Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rave on!
This is a welcome addition to One Day's retro label compilation series, with this title chronicling some of the great sounds of Coral Records. The Decca subsidiary could boast Buddy Holly on it's roster, but Buddy's not the only household name featured on this album as other stars of the time like Johnny Burnette, Patsy Cline, The McGuire Sisters and even Debbie Reynolds...
Published on 30 Aug. 2012 by retrofan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value but short on information
Good value for 2 CD's but the information contained is very hard to read and not comprehensive enough. Should have a bit about every track not just generic info.
Published on 4 Nov. 2012 by Timothy Kingston


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rave on!, 30 Aug. 2012
By 
retrofan (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This is a welcome addition to One Day's retro label compilation series, with this title chronicling some of the great sounds of Coral Records. The Decca subsidiary could boast Buddy Holly on it's roster, but Buddy's not the only household name featured on this album as other stars of the time like Johnny Burnette, Patsy Cline, The McGuire Sisters and even Debbie Reynolds are included, making this an eclectic compilation that label enthusiasts will love! Great value (as always). 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Buddy Holly label, 8 Mar. 2015
By 
Dangerous Dave (Berkhamsted, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
That's what we saw Coral as, way back when. The fact that the Holly "solo" records reached us in the UK with a Coral label rather helped. For some explanation of the Holly solo / Crickets "split", see my review of the Brunswick Story. A year or two later I rather belatedly found that there was another legendary rocker who had recorded for Coral in a '56 / '57 timeframe. That gent of course, was rockabilly legend Johnny Burnette, he of the Johnny Burnette Trio.

The Holly and Burnette tracks contained herein should be in everyone's collection. If by some faint chance you've not heard them, a single listen to these tracks should convince you of their merits. Elsewhere, there are a number of forced / inorganic rockers in this set i.e. attempts to emulate the sort of sound being put out by the Bill Haley band, and comparison of these to tracks like Holly's "Rave On" or Burnette's "Lonesome Train" highlights the strengths of the latter.

There's a fair amount of teen pop present but it's tinged with early fifties easy listening. Indeed tracks like those from Teresa Brewer and Debbie Reynolds take us right across to undiluted easy listening. This is where personal taste comes very much into things. I'd confess to be happy not to hear "Sugar in the morning, sugar in the evening, sugar at suppertime" ever again - with deep apologies to the McGuire Sisters - but I'm only too well aware that no two people's musical tastes are identical. These tracks are certainly representative of what was charting at the time, and One Day have done a perfectly good job in reflecting that in this collection.

If the above sounds a little jaundiced I should reassure the reader that there were tracks in the set that I found highly pleasing:

* The two Patsy Cline country numbers which come from very early in her career prior to the move to Decca are well up to her usual high standard
* Likewise the two tracks from Moon Mullican though in his case the numbers are post his main body of work on the King label. "Moon's rock" is a typically storming piano boogie. "Jennie Lee" is arguably even better, a fiddle backed amalgam of rock and western swing.
* Two good rockers from "Ivan" who was subsequently revealed to be Jerry Ivan Allison of the Crickets.
* Two fine examples of soft rock in the shape of "More than I can say" from the (non-Holly) Crickets, and, "Talk about my baby" from Sonny Curtis
* A pair of decent but semi-unknown doo woppers in the Enchanters and the Lancers. These were the Detroit Enchanters not the Garnet Mimms outfit.

A compromise score of four stars, reflecting a balance between what was around at the time from Coral (and I suspect One Day have managed to compile some of the more interesting aspects) and what you or I might want to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not onlly buddy and the crickets, 12 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE CORAL LABEL I THOUGHT WAS ALL ABOUT BUDDY ANND THE CRICKETS BUT DONT BELIEVE IT THIS 50 TRACK CD HIGHLIGHTS SOME OTHER GREAT TRACKS THAT ARE STANDOUT ON THEIR OWN FOR THE PRICE OF A COUPLE OF PINTS THIS IS EXCEPTIONAL VALUE GREAT MUSIC AT A GREAT PRICE. THANK YOU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome must have, 13 Sept. 2013
By 
D. S. Culpin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great repropuction and a must have to any collection,bargain price to,a bit of a gamble really but hey what a surprise,awesome cds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent compilation, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great purchase and speedy delivery.A lot of classics and a few lesser known ones,but no duds.Pleasing on the eye vintage cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rave On - The Coral Story, 28 Aug. 2012
By 
R. Shaw "Ronboy" (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
50 remastered tracks on 2 CD's makes this set worth the money. The clutch of Buddy Holly and Johnny Burnette tracks will no doubt be already in most collectors collection, but there are a few rare gems here also, such as "Hearts of stone" - Goofers and "That's my desire" - Exotics. Worth a listen and good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value., 17 July 2014
A very good collection of oldies, which is good to reminisce with. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vogue Coral, 15 Dec. 2012
By 
R. Cunningham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have liked Coral records since I first heard Buddy Holly in 57 and enjoy all the other singers on that label. I wiil keep a look out for other similar cd's and buy them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rave on..., 20 Nov. 2012
By 
PJW Kentie (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Coral is one of those old time labels that produced a distinguished sound. This is a great collection, which caputures the mood of the time. Rebellious, but quite inncocent at the same time. Who can resist that? I can't, my brother (I gave this one to him as a birthday present) couldn't either. Played it 3 times in a row. By the way: great car music. Have a good trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rave On - The Coral Story
Rave On - The Coral Story by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews