Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth a read!
Despite the title on the front cover, this book isn't just for men, as a female Newly Qualified Teacher I found great comfort in reading this short insight of what some men have to go through when working in a female dominated work place. I can see that some women might find the authours view's offensive and sexist when talking about the female dominated environment in...
Published 23 months ago by star87

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the reader who knows absolutely nothing about teaching
Nothing particularly eye opening. Good for the reader who knows absolutely nothing about teaching.
Published 4 months ago by Mr D G Woodcock


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth a read!, 6 Jan 2013
This review is from: How to Become a Male Primary School Teacher: For Aspiring Teachers, Trainee Teachers and NQTs (Kindle Edition)
Despite the title on the front cover, this book isn't just for men, as a female Newly Qualified Teacher I found great comfort in reading this short insight of what some men have to go through when working in a female dominated work place. I can see that some women might find the authours view's offensive and sexist when talking about the female dominated environment in teaching but the perspective isn't short of what I have seen happen in some schools previously.

It was straightforward to read and very imformative but not in a heavy pedagogical way that you might expect to see from other educational text books. I liked the way the author expresses thier views in an informal and humourous manner.
Perhaps the author might consider doing a female version of this book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh perspective on modern primary life, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Become a Male Primary School Teacher: For Aspiring Teachers, Trainee Teachers and NQTs (Kindle Edition)
As a "male primary school teacher" of some 11 year's experience I was intrigued by the title so purchased it. A very good little book with lots of great tips for more experienced teachers too, whilst I naturally knew about all the practical elements of the job, which I must say were very eloquently explained, I was delighted to see a chapter on surviving the female dominated working environment! Very funny and very true indeed. I have adopted some fo the advice and it's great to get a fresh perspective on the job. Will recommend to any other male primary school teachers out there that I meet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Become a Male Primary School Teacher: For Aspiring Teachers, Trainee Teachers and NQTs (Kindle Edition)
This book is full of knowledge and wisdom all discussed with humour and no fluff or filler. Cuts to the chase and easy to read - a MUST for any men wanting more info on what the job is really like or to find out if it's suitable for them. Brilliant!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short but well worth it!, 30 April 2013
By 
J.Smith (Essex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Become a Male Primary School Teacher: For Aspiring Teachers, Trainee Teachers and NQTs (Kindle Edition)
This book is well worth a read. Whilst it is quite short, it provides an honest and concise insight into teaching from a male teacher's perspective. I would highly recommend this as a casual read to anybody who is starting their teacher training in the future. It is thought-provoking and straight talking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet, great for an NQT or GTP student., 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Become a Male Primary School Teacher: For Aspiring Teachers, Trainee Teachers and NQTs (Kindle Edition)
This is a great little book and has answered all my questions about becoming a male primary school teacher. Reading this got rid of any uncertainty and gave me the confidence to apply for my teacher training knowing that it was the right move for me. Terrific value too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Considering a career swap? Get this book, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Become a Male Primary School Teacher: For Aspiring Teachers, Trainee Teachers and NQTs (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant read! Funny, warm and compassionate. The author's experience and expertise shine through in every chapter. Rarely a non-fiction book captivates as much as this, such an inspiring read. I read the whole thing in one go and still come back for more.

As a more `mature' man who has made the career swap to teaching I found that all associated literature is either too academic, elongated or sterile for the inexperienced new teachers. This book conveys complex ideas in incredibly easy to understand sections. The mark of a superb teacher methinks!

I never usually write reviews but felt compelled to compel you to purchase if you are even remotely contemplating becoming a male (or female) primary school teacher. This book has really helped me indeed.

Thank you so much to the author and The Future Teacher Foundation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fairly short, 14 Dec 2012
This review is from: How to Become a Male Primary School Teacher: For Aspiring Teachers, Trainee Teachers and NQTs (Kindle Edition)
To the point. Interesting insight into teaching. I will be watching my back very closely when I start at my school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Become a Male Primary School Teacher: For Aspiring Teachers, Trainee Teachers and NQTs (Kindle Edition)
Excellent little book, gives all the required information to people who are thinking about starting primary teaching. It helped me to realize that I need to get more experience after graduating before taking my PGCE to get the best chance for success. I recommend this book to anyone who is thinking about primary ed as a career and wants a little more information about the job and how to get there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the reader who knows absolutely nothing about teaching, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Become a Male Primary School Teacher: For Aspiring Teachers, Trainee Teachers and NQTs (Kindle Edition)
Nothing particularly eye opening. Good for the reader who knows absolutely nothing about teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews