Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars10
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
4
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 May 2006
contrary to what others have said there isn't a bad track on this cd.some of it may sound a little dated but therein lies the charm.enter the young and the time it is today are very much products of their time but are still great songs.requiem for the masses shows the group at their most experimental while no fair at all and we love us are harmony laden ballads with catchy hooks.everything that touches you shows the band at their absolute peak with superb vocals and a memorable tune.for casual fans this is a fine one shop stop as it includes all their hits but for anyone who wants to delve deeper rhinos two cd retrospective just the right sound is pretty much definitive.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 April 2006
During the middle to late 1960`s it was a source of amazement why the groups like Association, Young rascals, and Turtles did not aspire to greater heights in terms of chart recognition.However, in the near 40 years of the period we are talking about the legacy of their great tunes live on. The case in point is Associations greatest hits which I guarantee is a C.D. you will play over and over again. While Cherish was much covered by other artists, The Four Tops & David Cassidy spring to mind surely `Time for livin` deserved a better chart placing in the U.K.than its lowly no 21 showing. Granted it was 1968 and some big songs where around at that time, but the whole album is worth listening to. Give it a try you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2005
The Association was a group that provide a soundtrack for my teenage years in the mid 60s. Along with the Beach Boys, Mamas & Papas, Lovin' Spoonful and the Young Rascals their songs played out across Ramsey Bay from Radio Caroline - wonderful! I still feature this album on my radio programmes. "Greatest Hits" shows the harmonies of the Association at their best. "Cherish" is the obvious hit but I consider "Along Comes Mary" to be one of the best pop songs ever recorded. Play the whole album and enjoy 1966/67 again - or maybe for the first time - you really had to be there.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2004
This greatest hits album by The Association is one of those CDs that is perfect for playing while you are on the computer because you can program it to play their four bit hit songs: "Never My Love," "Along Comes Mary," "Cherish" and "Windy." The other nine tracks are hit and miss propositions that you might want to include depending on your personal tastes. But even a song like "Requiem for the Masses" seems somewhat stilted compared to these other track. Fortunately the rich harmonies that defined the group are present on every track, but when you have a song like "Cherish," it is hard for Terry Kirkman or anybody else to come close with any other number one song. So while there are some great songs in this collection, it is not a great album. As one of the top ten romantic songs of all time, "Cherish" makes this album worth having in your collection.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
The sound is not quite as good, as I had hoped... But really nice collection, of sunshine pop!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
Only bought this for a few tracks but not bad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
woth it for 4 tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2004
So, what do we have here? A Greatest Hits album that doesn’t make the top 23,000 for Amazon (yeah for real) . The Association were a popular American band in the mid 60s that trod a narrow line between psychedelic prophets (their first hit Along Comes Mary was supposed to be about marijana) and elevater music.
I remembered the lift music stuff & was delighted to find a splendid fan website in the US which enabled me to see out takes from TV shows featuring their biggest hits (I always like double entendres to do with bodily functions so something called ‘Windy’ was always going to appeal) , Never My Love and Cherish (now how rock n roll was it to get David Cassidy covering THAT). So I alighted upon this collection with glee Unfortunately most of the rest of the album is simply cringingly unremittingly tooth splittingly unlistenable.
Never mind! The power of cd technology means that you can skip all that, so yes that probably is me in the next car over to yours in the morning rush hour on the A3 howling my little heart out more or less in line with the tune ‘ Who’s walking down the streets of the city, smiling at everybody she sees….Everyone knows its Windeeee’
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2012
paid for it .got it ,played it all ok thankyou no problems cant really think of much more to say about it it was an easy sale thankyou xx eve
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)