summit and returning safely is very honest and does him great favour: that his success is touched by the death of others is reported in a respectful way.

I wholly recommend Chomolungma Diaries and look forward to reading his full length book, which he is working on now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 23 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Chomolungma Diaries: What a commercial Everest expedition is really like (Footsteps on the Mountain travel diaries) (Kindle Edition)
Having read lots of mountaineering books . This diary is a breath of fresh air. Giving a real feel for climbing in the big mountains. Look forward to reading more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a little more depth, 21 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Chomolungma Diaries: What a commercial Everest expedition is really like (Footsteps on the Mountain travel diaries) (Kindle Edition)
Interesting account of an everest expedition-it illustrates just how easy it is for non technical climbers to be able to attempt the highest mountain in the world- part of the reason that tragedies are on the rise.
I understandthis was a "diary" but I would have liked to see more character development and possibly an epilogue to expand on the aftermath of his experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Everest - its not very attractive commercial face., 19 Dec 2013
By 
ALUN PRICE-DAVIES (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chomolungma Diaries: What a commercial Everest expedition is really like (Footsteps on the Mountain travel diaries) (Kindle Edition)
The issues besetting commercial expeditions to the Himalaya are exposed here not necessarilly to the credit of the author. The essence of mountaineering seems to be totally absent from this account of what is a commercial exercise to haul a body to the top of what happens to be the highest mountain in the world; but at what cost to the sherpas who support these expeditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chomolungma Diaries: What a commercial Everest expedition is really like (Footsteps on the Mountain travel diaries) (Kindle Edition)
Just love Mark Horrell 's tales, very entertaining and amusing. I have read all his stories and can never wait for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Trust Yourself And Know Your Limits, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Jeannie Mccluskey "bookfiend" (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Chomolungma Diaries: What a commercial Everest expedition is really like (Footsteps on the Mountain travel diaries) (Kindle Edition)
Mark's no drama approach was for me what kept me reading. His personal struggles and triumphs were written to make me feel I was exactly where I should be - reading and not tackling the mountain that should be regarded with the utmost respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chomolungma Diaries: What a commercial Everest expedition is really like (Footsteps on the Mountain travel diaries) (Kindle Edition)
What a great read, one of the best Everest ascent books I've read. Marks style of writing is excellent. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Interesting Read, 13 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Chomolungma Diaries: What a commercial Everest expedition is really like (Footsteps on the Mountain travel diaries) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second of Mark's diaries I have read and I think he illustrates the subtle things that you don't normally read in a climbing story. You get the feeling you are right along side him as well, especially towards the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chomolungma Diaries: What a commercial Everest expedition is really like (Footsteps on the Mountain travel diaries) (Kindle Edition)
Great read ,I'm going to Everest base camp in 2014 and wanted to read anything about it. Seems all you do is drink at 'happy hour' !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Final Summit, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chomolungma Diaries: What a commercial Everest expedition is really like (Footsteps on the Mountain travel diaries) (Kindle Edition)
Thanks Mark: I am unable to reach these heights, your down to earth accounts are the next best thing. There is a feeling of truth in your books. Congratulations, you took the hard way and carried us with you. I was there in spirit thanks for the journey.
Jack Walker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaacccdec)

This product

Only search this product's reviews