Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good album from Oklahoma!
Once again, a log awaited album doesn't disappoint, a few good tracks. Would have been good to have a few more tracks, but of the 11 there are about 6 really good tracks and a few heavy rock extras. Really good lyrics and guitar work (got to love Joe & Mark's riffs). Yes some will say the band have toned down some of their heavy metal efforts to gain some extra...
Published 20 months ago by Iain Macmillan

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I must start by saying that I like Hinder,I have all the other albums,but 'Welcome to the Freakshow' is a wishy washy disappointment. Waaaaay too many soft,predictable tracks,nothing really stands out.
The image is tattoo's,booze,guitars,drums and girls......the sound????...well its like Westlife with a couple of riffs thrown in.
And at 36 mins in total,they...
Published 20 months ago by Adrian Morris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good album from Oklahoma!, 17 Dec 2012
By 
Iain Macmillan (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome To The Freakshow (Explicit Version) [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Once again, a log awaited album doesn't disappoint, a few good tracks. Would have been good to have a few more tracks, but of the 11 there are about 6 really good tracks and a few heavy rock extras. Really good lyrics and guitar work (got to love Joe & Mark's riffs). Yes some will say the band have toned down some of their heavy metal efforts to gain some extra mainstream airplay, just like other similar bands such as Nickelback & Alter Bridge, but you can't blame them trying to gain more audience and followers, especially in the UK where thy are relatively unknown.

Stand out tracks have to be 'Should Have Known Better', 'Talk To Me' and 'I Don't Wanna Believe'. So some more good tracks to get added to my car MP3 disc, more good driving songs alongside their previous tracks.

If you are new to Hinder, look up their 3 previous albums, some very good tracks such as 'Lips of an Angel', 'Loaded & Alone', 'Last Kiss Goodbye', 'Without You', 'What You Gonna Do', 'Everybody's Wrong' & 'Red Tail Lights'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Adrian Morris (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must start by saying that I like Hinder,I have all the other albums,but 'Welcome to the Freakshow' is a wishy washy disappointment. Waaaaay too many soft,predictable tracks,nothing really stands out.
The image is tattoo's,booze,guitars,drums and girls......the sound????...well its like Westlife with a couple of riffs thrown in.
And at 36 mins in total,they were not really taxing themselves were they?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 11 July 2014
By 
Brilliant album great tracks all killers no fillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A welcoming addition to my cd collection!, 7 Jun 2014
I do like Hinder and have all their albums - I think they are a cross between Nickelback and Del Amitri but you should decide for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Pop Than Rock......!, 21 Feb 2013
By 
J. M. Green "john94682" (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being the owner of the previous 3 albums by Hinder, I was quite looking forward to this album as their Nickelback/Black Stone Cherry/Shinedown sound is one that I do like - derivative, but I do like, nonetheless.
So, we come to "Welcome To The Freakshow" and the first thing I did notice was the short playing time (not a problem if ALL quality tracks but that's not quite true here) and the next thing I noticed was that the music was playing but that my attention was drifting - thinking that some of the tracks here could so easily have been recorded by any current day boy band....WHAT? However, once I managed to re-focus my attention I actually found the album quite listenable in a lightweight kind of way and but for the occasional expletive, this would be very much suitable for Radio 2 listeners - and that's not just a throw-away sentiment!
The rockier tracks probably have to give second place to the ballads here, but, overall the album is quite likeable. However, because the quality is not consistent and nowhere touches the previous three albums highs, I can only really give this effort 3.5 stars (but 4 showing as Amazon still do not allow half marks!)
You have been warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hinder's 4th Studio Album, 27 Dec 2012
This review is from: Welcome To The Freakshow (Explicit Version) [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
It still baffles me how a rock band with a fairly big status in America still hasn't even tried to break the UK market. Nickelback are probably still the only American band in this class and what harm would a little competition do?

In fairness, they did tour the UK what must have been coming up to six years ago now, but never released a single, nor were promoted that widely.

So, would they get any joy with this album? It's more of the same really as any of the three previous albums. There's your hard rock anthems, your middle of the road ballads and a couple that fit into neither niche. Should Have Known Better will be added to the five star list in my playlists alongside songs from previous albums such as Lips Of An Angel and The Life. It's not quite perfect, there are a couple of fillers, hence the four stars, but still, if you're looking for a modern day rock band with the melodic nature of The Calling (remember them?) and the edginess of early Nickelback, then Hinder's catalogue should fit right in.

If you do have a stab and purchase this, and enjoy it, then the other three albums will be right up your street too. And you may just wonder why you've never heard of Hinder before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hinder-welcome to the freakshow., 1 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a bit of a disappointment really. When they first started out they reminded me of Motley Crue or that kind of stuff anyway. Now though on this album they seem to be a slightly poppier version of Nickelback. Don't get me wrong, I quite like Nickelback but do we really need yet another band sounding like them! I much preferred what they were doing with their first couple of albums, this is just too commercial for the most part. There are a couple of good tracks but generally this is a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Hinder, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I totally love this album. Played in my car all the time, like the mix of songs. Would love to see these guys live in the UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weak by their standards, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Their weakest offering to date - average by their previous very high standards. I've played it over and over but still of the same opinion - a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album combines the dark and heavy styling of All American Nightmare with the soft ballads from Extreme Behavior. Would definitely recommend to any Hinder fan, or even any Rock fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews